We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with very friendly hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Gaia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Gaia
Save
You added Casa Gaia to your Saves list
9a. Av. Final | Barrio San Jorge. Zona 10, Coban 16001, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Coban
Rijssen, Overijssel, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel with very friendly hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

During our trip through Guatemala, we had a very nice stay in this hotel in Coban!
We arrived in the early evening and there was a party. Especially for our family they made a diner and that was the start of some wonderfull days in and around Coban.
The owner and his family were extremely friendly and warm. They helped and informed us many times.
We loved the room (2 adults + 2 kids) and the garden, and we wish this family many guests!
we hope to come back once!! Hopefully we can enjoy in a swimming pool at that time.
Warm greetings from Hollanda. Family Zoeteweij

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matjuan, Propietario at Casa Gaia, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. This motivates us to continue growing and improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This family owned hotel really knows how to take care of you. The rooms are clean and have their own wifi (which is a huge plus for me) and the dining room also has wifi. The food is great and the dessert is pretty amazing. Even if you aren't into desserts, just try their cheesecake but you really can't go wrong with any of the desserts they have that day. We stayed their for one night and headed out to Lanquin. As we drove towards Antigua, we just had to come back to Casa Gaia for lunch on the way. The dessert was that memorable for me and the family, simply put, are just good people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matjuan, Director General at Casa Gaia, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
thank you very much for your opinion John Barrington and girlfriend. We are pleased to have been very well in our small hotel and hope to return and refer us to their friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My sister, two nephews, my son and I travelled alll the way from Quetzaltenango to see Coban. We were surprised to get to the hotel as it is very close to downtown but it is far enough that you feel like you are far away. The owners are all wonderful and the staff as well. Delicious food!!! They are always making sure you are enjoying your stay. Gave us information about tours and directions to get to different places. Their gardens are breath taking . I will definitely stay at Casa Gaia. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matjuan, Director General at Casa Gaia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We appreciate your positive opinion. With this re affirm our commitment to serving our guests so that they feel comfortable and happy with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Words can not express how amazing the owner and his family are!!. so welcoming, warm & helpfull! the place in it self is beautiful ! We enjoyed a long walk in the property. the rooms are very clean and the food is fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matjuan, Propietario at Casa Gaia, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your valuable review Thidar & Noa, about our small hotel. This motivates us to continue to grow and provide good service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I travel to Coban on a regular basis and have tried 3 of the top rated hotels in the area. Casa Gaia is clean, quiet, reasonably priced, with a friendly family managing the place and a helpful staff. The flower gardens are beautiful and unique and there's good wifi and TV. The restaurant serves meals every day of the week so you don't even have to leave the property if you don't want to but it's close to town so it's also convenient to everything.

Room Tip: #1 is in the main building attached to the lobby and restaurant. All the other rooms are in a sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matjuan, Director General at Casa Gaia, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su valiosa opinión, la cual nos motiva a seguir mejorando y, sobre todo a seguir invirtiendo en la expansión de nuestras instalaciones para poder servir a más personas en el futuro inmediato.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay in Coban in Casa Gaia. The rooms are large, super clean and in a fabulous garden setting. The hotel is tastefully decorated throughout and the hospitality is first class. Our every wish was catered for, e.g. Super early breakfast and late dinner. I particularly enjoyed sitting in he rocking chair on the porch at night reading and admiring the beautiful orchids. Highly recommended! Cavalli family

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matjuan, Director General at Casa Gaia, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We appreciate your opninión and want to make clear that we are to give the best service to our guests. In our hotel we give the best personalized service possible. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Wonderful staff and a peaceful place to stay... The quietest hotel in Coban.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gaia

Address: 9a. Av. Final | Barrio San Jorge. Zona 10, Coban 16001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Coban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Coban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petit hotel with comfortable premium rooms and bar & restaurant service. You will have a relaxing break in contact with nature in our private nature reserve with extensive gardens and trails. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Gaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.