We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and extremely rundown!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunset Village Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sunset Village Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Sunset Village Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   89/5 Soi Nachomtien 52 | Sattahip, Chonburi, Sattahip 20250, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sattahip
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced and extremely rundown!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Two of my friends and I booked and stayed in their 2 bedroom Cosy Garden villa (503 and 504). For the price of almost thb 8500 i had expected a proper suite with a living room but it turned out to be a connecting room similar to the other single units. This was after a 20% discount that was offered by the reservationist when I called so I guess this is what they offer everyone.

The villa was built mostly of wood which were decaying all over. Beds were terribly soft and bathrooms were simply filthy! The shower had any water pressure and we had to bathe under light trickling water. On the second day, the taps ran dry in the morning and we could not wash up until mid morning! The phones in the room were not working and we were told to use our mobile phone to call for service.

The restaurant staff were friendly but food again as overpriced as the room. We ordered 3 tiger prawns that turned out to be simply medium size shrimps and were charged THB 180 for eac prawn!

Upon check we compliant to the manager who took off THB 1000 from the room charge but even then we felt shortchanged and dissatisfied. I have been to overpriced properties but this is extreme and worst of all a bad experience. Never again will we return nor recommend this to anyone. For the price we paid we could chosen a 5 star hotel downtown which we did not consider as we had some dogs with us which they allowed on the resort at price of THB 500 per dog per night. Very disappointing and unacceptable!

Room Tip: Just do not stay here! SERIOUSLY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed there during a seminar.
Seminar facilities outstanding for a small group of up to 30 people.
Rooms very much OK although slightly expensive by Thai standards.
Food not bad although a bit dull - probably have to please many tastes.
Clean and well maintained

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

small resort , thai management.. friendly staff, foods & beverages average. many russian couples/families but quiet!
2 swimming pool , 2 children pool. perfect for family with children. beach very nice for this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed two nights on a business retreat. The resort's surroundings are peaceful and rustic.
The two bedroom cottage I stayed in was rather run down. Despite only having the basics, still had two good nights of sleep due to the tranquility.

Room Tip: Better with a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We booked a seaview beachfront 'beach superior' but we were placed in a bungalow next to the reception. It has a label 'beach superior' in front of the room but it doesn't fit the description posted and advertised by the resort. This is simply cheating!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

Really nice spot, right along a (private) beach away from busy Pattaya but close enough to get some shopping done if you like. Restaurant is right along the beach (great sunsets at dinner!) and so is 1 of the 2 pools. Garden around the bungalows is kept very nicely and staff is very helpful and friendly. Thumbs up for the dipping pool surrounded by garden, kids loved it.

What I didn´t like so much was that the shower area had no ceiling (you have to go through the bathroom, second door). In the daytime quite nice, but when you want to take a shower in the evening not so convenient because of mosquitoes. Bungalows are overall nice, but I think could do with a facelift in the near future.

There isn´t much in the direct vicinity, so when you go for dinner you usually eat here, but the restaurant serves nice dishes (I stuck to the Thai food though, not sure about Western food). Food is a little expensive when compared to other eateries in Pattaya or Jomtien. In some bungalows they allow dogs, so at weekends there are a handful of people from Bangkok with their pet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Great relaxed atmosphere. Staff great, food very nice and reasonably priced.
Lots of garden and lawn feels refreshing and beach has only guests using it and no salespeople. Pool beautiful and clean, bungalows nicely spread out and all are fairly close to the beach. Nice timber bungalows well maintained and cleaned.
Very quiet place. No shopping or nightlife within 15min taxi ride. The isolation is what we enjoyed most as Pattaya and Jomtien main beaches are chaotic, but if you want to go out , Pattya is about 30 mins in shutle bus (100 baht return but only 3 times a day- no night service) Taxi to town or back was 500 baht one way. One mini mart within walking isdistance good for stocking up on drinks and water. A couple of restaurants about 1 km along the beach (Sth?)were good too.
We arrived from Phuket at Pattaya local airport and shuttle bus was cheap 150 baht and took us to hotel. Coming or leaving bangkok airport is about 1and half hrs in taxi minimum about 1000 baht as is further than Pattaya town. Sunset village charge for taxi was too high 2700 baht which was the only negative I could find, They of course dont get a fare from a passenger to return from the airport, they come back empty as it is there own car and shuttle bus not a taxi service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sunset Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Village Beach Resort

Address: 89/5 Soi Nachomtien 52 | Sattahip, Chonburi, Sattahip 20250, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Sattahip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sattahip
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sattahip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunset Village Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sunset Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Village Beach Hotel Pattaya
Sunset Village Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunset Village Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.