We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for a few days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Princesa de la Isla

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Corn Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Princesa de la Isla
Save
You added La Princesa de la Isla to your Saves list
Woula Point, 9340394 , Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Camrose, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for a few days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had an excellent time here. The owners were very nice and everything is a short walk. We checked out Little Corn Island for the day (awesome). We went to picnic beach which is a can't miss. We will be back some day. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
43
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I love staying here, the rooms are large and clean, and I love the shower with the water coming from the conch shell. I love the sound of the waves and the view. I was worried about staying here because I love air conditioning, but the breeze made it comfortable to sleep at night. Picnic beach is a short walk with chairs, umbrella's and cabana's to enjoy.
Alessandro is a wonderful cook and Costanza is always smiling. Alessandro cooked something special for us every night and it was just amazing. Alessandro cut down a coconut everyday so I could have coconut water with my rum drink, it was so good. Alessandro & Costanza are the absolute best hosts you could want to be around. They make everything wonderful. Costanza helped set up a snorkeling tour for us with Dorsey Campbell and he only charged us $20 each to take us thru the coral reef and back. We saw so many fish and an eagle ray.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and basically the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I agree that the Italian family owners are out of this world hospitable, and that the accommodations are clean and basic. I have to be honest, however. Princesa is basically surrounded by a "slum. " If you go here you have to be the kind of traveler who is not bothered by living it up while immediately surrounded by desparately poor people. If you can't handle this dichotomy, don't go here. Also, if you are the kind of traveler who wants to actually "do" something while traveling, I do not reccommend Big Corn. We arrived and were so very warmly welcomed by the owners. We asked what we could do during our short stay, and were told, "nothing." There is nothing to do here other than hang out on the beach in some intense sun and heat. If this does not describe the kind of vacation you are looking for, then skip Big Corn. The snorkeling and diving is better on Little Corn, there are more varied dining options, you can hike around the island and within it, and it is safer. Though bigger than Little Corn, there is actually less to do on Big Corn. We asked about going hiking on Big Corn and were told it was not a good idea and there are basically no trails. We could not walk to town at night to eat because the owners told us it was not safe. When we did walk around the Island, my daughter practically got run over by a car who was deliberately trying to scare her. And we almost got attacked by a dog walking on the beach from Princesa. Also, while the artisitc flair of Princesa is fantastic, the general grounds are fairly shabby. There are debri piles all about. The incredible Italian food was so salty we could not eat our $18 dollar meal. Lunch is $18 and dinner is $22. (more than double what you pay elsewhere). The only reason we ate there was because otherwise you have to take a cab to and from your meal elsewhere. I hate to submit this review because the family is so wonderful, friendly, accommodating, and open their entire home to you. But I wish I knew this before arriving. And we were not the only dissapointed guests. We shared notes with another family staying there who felt the reviews on TripAdvisor had misled them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, MO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This small hotel is located on a gorgeous, secluded piece of property on the southern side of Big Corn Island. It has its own private beach and is just a 10-15 minute walk to Picnic Beach, the best on the island and arguably the best in Nicaragua. The Italian family who own and operate this hotel are out of this world fantastic. They are friendly, knowledgeable, wicked cooks, and make a great drink. :) The rooms are rustic and basic (no tv, no ac) but are very clean and have private baths and hot water.
You cannot go wrong staying here and this hotel/property embodies what makes Corn Island so attractive in the first place---remote, hospitable, and lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Fantastic location and amazing host! We came in from Little Corn and unfortunately had only one night in La Princesa de la Isla, as we had flights out the next morning.

You feel really welcome here from the moment you arrive and throughout your stay. The rooms are pretty average, but spacious and clean. The property itself is very nice, with hammocks and chairs by the ocean where you can relax, has lots of "personality". There is a wonderful beach right next to the property, this is a great place to enjoy the sun and bathe, unless you need a sunbed. If you want a sunbed and facilities such as a bar etc it is an approximately 15 minute walk along the beach to Arenas hotel.

We ate both breakfast and dinner at the hotel and got great food, the restaurant is famous for its delicious Italian food.

Will definetly stay at this place if we are going back to Big Corn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. Costanza and her family open their home to visitors to make this a true experience in paradise. The property - right on the ocean - is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms (rather like bungalows) are spacious, clean, and charming. Costanza serves a breakfast with many options, but, the real pleasure is the Italian dinner cooked and served by Costanza. It is Italian like you have never tasted. Always willing to sit and talk, all of the family is willing to give recommendations and advice. The property is a short walk to town and picnic beach.
Wishing we were still there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The place is owned by an Italian family that moved to Big Corn Island.

Our bungalow was 15 meters (around 50 feet) from the sea. Although the beach is more snorkel friendly than swimmer's friendly, it would take a 10 minute walk on the beach from La Princesa to Pic Nic Beach which is the best and biggest beach on Big Corn.

This place is ideal if you want to relax at night, laying in a hammock watching the moon reflect in the sea, listen to the waves, smoking a cigar and sipping on Flor de Cana. Rooms were perfectly clean and spacious.

As their heritage might stereotypically indicate, our hosts were very CHARMING, AMAZING cooks, and they gave us pointers on going around town. Breakfast (which is not complementary but worth your money) was delicious, and we ate dinner there during our second night and it was MIND-BLOWING. We kept coming back during the remainder of our Big Corn stay and never got disappointed.

Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Princesa de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Princesa de la Isla

Address: Woula Point, 9340394 , Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Princesa de la Isla is located in one of the most picturesque point of the Big Corn island and it includes wooden bungalows and three rooms made with coral, stones and wood.All the accommodations have private bathroom, matrimonial bed (queen size)with its mosquito net, fan and porch with chairs (bungalows have a private porch).They are just ten steps to the shore and they are all ocean view and they overlook on a garden with palms and hammocks.The restaurant serves authentic italian cuisine with a list of italianwines and in the bar you can enjoy real italian coffee and cappuccino. People who are not guests of the hotel can enjoy our restaurant and barreserving a lunch or a dinner just in front of the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Princesa De La Isla Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Princesa de la Isla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.