We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do, must see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Save
You added Little Corn Beach and Bungalow to your Saves list
Cocal Beach, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Paradise discounted 15%!
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must do, must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Must start trip at Managua airport in a one engine plane,max. ten people and see the Nicaraguan countryside and rain forest from 9,000 feet, exciting and beautiful. Arrive in Big Corn Island, take taxi to harbor and take open boat to Little Corn; people at the harbor and boat are impolite, rude and typically Caribian; half an hour, some what rough ride ( sit int the middle of the open boat
which takes fifty people, the middle bench appears the most dry). Now you arrive on Little Corn Island (lci) and are back to friendly Nicaragua where people are friendly and adorable; there are no cars or any motor driven vehicles on lci and your luggage is loaded into a wheel barrel which you follow by foot for twenty minutes thru the island and now you arrive in paradise; pristine blue and green colored water invites you to a nicely tempered swim on a white and empty beach, with nice and not loud people around, no screaming kids. The hotel consists of about 15 hut like separate, attractive buildings located 50 yards from the beach in a shady palm tree forest. The reception is friendly and professional and explains you very nicely how everything works.
The restaurant is characterized by its friendly, warm and humorous service and it's superb meals from breakfast to dinner and you realy do feel good and happy in this kind of environment.
The only black spot is the water supply or the lack thereof. Toilette paper may not be flushed but put in a separate container which is being emptied by the cleaning personnel. This an inconvenience which is,however,mitigated by the beauty of the location and the attitude of the personnel.
The whole lci experience, once at home, affects you like a beautiful dream.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for the kind review! The toilet paper thing different, but this is how it is in almost all of Central America.

Safe travels and hope to see you back on LCI!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    41
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
49
176
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Landgrove, Vermont, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The true adventure is the boat ride to Little Corn. The walk to the hotel was great and he cool breeze the met us on east side of the island was so nice. Our room was clean and the shared bath was not a problem. Since we booked late and a private bath was not available. We were greeted with a smile by all staff. Lots of hammocks to choose from. Wish there were more lounge chairs because they were so comfortable. Meals were a treat. Our friends were in Wilson with a private bath and ocean view and they loved it.This is a very specie place and we will return.
The massage by Sarah was awesome. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We wish you could have stayed longer as well. We have the friendliest staff imaginable and are so proud of each and every one of them. Thank you for recognizing how special they are. We hope to see you again in on Little Corn Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Left the paradise yesterday !!! Little corn island is the Carribean before big tourism spoiled it.
The bungalows are simple but stylish, you could relax in your porch overlooking the coral reef and the lush vegetation. The ground is well maintened,little table under your own palapa ,hammocks,
( may be could have more lounge chairs)!
Plenty of trails to walk around that small island,the absence of cars and even golf carts is a plus.
Food was very good ,did not find it overpriced,this is the best hotel and restaurant in the island and you can not compare it with the other places certainly cheaper but who gather to a very different clientele. Also supply are not easy to arrive and sometimes they can run out of certain items. Breakfast is delicious , I shared lunch with my husband ,portions were too big!!
American owners very friendly and accessible ,great staff always ready to help you with that smile and happy face who make you realize that you are not in a typical Carribean island but that you are in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

No question if you don't mind spending a bit more, you can have both a place on the beach and one that is quite nice. I think basically in Little Corn you're faced with inexpensive good places in town or run down or just basic bungalows on the beach. The bungalows here are a definite step up from the other places and the grounds are kept nice--though remember it's not like they have some great or special beach spot, you're paying for the high level accommodation.

The restaurant is over-priced and over-hyped. It's a nice spot and staff is friendly. Instead of just doing good island food, they try to make this whole big thing about having bistro style 4 course dinners. The food was very average (worst lobster i ate on the island and 3X's the price) but certainly not bad or anything like that. What's annoying is they create this big expectation but the courses we ate were a very small, tasty serving of biscuits, a cucumber salad that could have been a garnish, frozen vegetables (understandable as an island but still not good) and a meh piece of cake. My suggestion is don't eat dinner here--go to one of the other places on the beach or head to town. You'll save money and get something better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We thank "Ihatedaysinn" for his frank review. It sounds like these guests enjoyed their cabin, our grounds and service. We have the hardest working, happy staff around!

We just wrote a response the other day to a very positive review about our restaurant talking about our ongoing efforts to serve consistently excellent food at reasonable prices. We also wrote in that same comment about the inevitable "over rated" review would be coming our way as a result of a temporary lapse in service or quality. For the most part, as you can see by other reviews, we hope we get it right at the Turned Turtle Restaurant.

Sometimes though, even our best efforts (as owners we are in the kitchen every day monitoring food quality, portion size and service, sometimes we are even in there cooking or doing dishes) fall short of our high expectations. As a matter of fact, we think we remember this night as during one of our periodic checks we noticed that our staff was serving smaller and smaller portions of salad (the restaurant was very busy and they were running out so they decided to cut back on portion size which we do NOT condone). We corrected the situation immediately. Also, our wait staff is trained to check for customer satisfaction and we wish this guest would have let us know at the time of his disappointment so we could make it right in the moment.

When we came to Little Corn Island we did not want to take any business from local hotels or restaurants. We decided to offer completely different accommodations and a completely different style of food and restaurant. “Ihatedaysinn”s suggestion to cook more island food would go against our promise to our selves to be good island neighbors.

Our dinner prices start at only $9 (and include the four courses) and we have a nightly special too. Our lobster prices are different than some island eateries mostly because we serve a larger lobster that is of legal size and thus costs more. We frequently have people say our lobster is the best they have ever had (see previous TA review for an example) and rarely do people comment negatively about portion sizes.

We serve 5 different varieties of vegetables (broccoli, spinach and other fresh vegetables but do on occasion have to use other alternatives but always with a mix of fresh vegetables). Almost all veggies served on Little Corn Island come from the mainland and are suprisingly hard to come by.

We apologize to “Ihatedaysinn” for what we hope was a RARE bad experience at The Turned Turtle Restaurant. We use good and bad review to help us learn and get better. We hope that you will give us a try. Our friendly staff is waiting to greet you and give you a great dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I hesitate to write this because it LCBB should be kept a secret, it is that special. Yet, Scot and Kristine and all their staff deserve to be full-up with guests. Best food, the kindest of staff, very clean facilities . . . . all on a spectacular natural coast of the sea. We stayed a week... one of the hardest places to leave in all our travels.

Room Tip: choose a bungalow not right beside the restaurant... but even that is vey quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Bruce, thank you for the nice review about our food, accommodation, location and staff. We hope that you will be able to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful room, right on the sand with the ocean breeze and sound of lapping waves present all day and night. Staff and management were so willing to please 100% of the time. The meals at the restaurant were delicious and time spent in the hammock just put it over the top. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We work overtime (literally) as a staff and management to do our best to always deserve the "delicious" praise for our restaurant food that you have offered. We know that there is much we can improve on and that occasionaly we will stumble. In the mean time, we use kind reviews such as this for great positive motivation to "keep working at it". Please come back and see us sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just returned from a great visit for 3 days.
After walking the entire island and viewing all of the other options, I can say without a doubt that I found B&B the top place on the island for staff, food, rooms, view, and the grounds.
I learned a few things while there that I will share with others.
First, the food is really good and the portions are quite large and very filling, while the prices are really reasonable. We were three girls and found that we could never finish a meal on our own and almost always were full even after splitting a meal. And you will want to eat every morsel on your plate. We honestly felt we could have feasted like royalty and and even put on a few pounds on a mere $20/day - and that is always eating the best of the best. One could easily spend less and still be very satisfied.
The frozen margaritas are really good, thought not that different from others I have had. However, the pina colada is made from roasted fresh coconut and is really unique and super yummy - definitely need to try at least once.
Second, the yoga and massage are top notch. You don't have to be a guest to use the facility but guests do get a discount. Sara really has magic hands and her yoga class will appeal even to experienced yoga visitors. Of interest is that normally one has to import the sound of waves and birds and the sweet scent of ocean breeze or the soft ripple of the wind. Here, they are already there and add great ambiance to the studio and massage.
Another thing I learned is that there is a windy side of the island. On the windy side it is much cooler, but the wind never stops blowing and can pick up a bit. If you don't like a good breeze, this may not be ideal for you. But it is an easy stroll to the other side of the island if you want to find a beach you can really bake on.
The staff were at B&B were super friendly and always there when you needed them with a friendly smile.
The beds were surprisingly good and the mosquito nets top notch.
I wished at times that the internet stayed on later, but overall the windy side of the island is pretty much asleep by 10pm - you have to go to town for nightlife if you want it. If you go, make sure you bring a flashlight to help you walk back.
Overall, I could not find much to complain about except the extra pounds I may have put on with their amazing cooking.

Room Tip: We stayed in Gilligan. One slept in one bed and two in the other. We are two small women and fit two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

Address: Cocal Beach, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both Little Corn Beach and Bungalow (LCBB) and Little Corn Island were recently listed in the New York Times #1 Best Selling Travel book, "1000 Places to See Before You Die". Recently, the Travel and Leisure website listed LCBB as 1 of 27 "Best Affordable Island Hotels" in the world. Come and join us on this beautiful remote tropical island. Experience an extraordinarily scenic and unique Caribbean world while stepping back in time. We offer relative comfort while respecting the islands delicate eco system. No cars, motorcycles, golf carts or airport disguise the fact that it is relatively easy to find this paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Hotel Little Corn Island
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.