We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Cobàn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Abadia

La Abadia
Calle belice 3-98, Coban 16001, Guatemala
+502 5788 6532
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Coban
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little gem in Cobàn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

While in Cobàn, if you get tired of "tipico" food and of most restaurants' cafeteria atmosphere, you need an evening at this most civilized and charming little restaurant.
We had walked by a few times and found it inviting, which was confirmed from the moment we set foot in.
Besides the charm of the candlelit decor, the warmth of the owner immediately made us feel at home. The food was delicious, inventive and beautifully presented, the wine list interesting and the attentions of the owner always welcome.
His Venezuelian wife runs the kitchen, and very well indeed.
If you have one restaurant to pick in Cobàn, let it be La Abadia. The experience risks to be memorable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Just perfect!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The best restaurant we have been to in Guatemala. For start, the food was just amazing, everything was perfectly cooked, and very original. Secondly, we enjoyed the service very much, the owner (which also does the service) was really nice and welcoming. You should definitely make an effort to visit there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Totally Unexpected Brilliance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was without a doubt the best meal we ate on our 2 week trip to Guatemala. We definitely weren't expecting spectacular food in Coban -- its a relatively small city that mostly serves as a jumping off point for tourists who want to visit surrounding attracting like Semuc Champey or the cloud forest (like us) - but we read about this place in one our guidebooks and then cross-referenced it on tripadvisor and decided we had to check it out.

The owner is Guatemalan and does all of the front of house work. He was absolutely lovely. His wife is Venezuelan and does all the cooking. We didn't meet her, but everything we ordered was incredible. We had arepitas as starters and I had the cazuela de mariscos as an entree. Both were perfect and the margaritas were the best I've had in a very long time -- tasted like fresh lime without any gross artificial sweetening.

The ambience was as unexpected as the food. It is a warmly decorated place with only four tables - we were the only ones there on the night we went - and very romantic. So glad we stumbled upon this place and hope we can return someday!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Coban!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a hidden gem in Coban. The owner greeted us and was a great guy. His wife makes all the food fresh, and you can really tell. Everything was delicious and at a great price.
Awesome!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in central america”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Wow. This is the best restaurant i have been to in a while! Everything we ordered (starters, main courses and desserts for five ppl) was amazing. I highly recommend the mozarella ravioli and the onion soup!
While i coman you simply MUST visit this place. The owner was so nice he even voluntarily gave us a ride home after the meal because he was worried for our safety.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Abadia also viewed

Coban, Alta Verapaz Department
Coban, Alta Verapaz Department
 
Coban, Alta Verapaz Department
Coban, Alta Verapaz Department
 

Been to La Abadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Abadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.