We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Picnic Center Restauarant

Picnic Center Restauarant
Picnic Center Hotel, Nicaragua
(+505) (8) 420-6186
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

The location was gorgeous, the service friendly and food was very good.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing roof structure on a great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Situated on the best beach under a vast, circular thatched roof this restaurant consistantly produced very good food every time we went there. There are no walls so the views are unobstructed, and it's a joy to watch the picture postcard idyllic beach and blue sea whilst enjoying good food and listening to latin music.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food...Nicaraguan style.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We ate there twice, and it was so good considering going there again before we leave corn Island. We had The breaded fish filet and it was awesome....one of the best that I have had in Central America,
We had a western omelette for breakfast, the portions were large and everything was good.

If you think the food will all be just like what you would get in the USA, think again. It's Nicaragua. I have spent a lot of time in various locations in Nicaragua and the food at this place was way better than the typical. The service was good. The waiter was attentive. But remember, everything here goes at Nicaraguan speed, which is much slower than North America or Europe.

An added plus is you are right on the beach, and the beach is really nice.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield England
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Location - terrible service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

WE ordered drinks and food very quickly after finding a table. The drinks were delivered fairly promptly however the simple food we ordered took over 1 hour and the place wasn't even that busy. The food was average.
However the view and location is second to none.
Great place to eat if not in a hurry., which you shouldn't be in any case

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great view, terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The setting is gorgeous - right on the sand. Great for cocktails and watching the sunset.
But don't even think of eating here. The food is horrible. I ordered "checken fingers."
It was a bunch of breaded, fried pieces of bone -neck bones, etc., with absolutely no meat.
Boyfriend ordered breaded fried shrimp. The plate had 8 tiny shrimp, $9 USD.
The way to do this - go here for cocktails, then walk about 100 yards down the beach and eat at Arenas Beach Hotel patio....good food, good service, decent prices.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picnic Center Restauarant also viewed

Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
 

Been to Picnic Center Restauarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picnic Center Restauarant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.