We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Canada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Canada to your Saves list
Casa Canada
Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Best on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

In a couple weeks we'll be heading back for our 4th visit to Casa Canada on Big Corn. There are other places to stay that are okay, but of all Casa Canada is the best. The waves crashing outside your door, and the wonderful people that work there make it a perfect place to get away from everything. I love Corn Island so much, mostly because it's fairly unknown and isn't inundated with tourists, but I also love the little culture that exists there. Casa Canada will have all the amenities that you could expect, but you do have to keep in mind that it isn't a major Caribbean resort or island, so if the electricity goes out, or the internet isn't working, you just have to know this sort of thing will probably happen. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the rates are the highest on the island, but still low by any reasonable comparison, and well worth it. The one major complaint is the food, the breakfasts in particular. It gets monotonous fast, and in general there is a lacking of any creativity, which is sad considering all the natural products they have available.

If you go to Casa Canada, visit the little bodega across the street and say hello to Jennifer. She's a delight to talk to, and so incredibly friendly.

I could talk forever about this island, and in many ways I like it better than Little Corn.

Room Tip: If you can get an end room it's best, particularly the one at the very end of the little complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    36
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
64
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

A visit to Corn Island is like no other. I could not believe I was in Nicaragua! Very Carribean feel and vibe. Casa Canada has all the amenities you need, great air conditioning (which you may not even need), big comfortable beds, clean bathroom and hot water. The staff is wonderful and Merlin is a magician in the kitchen! Great food and lots of it. This is a great place to stay and I highly recommend it. Do yourself a favor and take a side trip to Little Corn. But absolutely stay at Casa Canada on Big Corn.

Room Tip: Number 20 is at the end and the ocean sound is so relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

We have now stayed with Casa Canada each of the last 3 years. There is no better place on the island. The ocean views are second to none. The staff, especially Ebony and Gina, are welcoming and accommodating. I recommend relaxing in the infinity pool while admiring the views and listening to the waves crashing on the rocks below. Merlin, the chef, makes delicious meals especially the breakfast, boca mixto, and lobster Caribbean style.

We feel like we discovered a little piece of heaven at Casa Canada on Corn Island.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The physical plant of the hotel was good. After thoroughly enjoying ourselves for seven nights at the more rustic but rich Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, on the way back to Managua we treated ourselves to a night in a king bed and air conditioning at Casa Canada. That part was fine. After a dip in the pool, we holed up in our room with English language magazines, which we hadn't seen in months, turned on the TV and cranked up the A/C. It was an expensive indulgence, but was exactly what we were looking for (except for the broken WiFi, but I assume it normally works).

The restaurant food and service was nothing special if not outright poor. Same food you get everywhere else in Nicaragua. I didn't complain about it because the guy who checked out before me was already complaining about it (as he rebooked for the fall, so he must not have minded too much). We took a taxi over to Arenas Beach Hotel and had a nice lunch over there. Didn't see a room, but the beach over there was very nice, so next time we'd consider that place.

The bay above which the hotel is located smelled bad. Clearly not the hotel's fault, but something to consider since it impacts the experience.

It served its purpose as a comfy stopping-off point on our way from Little Corn back to the mainland, but Casa Canada alone would have made a much worse vacation than the unbelievably great experience we had on Little Corn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Casa Canada was very comfortable and the rooms are nicer than what the pictures portray. We stayed right by the infinity pool which was very beautiful overlooking the ocean. The staff were friendly and the rooms were very clean. However, I didn't feel as welcomed as other reviews have mentioned. I feel that the staff was doing their job and that they had to be nice but I don't think they meant it. To be fair, I saw several obnoxious tourists staying there so I would get tired of putting up with them too.

I would recommend not doing laundry though, unless you specify using warm and cold water. A shirt did get ruined and some of the clothes look more worn out but I guess that was the risk we took to get clean clothes. While the restaurant there may be one of the best on the Big Corn Island, I don't think the calibre of food is that good on the island. They are used to overcooking all the seafood but that is just how everybody does it. Just don't expect gourmet meals there and you won't be disappointed. The internet connection wasn't great on the first night and then stopped working the following nights.

While i enjoyed it, Casa Canada felt more like an expensive Caribbean-resort without the offerings of Caribbean activities and entertainment. I would like to point out that the convenience store down the street from Casa Canada has awesome coconut bread that is definitely the best thing I had on the island. Make sure to get it fresh though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Casa Canada, and it was a wonderful experience. It was great to get off the plane and see a cab driver with the sign "Casa Canada" waiting for you. Our room was pleasant and very clean. Fully stocked mini fridge with rum, beer and pop/juices. The cost is minimal($1.50 for a bottle of Tona). The infinity pool was cleaned thoroughly in the morning. Great view of the ocean, the grounds were immaculate and lush. Fell asleep on the hammocks a few times. No pressure on this island to do things. Very relaxing.
The staff is the real gem for Casa Canada. Ebony and Gina were very diligent in making phone calls to find my wife's lost luggage. They always had a smile and were very helpful with island advice. The restaurant may be a little more expensive than other restaurants on the island, but the food was superb!
Make sure you get David the cab driver on the island to give you a full tour. May be pricey($10hr), but he covers every nook and cranny. We even got to walk around George Morgan's estate( aka Captain Morgan for you rum connoisseurs )near Bluff point .

Overall, a great warm friendly island one must experience before it becomes commercialized.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

a bit pricey, ( they increased their prices last year) but very nice. Also had issues with loud music for neighboring bars. beautiful pool. Somewhat nonchalant staff ( but this is Corn island..) best bed (king) in Nicaragua ..very well maintained. Stayed in cabanas 13...(14 , the best in my opinion was taken)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canada

Address: Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Canada Hotel Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Canada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.