We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we picked this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Canada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Canada to your Saves list
Casa Canada
Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glad we picked this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband Eric and I stayed at Casa Canada 2/17/14 - 2/24/14 along with two other couples. We were very happy with the room, views, service, and value. There is no better on Big Corn. If I had to pick a bad thing the only thing I mean only thing I could come up with is don't get the pizza lol. It's just was not to my liking. But that's all I can think of. Great people work there and the owners thought of everything to make people's stay comfortable. Thank you for a great vacation!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    36
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
64
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Corn Island, Nicaragua
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We just got back from Corn island and our stay at Casa Canada. Don and Ebony booked our puddle jumper from Managua to Corn Island. In Miami our plane had a bad tire and had to be delayed getting to Corn. I called Don and he and Ebony were able to pull some strings and buy us the extra 20 minutes we needed to make the puddle jumper flight to the island.

When we got there we were greated by Ebony who manages the place and does a damn god job of it. The night crew in the bar/food area are excellent hosts. Kenny The bartender is right on top of things and always does his best to accomodate. If you stray from the bar to the deck or pool area Elgin and "B" (Bileka) are always checking to see if you need a refill so that you don't have to get up and go get it. They all have great personalities and if you get to know them they will take and give a good friendly ribbing. The day crew is a bit more reserved but every bit as professional, as it probably should be. Since the alcohol flows more at night so should the positive outgoing personalities.

As far as the food goes. Since it's constantly talked about on here. Breakfast is fine especially the french Toast. Lunch is good if you stick with the local basic foods as is dinner. We found the best option was to go out each night and try a new place for dinner. If nothing else just to get out and see new things other than the resort. There are some fantastic places to eat on the island. Especially some of the bed and breakfasts. But if you have dinner at Casa Canada, a bed and breakfast, or any other food place. keep this in mind. Dinner here is an event. Nothing is fast when it comes to the evening meal. Everything is made from scratch. Nothing is prepped and places don't store a lot of things there like in the states. So be prepared for some things on the menu to not be available and go with the flow.

When you think you're getting the slightest bit hungry head out to eat right then. Get to the place and order then enjoy several drinks as you wait for your food. While doing this get to know the people working there as well as the other patrons. There's a ton to learn when you do this and it helped us greatly for the rest of our stay.

Room Tip: There's good and bad with every room at CAsa Canada. It's all about your preference. Examp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is our 6th visit to Casa Canada on Big Corn Island, and I wish we could say that things have been steadily improving, but that is not the case. I am unhappy to report that the state of the hotel has deteriorated in so many small ways, but in the big ways they cannot change, that is the ocean still crashes outside our door, and the sunrises and sunsets are still so beautiful. However, with the prices increasing slightly since our first visit, there should really be some minimal effort to improve the quality of the stay. The food is the same, unimaginative with the exact same menu as when we first came to this island. The biggest difference between now and our first stay is the staff, where there was a once very happy atmosphere, there is now a sort of dour feel to those who are working there. At one point our housekeeping didn't come by, so we had to go to the nearby pulperia and pick up some coffee, sugar and milk so that we would have morning coffee to accompany the sunrise.

The overall upkeep of the place has slipped, where our towel rack was hanging by a screw, many areas could use a coat of paint. and the hot water wasn't very reliable. It is also important to note that there were several nights where sleep was challenged by the noise from other guests in the pool.

Perhaps I'm being a little hard on the place, because it was clean and comfortable, but there is more to a stay than that. It is also comparing it to when we first found it 7 years ago.

Room Tip: If you have a room that's close to the pool, which is a few rooms, be prepared that there may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Bridges, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here for 10 days. We grandparents in one cabana/room, and our family "next door." Children were treated with great attention! Loved the service, the cleaning, food, and pool. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Great to stay in room 20! view of iguanas, and waves right there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

such a great introduction to this beautiful island
the rooms, food, staff & service were all 5 stars
such beautiful people to accompany a beautiful place
Ms Ebony was very accomodating & helped me get a cake for my cousins birthday on the day of our arrival
Kendy the bartender & Vielka the waitress were so nice & helpful in giving us tips on where to go on the island
we wished we could stay there for longer...we just returned & are already looking to book the next trip
the food was also great...i dont know why everyone is complaining about it
there are tons of great places to eat on the island including Casa Canada

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Casa Canada for five days and had a great stay. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and also maintained the grounds beautifully. Our room was clean and very comfortable, with a wonderful view of the ocean with the pool in the foreground. The provided breakfasts were hardy and well-prepared and when we had dinner at the Casa Canada, the food and service was great. If you like curry, we especially recommend the shrimp or chicken curry. Of course, their lobster is also very nice. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our room was #4 which is by the pool. We had no problem being there. However, if you want to be aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Pais Vasco, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

AMAZING VIEWS. All rooms open up to the infinity pool right on the Caribbean. You cannot get closer to the water. Nice, clean rooms. I loved the hammocks around the property. The food was pretty awful tho, as was most food on the rest of the island. Still, amazing hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canada

Address: Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Canada Hotel Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Canada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.