We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Secure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matagalpa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas
Save
You added Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas to your Saves list
Escuela Guanuca 350, Matagalpa, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matagalpa
Arcadia, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Secure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I came to Matagalpa for a mission trip. We stayed at the Lomas Sn. Thomas. They were very welcoming and sweet! I felt very safe staying their, being my first time ever going out of the country. There was always a gurad on duty which made me feel very comfortable. It was a beautiful sight, especially at night when the city lights came on. I look foward to coming back to the Loams Sn. Thomas.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one that over looks the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
11
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

As the previous reviews stated, this is a beautiful hotel. But the atmosphere of the hotel, what really made it special for us, went well beyond what pictures could capture. Despite a good buzz of people, there was a calm easiness about the hotel. The staff were exceedingly friendly and relaxed, from the one waiter seemingly effortlessly juggling a full restaurant at breakfast to the front desk worker graciously redialing the same phone number for me every five minutes when I was panicking about getting in touch with someone who had turned off their cell phone in a meeting. It struck me as very family-friendly as well, from the children of the owners and staff quietly playing on the patio to the businessmen skyping their families from the lobby.

The room itself was fine, very large and clean with a big bed, good water pressure, a small fridge, and a closet about the size of my bathroom at home. The highlight of the room was that it was on a corner, with long balconies on either side. This was the first night of our rainy season trip in which the clouds opened up and we got to see a sky full of stars, with the city in the background and the mountains beyond that. The location is perfect, if it were any closer to the center of towne you wouldn't get the amazing views, yet it's well within easy walking distance. We even managed the walk back up the hill without too much pain, but if you're less crazy than we are the cabs are very inexpensive.

Room Tip: Corner rooms cost the same and give you twice the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The best hotel in Matagalpa with little question. Beautiful old building with huge rooms, great views of Matagalpa, free WiFi, great balconies and warmish water. There is no AC which would hardly seem to be an issue given the altitude. There is no pool. Keep in mind, however, that you are about a half mile or so from the city center. It is an easy walk down but coming back there is a STEEP incline with which to contend. Also at night it is a very dark walk though not impossible. Very friendly staff and free secure car park. I enjoyed my stay very much. It is important to keep in mind this is Nicargua and off the tourist circuit so if you need Managua or Granada type service, rooms etc. you are better off going to the Selva Negra about 12 kilometers north. Matagalpa is a great base from which to explore the highlands. If you are in Matagalpa, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We spent a week in this charming old hotel while exploring the northern highlands. Perched on a ridge high above town, the rooms have fabulous views. We were in a third floor corner room with a 12 foot balcony on both sides--both with big doors going out so lots of light and air in the room. The grounds and vegetation are very beautiful, lots of flowers everywhere and impeccably kept up. There was free wireless throughout the hotel

Walking down the very steep hill into town was no problem and a taxi back up was $1.50 and well worth it. There were very few people in the hotel during our stay there, which seemed a little sad. We were often the only people in the restaurant for supper. Breakfast was more lively. The food was passable, the service very good, the staff friendly.

We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and felt it was a barain for $45 a night. It was a great location to use as a homebase for exploration of the area.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Great hotel perched on a hill above Matagalpa -- the drive up to the hotel is scary with really steep roads so make sure someone really confident is driving! The hotel itself is gorgeous and the staff very friendly. The rooms are huge with fab balconies looking over the town and very clean with hot water. Highly recommended. If in town, I also recommend a tour of the Salva Negre coffee plantation nearby - sustainable organic and amazing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

This hotel appeared to be the nicest option in Matagalpa. Very generous rooms, beautiful views, and a nice restaurant. Staff was good. Large hollow hallways could be noisy if other guests are loud. Sounds carried. But otherwise, it is in a quiet area of town. The hotel seemed to be used a lot by large groups.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

the food at the restaurant leaves much to be desired....but all the staff at the hotel are really nice and helpful.

the views from the hotel are awesome and our room was huge..... and there's hot water....the room was clean and was more than worth it for 45 usd a night....oh but the rooms are little noisy b/c everything is tiled so the sound from the hallway echoes into the room under the door....but it's not really a 'noisy' hotel.

everything in nicaragua seems to be a bit 'tired' unless you're staying somewhere for over 100 usd.

  • Liked — hospitality of staff
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas

Address: Escuela Guanuca 350, Matagalpa, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matagalpa
Number of rooms: 342
Also Known As:
Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas Nicaragua/Matagalpa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lomas Sn. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.