We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Delfines

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Delfines
Save
You added Hotel Los Delfines to your Saves list
100m S From Municipal Warf, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A fine stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Los Delfines for a week last month. Our room was a little old and musty but was cleaned daily and well maintained. The shower was like a fire hose and had cold water. It would have been nearly impossible to stay on that side of the island without an AC unit, so that was a saving grace in our room. The hotel generator seemed to work for the majority of the day and night as compared to the rest of the island, so we were only without AC between 6am and 11am. The staff were fine but unengaging. The restaurant was fine. We had two small loads of laundry done and it cost us $16, the most expensive laundry known to man but there were no other options. The TV had only two English channels and few Spanish channels as well. The English channels replayed the same shows all day and night all week, and often switched back and forth between Spanish and English. Of course you do not go to Little Corn to watch TV, but during those times that you want to rest in the AC and escape the sun, being that there is a TV in the room and you are paying for it, it would have been nice if there were more cable options. Recommended if you want AC and more of a hotel style stay. We did not have a problem with bugs in our room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    44
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
34
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here while diving on Little Corn- got a discount with diving and room combined.

Had a room w AC for $50/night. Room clean, staff friendly and helpful. Prime location near restaurants and bars. Dive shop ok next door.

Food at restaurant was good for the dinner special of 2 lobster tails for $9!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

After staying one night (with 13 booked) at Derek's Place we walked into town the next morning and started talking to some of the locals and they suggested Hotel Los Delfines. We checked to see if they had availability and what their prices were. Being Christmas Holidays we were lucky they had something and the price of 60.00 a night for 4 of us that included AC was great. The owner that checked us in was very friendly and the ladies that clean were there everyday with clean towels and washed the floors as we ended up being on the Island in a complete three day downpour. The rooms we had was very spacious and our kids didn't have to share a bed as it had a double bed and two singles. They also had the Disney Channel in English as we were stuck in our room for a couple of days due to the weather. There are beach towels available at the front desk as they have beach chairs to hang out on. Great location with a two minute walk to Tranquilo (wifi) and Café Desideres (fabulous Lobster Dishes) as well as the Shack by the Sea. Rosa's was a quick five minute walk in the other direction and had excellent breakfasts for a great price. The hotel is also in a good location to take the Panga back to Big Corn first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati Ohio
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Hotel Los Delfines has an arrangement with the dive center next door. You get a discount on both the room and the diving. I had a nice pleasant bungalow with a queen size and a single bed (although traveling alone) for only $40 a night. One advantage to Delfines is that it has air-conditioning. If you stay on the eastern side of the island, the strong breeze keeps you cool but it's hotter on the action-packed western side of the island so I liked the AC. The cost of beers in the hotel bar is cheap compared to some of the bars/restaurants but the service in the hotel bar and restaurant is horrendous and hardly anyone eats there. The staff of the hotel were kind and friendly and this hotel does take credit cards without a surcharge which helped on the cash flow (no ATMs on Little Corn). Oh, and don't forget that the electricity on LIttle Corn is turned off from about 5 AM to noon everyday. Delfines does not use a generator so when the AC goes off, you know it's time to get up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel saved our butts. We arrived on little corn on afternoon panga without a reservation. Walked around for 3 hours with our backpacks hotel to hotel looking for a room, thought we would end up sleeping under the stars. Los dolfines cost a little more then we had hoped to pay. The room was clean and cool. The hotel is across the path from the beach. Not the best beach but the water was calmer due to less wind on that side of the island. 2 min walk to all the restaurants, bars, stores and ferry.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed there in April 2013 for 7 days and dove with Dolphin dive which is connected to the hotel right out front. The dive staff were awesome (Brenden) and I completed my Advanced open water certification with them. The prices for the room is little more than most other places on the island but it has air conditioning, which you definitely will be glad you had because it is very hot and humid. The rooms are clean, roomy and well maintained. While I was there I never had hot water in the shower, it was always cold, but no big deal for me. If you plan on diving this is the place to stay there is a discount provided if you stay and dive with them. Oh one other thing, they were very good at responding to my email questions before booking and arriving, oftentimes within minutes. Also they sent someone to meet me at the dock to escort me to the hotel which as it turns out is right down the path.
Would definitely stay with them again and in fact plan on returning in 2014.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is just minutes down the path from the public dock. It was a nice location with several units and associated dive shop and restaurant. The reason I selected the hotel was the air conditioning; Only place on the island.

Our ride over from Corn Island was on the ferry "yacht" in 4-6 ft rollers waves. Needless too say there several seasick people. We arrived and checked in at reception. Don't expect a warm welcome, "glad you're here", or a run down on the resort. I had read this in other reviews and being British has nothing to do with it, I've been to several British-managed resorts that are not that way. I wasn't expecting a warm welcome so I wasn't disappointed.

The community generator shuts down at 5 am so be prepared. The resort has its own generator that will run if necessary. While we were there, the community generator ran out of fuel for two days so the resort's filled in. The staff was friendly and Adam was actually talkative when you got him one on one.

The rooms were clean. Since we had three different rooms for our group, we found there were two types of beds: Comfortable or firm, beware. There were tvs and air conditioning in the rooms. As typical in Nicaragua, there is no hot water so don't be shocked or expect a warm shower. There were rocking chairs on the porch of each room that were nice.

The grounds were kept immaculate with banana plants towering over the pathways. Don't forget to check out the monster poinsettia outside reception.

Overall our stay of four nights was nice and I would recommend to my friends to stay here. The value was very good.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the bottom floor and a bed of your liking, medium or extra firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Delfines

Address: 100m S From Municipal Warf, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Los Delfines Hotel
Hotel Los Delfines Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Delfines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.