We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arenas Beach was a favorite of ours!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenas Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arenas Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Arenas Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Southwest Bay, Nicaragua (Formerly Cesar Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Arenas Beach was a favorite of ours!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed at Arenas Beach in November, 2008. We drove around looking at different places to stay, and as soon as I saw the big, beautiful, beach, I knew it was the place. We stayed two nights in one of their hotel rooms upstairs, and on returning from Little Corn we stayed two nights in one of the cabin rooms. (The cabins would be perfect for a family or backpackers as they have 2 double beds and 3 singles in each one as well as an extra sink and counter area with a small refrigerator, and large deck and hamock out front facing the beach)
The staff at Arenas was very friendly and accommodating, and the food was excellent - we had some of our best lobster and conch meals at the restaurant there. The beach out front is raked and kept up very nice, and has a nice sandy walk out into the water - no rocks at all.
It is located on a quiet dead-end bumpy road, so traffic in front is minimal and going very slowly.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Beach, restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    42
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We spent five nights at the Arenas Beach Hotel. Overall, it is a great place to stay on Big Corn islands. The rooms are very nice: spacious, comfortable beds, nice balcony, gorgeous tile work, beautifully appointed bathroom with great water pressure (which is unusual for a Caribbean island).

The staff is extremely nice and gracious, but somewhat slow. Sometimes we had to actually flag them down. This was also true with beach service since the boat bar was never open.

Since the rooms don't have telephones, in-room service can only happen if you go and put it in motion yourself. But, they will bring food and drink to your room.

The beach is stunning and well maintained. The food and mixed drinks were terrific, but the coffee needs improvement.

Internet service was not available, but we were told they are working on this problem. (Go to the Cyber Cafe in "downtown" Big Corn for a good connection.)

Even though it will not immediately be apparent during your first day, cabs do drive by frequently looking for fares. Don't think you have to rely solely on the hotel's preferred driver.

Except for the somewhat sluggish service, we highly recommend staying there. It is one of the best places on Big Corn.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Hard to get the staff's attention.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

Stayed here two nights. Beach is awesome. Food was good, especially the lobster. Staff very accommodating. You can rent a golf cart ($40/3 hours) and ramble around the island. Great fun. Room (in the main hotel, not bungalow) was spacious and clean. Great shower.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

Cesar Beach is now under new management and is called Arenis Beach Resort. If you like the beach - this is the Place!
Good food, relaxing, good accomodations and the new owner is planning on adding cabins and a pool. People were very accomodating, very laid back place to relax.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

We had the good fortune of getting an honest cab driver who took us to a legitimately good hotel, Cesar Beach. Prior to coming to Corn Island, I had not heard of this place. I don't think they advertise much.
Anyway, the people who work here are really nice and super laid back. \
We stayed in one of the cabins. In retrospect, I would recommend one of the inward ones (i.e. not adjacent to the road) Otherwise, you do feel a little exposed especially when going to the bathroom with no curtains on the windows!! The cabin had 5 beds in it, two doubles and three twins and a large bathroom with luke warm water.
This hotel is in the best location on the island, a super pretty beach right in front and not a lot of people milling around, like on the rest of the island. As you either know or will find out, there is a quite a drug problem here and when walking around the island we saw some real shady characters and quite a few drug dealers hanging out on the side of the road. However, none of this was going on around Cesare Beach.
The food is awesome! Do not miss the pizza! It is made from scratch and is incredible!!!
If you don't have much luggage, you can actually walk here from the airport but then again a cab should only cost $2 or $3.
Our cabin was $50/night in May 2006.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenas Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas Beach Hotel

Address: Southwest Bay, Nicaragua (Formerly Cesar Beach Hotel)
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenas Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arenas Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Beach Hotel Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenas Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.