We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staffs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motive Cottage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motive Cottage Resort to your Saves list
Motive Cottage Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   26/16 Moo 5, Khuk Khak | Thakua pa, Takua Pa 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Get 10% OFF
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Takua Pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Staffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I fogot a hat and called back to ask staff return by parcel , they are very kind to ems it back. :) very thankful !!!
Room is clean and comfortable and shower is ok . Hotel nearby , there are many restaurant. about 20 mins to go Pier to Similan and Tachai Island.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Wow, what a great little boutique hotel with about 30 rooms. Our room was quite large with a beautiful day sitting area in the traditional Asian style. It was a little rough around the edges such as the concrete bathroom but it was individual and practical. The air-conditioning worked really well as did the internet connections / tv and the hot water was good. The bed was a little hard for us as older westerners but we were not uncomfortable. There is no room service and no mini bar but it really was a lovely room.

The only downfall was that our safe did not work!

The pool was clean and had little sitting areas, the staff were 5 star and provided great service from the moment we arrived. The breakfast was smaller and not as good as other hotels but you got to sit in an outdoor café setting which was quite beautiful. The cottages are in a great location being across the road from the night markets and it’s pretty easy to jump in a taxi into the main street area. The tsunami museum is about a 5 min walk from the cottages and the beach is about a 10 min walk. The front desk staff can give you a hand drawn map of the area with all the things to see and do – it was really excellent.

We got a local driver from Phuket to drive us up to Khao Lak – it cost 3000 thai baht. When we booked the local khao lak driver to take us back to phuket it only cost 1800 thai baht so shop around. Our driver from Khao Lak was Sak ph:0847449135.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool ( some of the rooms overlook the roof of the breakfast area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We stayed at this centrally located hotel, 2 mins walk from the local market which runs on Mon, Wed, Sat. The beach is approx 10/15 mins walk. The hotel staff and very friendly and helpful, rooms are large with AC and small balcony. This resort is just off the main road but you would never think this, noise level from the road is zero. The hotel has a pool and small kids pool, this could do with being cleaned our more often. My only negatives are the noise levels in the rooms, if you have load neighbours you will defiantly hear them, my other negative is the wifi, it's very slow and I'm sure a small investment could improve this. The shower is old and needs replacing. Overall a good stay for 1300TBH for room only.

Tip. A couple of meters away from the hotel is a local restaurant called bingo, fantastic food at super prices. Don't expect much from interior or exit or as its a shack with plastic chairs and tables but food is delicious.

Room Tip: As noise levels travel in these rooms I'd ask not to be put beside family's with young kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We spent a week in this hotel and we had a lovely time. The couple running the hotel are the nicest person we could met and they were very helpful also booking some activities for us. The rooms are very comfortable and nice. The breakfast is pretty nice, they use to make us pancakes even if there are not on the menu. The wi-fi connection was very good. The only thing I didn't like was that there was only one towel for person, I'd rather prefer to have two towels and no change of it every day (as the most part of hotel ask their guest to do).
The hotel is fifteen minute walk from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Rooms are really nice, comfortable and clean which makes you feel like at home. The staff was very friendly, and the owner always did his best to help. Break first was also good.
The only draw back is noise insulation, you can hear people in surroundng rooms.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

This hotel has a very small facade facing the main road, which made me expect a dull guesthouse based on a run-of-the-mill shophouse. But once I made it past the reception, I was surprised to find a pool and nice stylish architecture. The room was well equipped and I felt I got good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motive Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motive Cottage Resort

Address: 26/16 Moo 5, Khuk Khak | Thakua pa, Takua Pa 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Takua Pa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Takua Pa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motive Cottage Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motive Cottage Resort is decorated in motive oriental Thai style. It provides 29 elegant and comfortable rooms that include deluxe rooms and deluxe suite cottages. All rooms are fully furnished and facilitated with everything you would wish for on your happiness and relaxing day off. Even lying cozy, reading your favorite book, in your day bed, you can get in touch with natural peaceful scenery and glittering blue swimming pool view at a glaze from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Motive Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motive Cottage Resort Thailand/Takua Pa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motive Cottage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.