We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kohinoor Indian Food

Kohinoor Indian Food
26/22 Moo 7 Petchkasem Road, khao lak | La On Village, Khuek Khak, Takua Pa 82190, Thailand
083 636 1861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 31 Restaurants in Takua Pa
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza & Pasta
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Stay away!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst meal we had in the 3 weeks we were away. The comp popadoms were burnt so was my garlic nan. The food was not the best lacked spice n flavour. I love my curries, have travelled to India a few times & all around south East Asia. This is by far the worst meal I have had.
We had to walk past the restaurant to get in to town. They were also the most aggressive people trying to get you to go in. Rumor also is that they charge different from the initial menu. Much better places to go to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
derby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic family run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have travelled in India and much of Asia but I have to say that this was one of the best curries I have tried, the paneer jalfrezi was excellent! The family and staff at the restaurant are extremely welcoming and the service top notch, have eaten here twice in three days and can't wait to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subang jaya
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Halal Food Khao Lak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We ate a lunch at this halal restaurant. We were shocked to see them serve liquor and advertise halal. They assured us the meat was halal, so we ate there anyways. Anyhow, the food is average, the naan was adequate and the portion of chicken tikka was good. It lacked some flavor, however, we are spoiled in Malaysia with many authentic Pakistani restaurants. It is also more pricey than our local places, but on par with the other Khao Lak tourist catering restaurants. I maybe overly critical of the taste(3 stars). The presentation of the meal was good with a carved vegetable. They meal was also served with a watery chutney and a tasty tamarind sauce. They were extremely friendly and offered delivery. We were also happy to support a local halal restaurant (hence the 4 stars). The restaurant is a good distance from the Bang Niang bech strip (Ramada). The meal did not take long to arrive, a definite plus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Deciding on a change from Thai food, we visited Kohinoor Indian. The food was excellent and as my husband is vegetarian, there was a great choice for him also. Staff are really nice and my husband had a very long and unexpected conversation with the waiter regarding his t shirt and song lyrics! Recommend a visit!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We fancied a change from Thai food and was also getting very frustrated from the lack of spice in the Thai dishes (seem to really tone down levels for Europeans even when asking for spicy)..

At Kohinoor We were not disappointed! Two wonderfully spicy curries, good naan breads. We had a masala, not your normal creamy masala but a rich, spicy, thick sauce served with just a drizzle of cream - perfect! The Lamb khari was also spot on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohinoor Indian Food also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Kohinoor Indian Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohinoor Indian Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.