We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barista Cafe Nica

Barista Cafe Nica
Calle Central, Matagalpa Matagalpa, Nicaragua
505 2772 6338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 restaurants in Matagalpa
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Dessert, Hamburgers, Central American, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Barista Cafe Nica is a a local cafe that offers the best Coffee Nicaragua has to offer. Located in Matagalpa, the hub for coffee trading, this place takes coffee seriously. The beans are selected by expert and prepared by trained Barista. Serving different types of food and various desserts with a local twist.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The best coffees in the world from surrounding farmers. this is truly a gem for coffee lovers! I had the frappe and a double espresso.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    21
    10
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Coffee knowledge and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We wandered in to barista cafe nica to just have coffee, but saw the food coming out and decided this would b a good place for an early lunch. The baristas there are very knowledgable and the lovely lady we had made a mean machiado . The food was as good as the coffee. I would definitely recommend Barista Cafe Nica.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“really enjoyed hanging out here over cafe con leche and the food was very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's on the main busy street - good for people watching....or them watching you as a gringo of interest !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I drank and ate at 2 locations and they both delivered. I love they sell two Cuban and Nica cigars and 1 lbs bag of coffee. Nice detail. I write this review from the one near the center of town/next to the college and the food was quite good. Coffee is machine made, not by hand, I expect more here in coffee country. But, it was still good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barista Cafe Nica also viewed

Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 

Been to Barista Cafe Nica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barista Cafe Nica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.