We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Buena Onda

Save Saved
You added La Buena Onda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Buena Onda
Avenida El Brigadista | cancha El Brigadista 2 1/2 al este, Matagalpa 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Matagalpa
Jinotega, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

For me this super friendly and comfortable hostel has been my ´home away from home´ while living and travelling in Jinotega! I have stayed on several occasions both in private rooms and dorms and have to heap praise on this place!

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful (and speak excellent English for anyone whose Spanish is not up to scratch), the private rooms are enormous and clean and airy with huge beds, the dorms have solid, comfortable beds and great locker facilities, and the communal areas are great. There is a patio area with hammocks and rocking chairs, a beautiful interior garden and a living room at the back with sofa, chairs and TV.

You also have free coffee, filtered water, high speed wifi and a huge sofa where you can hang out with other travellers and watch TV or DVDs. There is also a book loan, large selection of DVDs and a range of drinks on sale. Yummy and simple breakfasts come included. There is also a huge amount of information available about the local area and they can help you to arrange tours and trips.

Only gripes? Not all private rooms have good wifi signal so check this first and the dorms have cold showers which is fine in summer and less OK in winter. There can be a bit of noise coming in from the street too, but if you´re travelling in Nicaragua you are probably used to it. Earplugs might be necessary if you want to sleep in.

Matagalpa is a pretty cool and safe city with good shopping, nice restaurants (La Vita e Bella!) and bars (Artesanos and Woods) and some nice nature attractions nearby such as a waterfall. The local natural healing centre by Artesanos does AMAZING massages for under $10!

Above all I love the laid back and friendly vibe of La Buena Onda and the fact that I always meet great people and have a fun time here, whether I´m up for partying or chilling out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
27
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed in a large, private room with a “matrimonial bed” and single. There was always someone at the desk that spoke English and gave good directions as well as good, nearby restaurant suggestions. La Buena Onda is close enough to Central Park but far enough away to be quieter and it’s a great place to meet fellow independent travelers. Bring your flash light so you’ll have a little light when you get up at 5:15am to go to the bus stop. A taxi from the bus terminal to hostel was C$10/pp. Our room was not on the street; however, the ambient street noise floated up over the courtyard we fronted – bring ear plugs if you’re a light sleeper. We had a filling, nutritious American breakfast that came with our private room fee.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent our first two nights in country here and it was a lovely introduction to Nicaragua. This small hotel had it's good and bad points, but overall it was a good experience. The freindly, helpful service and hospitality made all the difference. Cozy, clean room. Fan didn't work, but with a reqeust to the very helpful desk clerk a replacement was produced immediately. Our shower didn't really have hot water so we were allowed to shower in the empty room next to us,which had lovely hot water. It was a little inconvenient, but it got the job done. Breakfasts were realy delicious and served in the little open-air patio with an occasional hummingbird making an appearance. Very convenient location too. We walked everywhere.

Room Tip: Be sure to check that everything works so you can get it taken care of right away - or change rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here in August 2011, had a very pleasant stay. Staff very friendly, good breakfasts clean, and right in the centre of Matagalpa. The only thing is, when they say there's 'hot' water it actually means the water is not as cold as it could be, but who needs hot water in the Nicaraguan heat? Perfect stopping place for Selva Negra, Estelí and many other interesting places.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

When I get sick with the travelers bug—it really makes or breaks a hotel. My husband and I arrived with the bug (we did not get it from La Buena Onda) - and man oh man did we have a brutal 48 hours... and there was no place I would rather be then at this hotel. A super friendly hostel with private rooms. We had a big light filled, clean, private room with bath, extremely comfortable beds and two newer high power fans to keep us cool. We did not see the light of day for 2 days and we were very comfortable in our room. Our six year old son was totally entertained while we were sick by the super cute bunny that lives at the hotel. The public space at the hostel is well laid out and welcoming. They have a great TV lounge area with a good collection of movies. And the cafe that is attached is run by a super nice guy who serves creative, very fresh and yummy food. A great travelers vibe type place. Great friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed here with a small group in the dorm upstairs which has a cool balcony with a hammock. The bunk beds are comfy, there is a big closet room with huge lockers (perfect for large hiking packs), and a large bathroom inside the dorm. However, the shower has a large glass door on it so others can't really use the toilet at the same time... Also, the water is FREEZING cold :( Besides that though, this place is awesome!

There's great coffee 24/7, free wi-fi, a fun TV room with a dvd player and movies, tons of books in the book exchange, and amazing food at reasonable prices. If you don't stay here, at least come to get a good meal--don't pass this up! I highly recommend the sandwiches (vegetarian or the chicken), coco-curry (delicious!! Shared with a friend), and the torta de chocolate y banano.

The private rooms are a little expensive, but I heard they have hot/warm water, so that might make it worth it. I've stayed in the dorm upstairs twice--once with a couple friends and other travelers which was nice to get to know others, and then another time, my group reserved the whole room (8 people). This place is safe, clean, and the employees/owners are super nice!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matagalpa, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Great selection of around 200 books to exchange. Comfortable wicker sofas for watching tv / dvds on (dvds only 20 cords to buy on the st). Cool (if a little more pricey than street food) cafe. I think if it had a kitchen for guests to use it would be close to perfect. Friendly and helpful staff too and very clean rooms. Close to centre. Wifi with good signal.

Todos bien!

STAY HERE IF YOU GO TO MATAGALPA!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Buena Onda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Buena Onda

Address: Avenida El Brigadista | cancha El Brigadista 2 1/2 al este, Matagalpa 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Matagalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Matagalpa, Nicaragua's first Hostel! Use us as a base to explore the beautiful city of Matagalpa and it’s surrounding mountains and coffee farms, or just come relax with us and enjoy some amazing coffee and food from our cafe. Come swing in a hammock in our patio or on our balcony, take advantage of our free internet, cable TV or a DVD, or grab a book from our extensive library. We have dormitories and private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Buena Onda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Buena Onda Nicaragua/Matagalpa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Buena Onda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.