We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also called "treetop river huts"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Art's Riverview Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Takua Pa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Art's Riverview Jungle Lodge
Save
You added Art's Riverview Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
P.O. Box 28, Takuapa, Takua Pa 82110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Takua Pa B&B and Inns
Kbh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Also called "treetop river huts"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The room was good, with a small tv and bathroom, sorrunded by jungle. Noise at night as there is a bar area nearby. Hut was very nice. We stayed for one night in the Hut and took a 1 day trip where we slept in the jungle on floating huts. The trip was expensive and only okey at best. But we were looking for something diffrent.

It was a big Tour group with many people. "Please get into the shuttle bus" type trip. Our guide was rude and IN A HURRY!!!
They took us to a place where they wants us to buy flashlights for 400bath. It was a very expensive trip, so we assumed the we could borrow flashlights for the cave trip the next day. It was prob a place owned by his sister or something. That was the feeling we got. "Quick quick into the bus" and so we went to the jungle. We took the boat trip package. First our ADHD guide got us into boats and we had to pay for entrance to the national park. Should have been included.
Boat safari, which was ok, with anoying people singing Songs (we are not into tourgrup things but thought it was a small group trip.

We arrived at the place with floating huts and QUICKLY had to eat, so we could get on with the trip. Nice place tho with floating rafts and canoos. At this point we are starting to hate the Tour group. Cave trip was nice and so was jungle trekking. We saw a few monkeys and spiders ect. Beautiful national park.

If the trip had been half price, it would prob have been ok, but we didnt get out moneys worth. Cant really recomend. There was prob many much cheaper safaries in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    38
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was booked for us by our travel agent as part of our tour of Thailand and we had gone from 5* luxury two days earlier to 2* simplicity. We didn't have high expectations and because of this, we were pleasantly surprised by the charm of the place. The staff are a little surly but nothing we could really complain about.

The rooms (tree houses) are VERY basic with no AC, minimal furniture but have charming balconies, massive bathrooms, mozzie nets and clean sheets (hard beds but after 6 different hotels, this is nothing new in Thailand).

The food was fabulous with a very extensive menu, given the remoteness of the place and it was all very reasonable. The breakfast pancakes with either banana or pineapple were delicious and the cocktails were fabulous too!

The river was fairly low but we were able to swim in it and joined the local kids in swinging into the river from a rope! I was fairly dubious about the river being dirty but it was clean and nothing nasty seemed to be lurking! Wear shoes though as the rocks were slippery in places.

Get your washing done here - very cheap and back within a few hours.

The rooms did feel a little damp but with the high humidity and no AC, this is to be expected and my gosh, the jungle certainly does its best to keep you awake at night!!!

For its location, this was a magical place and the local monkey troupe were a delight - don't try and get too close but from afar, they completely ignored us and gave us about 30 minutes' of a photo opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Went for sunset drinks and dinner. Can't see much of the sunset but it's a nice location by the river. Cocktails are good and the food is nice. we had a variety of Thai dishes and all were tasty. The resort looks nice with bungalows located on the river side

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Simple it may be but this place is magical, tucked away on a bend in the river, deep in the forest. The river is great for swimming and laps around the restaurant area, making that a lovely spot to linger over your drinks. The rooms are very characterful, with traditional timber shutters and verandahs and mozzy nets. Its a little more expensive than some of the other bungalows but in our view really worth the extra - we moved on from a cheaper place and wished we'd found this one first.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoyed our stay, it was OK, but after reading all the reviews we expected a very nice place. The location is good and quiet but the bungalows are very simple. The sheets and the mosquito net were torn, the bathroom smelled a lot. The staff was reasonably friendly but it was all moving in the fast lane and getting good detailed information on booking a tour was difficult. For the amount of money one pays I think the deal is substandard. You can walk there too and swim in the river. They do have a nice restaurant location next to the river, we did not eat there though. Overall an OK stay but nothing special and expensive in comparison.

Room Tip: Ask for a top bungalow, below is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

On our tour through Thailand, this place was one to remember! After a very poor experience in a crappy resort at Kanchanaburi, we needed something to get the spirit up again.
Because of this we were a little hesitant to go but upon arrival it felt immediately good: very nice environment, a real jungle-feeling with a basic but very charming bungalow and -most important for us- an authentic feeling away from the crowds. The food was very good, the area is magnificent (incl elephant-ride), the nights unique and the swimming in the river was super. It is not a bling-bling place, just back to basics and that's what makes it so brilliant. Recommendable (at least when you can handle it).

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at arts for 2 nights as part of a pre-arranged tour and loved it. What a fantastic little jem hidden away in the most beautiful surroundings.
A little off the beaten track, but perfectly secluded and just what we needed to get away from it all.
The accommodation was basic, but clean. Electric fans in the rooms were the saving grace of the night as it got quite warm and stuffy. The bathroom was fab! an outdoorsy experience, with a (cold, but refreshing) waterfall style shower.
The walkways and surroundings are well kept and well lit on an evening. The main reception area and restaurant is well kitted out with a variety of seating, a well stocked bar and good food. Laundry facitlities and excursions can be arranged from the reception - we made the most of the opportunity and went tubing down the river, which was fab!
An amazing location, just wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art's Riverview Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art's Riverview Jungle Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 28, Takuapa, Takua Pa 82110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Takua Pa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Takua Pa
Number of rooms: 214
Also Known As:
Art`s Riverview Jungle Hotel Phang Nga
Arts Riverview Jungle Hotel
Art's Riverview Jungle Lodge Thailand/Takua Pa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art's Riverview Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.