We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An italian guesthouse right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellavista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Bellavista to your Saves list
Hotel Bellavista
Brig Bay 2 | Playa Shipwreck, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Swansea, Wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An italian guesthouse right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Run by Giorgio and Teresa, this expanding 7 room guesthouse is right on the beach near the landing strip and dock - so it is well located and you can walk "into town" and also to the baseball ground from here as well as to picnic beach.
The rooms are simple but well appointed and ours (3 &4) face out across the patio area to a fantastic view of the beach and sea, There are ceiling fans and mosquito nets and very comfortable beds and nice shower rooms. Giorgio and Teresa are delightful if perhaps getting a little weary of life on a small Caribbean island. Teresa prepared a great dinner for us one night and the breakfasts are excellent. Giorgio took us to places in his car which was kind but taxis cost less than $1 a person to anywhere on the island. The restaurant next door (Buccaneer) is busier and bigger and is a 2 minute walk from your room!
Some will find the fencing and razor wire around the premises reassuring - also the three sleepy and friendly dogs. Most other places don't have such security, so it is probably not required and does slightly spoil the view from the terrace

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 are very close to the beach and have a bit of a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
23
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Bellavista, thanks to the wonderful owners, Giorgio and Teresa. From the time we landed and Giorgio picked us up at the airport, they did whatever they could to make us as comfortable as possible, even driving us wherever we were going in the morning. The rooms were very nice, although fair warning there is no door between the bedroom and the bathroom, making privacy an interesting endeavor. There are a lot of mosquitoes and so the mosquito nets they provide were welcome. The food is great. We had the lobster and spaghetti, the risotto and the salad and their breakfasts.The prices are a bit high for Nicaragua, but it is an island where it must be difficult to get supplies. And it's right next door to a larger hotel that has a pretty good restaurant and a small bar if you want a little variety.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Bellavista is a very rustic place separated minimally from a lovely sandy swimmable/snorkelable beach by a narrow dirt road. The Bellavista is also separated from the road by cyclone fencing topped by barbed wire. The rooms are clean with a good bed, although some of the mosquito netting is not designed for the specific beds and get entangled around your body during the night.Our room was fairly comfortable and not too hot, given the ocean breeze and the fan; our kids' room further back from the beach was uncomfortably hot. There was, obviously, no air conditioning. (On the other hand the price was very right.) Rustic but with a rustic charm. The owners, Georgio and Teresa are wonderful, and by the time you are ready to leave they feel like family. They accommodate your every need and often drive you to various spots on the island. The breakfasts are very good with excellent coffee. Dinners are also good. One night they cooked our fishing catch; on another night at our request they bought, cooked, and served us lobster. The place is endearing, and I wish I could rate it higher. We would have loved to help redecorate the place, particularly the fencing, but the charming owners and the low cost make this accommodation a good option when you visit Corn Island.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Bellavista for one night in December. Georgio and Teresa are wonderful people. Teresa does the cooking and prepared some very delicous dishes. Very nice view of the harbor and beach from the hotel. If you are fortunate enough to stay in rooms 1-4 closest to to beach your stay should be fine. We unfortunately were in the back section(rooms 5-7) which is next to a mosquito filled stagnant pool. Stuffy room, thin walls as if the people next door are in your room, no AC and HOT! If you have to spend the night on Big Corn, come here to eat, not to sleep.
We enjoyed Beach Hotel Paraiso around the corner better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Corn Island, Nicaragua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Although we are not staying at Hotel Bellavista, my family and I just had the most amazing dinner hosted by Georgio and Teresa. The Lobster Spaghetti was unbelievable. Then to top it off.. dessert was chocolate cake with custard drizzled over it and then a shot of dark rum poured over it. Bar none...it was the best meal we have had on the island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Not only is it beautiful ecologically, The service is extraordinary , you have an open minded menu where almost anything you want can be cooked, and specially the Italian cuisine. The management is very open minded and open to negotiation. For example I was able to check out late withou fee's and even got free shuttle service and a short trip around the city.

Room Tip: Ask for the Terrace views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very comfortable, clean and safe Hotel run by a charming Italian couple. The room was lobely, the home cooked Italian food was delicious and we were even given a lift to the airport.

Would recommend to all in the mid level budget category travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellavista

Address: Brig Bay 2 | Playa Shipwreck, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BELLAVISTA is located a footstep away from the Caribbean sea on Corn Island. Our hotel is right in front of the beach of Playa Shipwreck. We offer 7 Caribbean styled rooms, all with private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellavista Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.