We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guatefriends Coban

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guatefriends Coban to your Saves list
Guatefriends Coban
Aldea Chicuxab, Coban 502, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Coban B&B and Inns
Atlanta
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Like the other reviewers, I cannot say enough good things about Guatefriends and the people that run it. This hostel is a breath of fresh air. From the moment you arrive, you are welcomed and feel like part of the family. I stopped in Coban on the way to Tikal, ended up staying three nights and didn't want to leave. It’s only a few minutes outside of the town center, but you feel like you are at a peaceful mountain retreat hours away from the busyness of a town. The house is beautifully situated on a hill with a great view overlooking the local community. Be sure to notice the paintings that litter the walls of the house. They are painted by Otto.

Accommodations: After staying in some other hostels on my travels through Guatemala, this place felt like the Ritz Carlton. It is very clean and has hot water – a nice luxury after staying a week in the jungle. They also have a hairdryer – again a luxury for backpackers! The third floor dorm room has a balcony and a great view. Nevermind the dogs barking at night. They sound like they are killing each other but hey, it's Guatemala. Wild dogs are everywhere.

Food: Pretty much everything you find in Guatemala is organic. I enjoyed fresh fruit juice and blended drinks with breakfast and cheese homemade by a local villager with dinner. Breakfast was included with my stay. Other meals were an extra cost and are highly recommended. Abdy and Elizabeth are excellent cooks and the meals are very reasonably priced. You eat family style which is a great way to get to know the family and meet other travelers. They also provide purified water and have wireless internet. Make sure you try some local dishes. Mush is excellent – thanks for introducing me to it Abdy!

I will always have a special place in my heart for Guatemala but especially for the family that runs Guatefriends. So if you go to Coban stay here (and bring Elizabeth vanilla extract which is hard to get as cheap as it is in the US – she’ll love you!).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I can't really think of anything else to add to the previous reviews. I stayed here just after it opened and it really was such a special place. The house was incredible, like no other place I saw in Guatemala. The family are a fantastic group of people and I was made to feel so welcome in their home. I can't recommend this place highly enough. The only reason I stopped in Coban was because of the photos I'd seen of this place and I really wasn't disappointed in the slightest. Stay here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Without doubt a special place to stay!! Guatefriends is a gorgeous hostel (stunning building AND location) that is literally inside a friendly family's house!

It's new and the owners are lovely, not to mention fantastic cooks. It's 15 minutes outside of Coban and they'll pick you up and drive you back to town (if you can drag yourselves away). Well worth the effort because staying in the homely place is part of the experience in itself.

Definitely recommended if you're looking for a different kind of stay where you can interact with a family and/or while away hours on pretty wooden balconies overlooking the garden and cloud forest beyond. Happy days :)))

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Excellent location (in the mountains, five mins drive from town, family will take you for a few dollars)
Excellent hosts (Guatemalan family, lovely people)
Excellent house (Swiss chalet, made from Guatemalan materials)
Excellent food (Abdy is a good cook)

If I am ever in the area again, I will certainly be dropping by!

Room Tip: Top floor is the best!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This guesthouse is about 15 minute drive from the city center and well worth the trip. Not only is the house and surrounding property gorgeous architecturally, it is very comfortable and the family who runs are warm, welcoming and helpful with any request. They also provide a wealth of information about the local culture and area.

The food was excellent, breakfast was included in room price and additional meals (upon request) are not only delicious using many local ingredients but an incredible value.

This is a wonderful place that I can recommend highly enough and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guatefriends Coban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guatefriends Coban

Address: Aldea Chicuxab, Coban 502, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Coban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Coban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guatefriends Coban is a place full of nature, we count with a Temazcal (Mayan Sauna), events area, lounge, a mini bar, among others.Our rooms and bathrooms are always clean; and you will enjoy of great food and environment. We are a friendly guatemalan family runing this B &B, we enjoy spending time with our customers, they always leave as our friends, dont hesitate in visiting us!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Guatefriends Coban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guatefriends Coban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.