We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pina Coladas ever, EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
On the Beach | Cocal Beach, Nicaragua
505 8 333 0956
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Turned Turtles casual, romantic, beach front atmosphere is a great place to eat and drink with family, friends or that special someone. Don't miss the opportunity to dine on a secluded beach and experience a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner with no reservations needed. Breakfasts start at only 2.99, lunch at 4.50 and our dinners include starter, soup or salad, veggies and dessert for as low as 9. You can choose from our healthy options or throw caution to the wind and pamper yourself with our savory sauces, homemade gourmet ice cream or Roasted Coconut cookies. Afterwards, enjoy a hammock on our beach and one of our margaritas or famous pina coladas.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Pina Coladas ever, EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great place. Food was amazing. Staff was so friendly and I have never had a better Pina Colada. In fact I have never even liked a Pina Colada before, but the ones at the Turned Turtle were incredibly good.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our awesome staff and our delicious food and Pina Coladas. Working under incredibly challenging circumstances somehow our LCBB trained cooks, managers and wait staff manage to hit the mark quite frequently when it comes to quality food and service. Feed back like this makes it all the hard work worthwhile :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at LCBB for 6 nights. Ended up eating almost every meal at Turned Turtle. The staff was attentive and meals really didn't take long at all (compared to other reviews about "island time")Coconut French Toast was a new experience and I loved it. The Pork Sliders and the burger were great. Dinner.....4 course meals that were well timed between courses and very tasty. Can never go wrong with Lobster and Filet Mignon !!!! Baby Back Ribs were very good as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you . . . Thank you . . . Thank you! Our staff, managers and owners take great pride in having the best and healthiest food, service, drinks and atmosphere that we possibly can! We are so glad that you enjoyed all of your experiences at the Turned Turtle and loved the food! Bon Appétit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Corn Island, Nicaragua
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Consistantly Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Not the first time dining here. Wonderful food, the Panini's and sandwiches for lunch were fabulous. The service quick enough, but allowed us to enjoy cocktails, and a nice beach setting. The owners are wonderful, and work hard training their staff, and it shows. I think the nicest restaurant on Little Corn Island, and would definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We believe that consistency is one of the keys to having a enjoyable restaurant. So . . . we are really glad to see that we have never let you down. Thanks so much for sharing your experience here and letting others know that a frequent guest has always enjoyed our humble beach side restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cocktails for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stopped by Turned Turtle after reading all these excellent reviews and was mildly disappointed, despite the great fish tacos.Though the experience was pleasant enough, there are better places to eat on Little Corn for less money. The margaritas were huge and looked delicious, so maybe next time I'll just have cocktails.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience at the Turned Turtle. It appears that the "great" fish tacos and the pleasant experience were not the factors that let you down. We work constantly to provide only the highest level of quality, tasty, healthy food served at reasonable prices and go to great lengths to deliver it with great service that comes with a smile. We hope that the next time that you come to LCI you will give us another chance as no matter how diligently we or our staff try, we occasionally fall short of our attempts to always provide the best experience possible. We hope on your next visit we get it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious decadent island food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We came here twice for dinner and at least twice for breakfast / brunch and it was fantastic all times. We came to little corn as a birthday treat for me and for dinner I had my heart set on lobster. It definitely did not disappoint for a celebratory dinner and on the lobster front! Three courses, divine lobster, wine (which I hadn't had in months traveling through central america) and delightful cocktails. So good that we came back twice the next day - for a delicious brunch - anything with the coconut bread is amazing (I had the Island Benedict which was yum) and I had the lobster special for dinner. I was feeling super spoiled. My boyfriend had the ribs which he said were great too! We didn't stay here - but stayed down the beach but the walk up was definitely worth it. We were very amused by the polite and slightly humorous disclaimers everywhere about everything to placate the resort style tourist who must become a bit more exploratory and come here and not understand the limitations a small island brings. Relax and enjoy people! Anyway, if your budget does not extend to staying here or you can't get a booking, eating at the Turned Turtle was a great compromise to experience the decadence, hospitality and service of LCBB without staying there. Thanks for helping make this birthday delicious and fun!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are delighted that we could add to your very happy birthday with one of our perfectly (at least we hope:)) steamed lobster and fixin's. Many thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us and we hope to see you back on LCI and eating at the Turned Turtle soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow also viewed

Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 

Been to The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turned Turtle Restaurant at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.