We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe all the hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Save Saved
You added Ceylon Tea Trails to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   46/38 Nawam Mawatha | PO Box 5, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Luxury Honeymoon Escape
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hatton
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Believe all the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

When planning our honeymoon we knew from such great reviews on trip advisor that we wanted to visit the Tea Trails. From the moment we arrived we knew we had chosen wisely! We stayed at Summerville bungalow and the surroundings and decor were just stunning. There is an infinity pool at Summerville with views over the reservoir that will blow you away. We also visited Tienstin and Norwood, both of which were also lovely but Summerville seemed to have the edge for us. The service was just incredible, you will not find better. They cannot do enough for you and are friendly and they are so lovely you just won't want to leave them! Words wont do it justice but the food is so so so good, the chef is an absolute gem and will cook whatever you wish but please try whatever he recommends as you will not be disappointed. We went on the heavenly honeymoon package and highly recommend it. Just also to note, there are spa facilities so you can have treatments in your room, pure bliss! We also had a flower bath which was beautiful and so romantic with flowers picked from the bungalow gardens. Please believe every gushing word and go and visit this wonderful place yourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    539
    37
    8
    9
    0
See reviews for
96
398
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Without doubt the most memorable and amazing place we have ever stayed!

The attention to detail was incredible, the food amazing (and so much of it!), service spot on, tea fantastic and accommodation and views just breathtaking.

Do not miss out on this place - definately the highlight of our honeymoon trip!!!



Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

we enjoyed good time there, visiting 3 bungalows of Tea Trails - staying at Castlereagh, Norwood and visited Summervile for lunch. They are all lovely and each has its own character. Services are in general good and food are tasty. Be aware that there are leeches in the areas with grass, one of us got a bite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at Tientsin, which is a truly special place. The location is stunning, the staff delightfully attentive, food excellent and the villa itself lovingly restored and maintained. I would call it elegant, not "shabby chic" as referred to by another reviewer. If you want gadgets in the room, then dont come to this historic building, but to a modern hotel.
The place is very very quiet, but the whole family, including 12 and 14 year old children, wished we could have stayed longer. Bird watching, walks through the tea plantations, the pool, croquet and a visit to the tea factory kept us comfortably amused

Room Tip: We were given a huge room with huge sitting room - the best of the four rooms in the villa, but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Castlereagh - one of the four huge bungalows that make up Ceylon Tea Trails - for four nights in early May and have been struggling ever since to think how it could be improved.

The rooms are relatively simple but beautifully and elegantly decorated, as well as being very large. The food was exceptional and the service was unlike any that I have ever experienced before. Attentive without being intrusive, with a remarkable eye for tiny details that make a huge difference (high tea served when and where you want it, staff that materialise out of nowhere just when you need them but who melt away when you just want to relax, a library of beautiful books, and an open bar that doesn't seek to squeeze a few more dollars out of you - other Relais & Chateaux hotels take note).

The views from the garden of the lake and the tea plantations are stunning, and you can truly disappear from the rest of the world for your stay.

It is a tiny hotel - I think just five rooms - but at no stage did we feel claustrophobic. On one day we had the entire place to ourselves.

Book now and go before the secret gets out and the place is rammed for years in advance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for only two nights, whilst doing a motorcycle tour of Sri Lanka. It was difficult to find the location ourselves and the management immediately sent out their driver to come and find us, to lead us to the Castlereigh Bungalow. Arriving at 5pm, after an all day ride, we were served afternoon tea, over a fabulous setting looking out over the reservior and tea plantations. The chef discusses his proposals for each meal in advance, but will accommodate any changes you require. This hotel sets the bar for how service should be. There is a dinig room, tables outside on the verandah and one room for pre dinner drinks where all drinks are inclusive of your stay. There is also a sitting room, with a TV and magazines to keep you occupied of you need it. The hotel provide details of local walks and can arange in room massages and day trips as you require. The staff are fantastic and are eager to help you at all times. Morning tea is one of the traditions, where you let the staff know the previous evening what time you would like them to bring it in to you, bliss! All meals are several courses, and everything is inclusive, so you are thoroughly spoilt. I would recommend this place to anyone. The weather in August was perfect, although a little too cool to swim. Evenings are cool, so bring a few warm bits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur, malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Ceylon tea trails was an amazing experience and the highlight of our 10 day trip to Sri Lanka. We stayed at Castlereagh which had a lovely lake view although the waters were rather low this season. The grounds are beautiful and all well-tended . The outdoor pool may be small but you want to relax in it just to enjoy the tranquil view and greens.
I can't gush enough about the service .... gracious, elegant, discreet, attentive , classy and yet warm! All the staff and chef were top notch. Food was artfully prepared and delicious. (Although I did wish they had a variety of selections for tea).

Some of the extra lengths they went to : My husband sprained his knee at Sigiriya and had trouble on one of the trails. So, the next day I wanted to do a long trail on my own but Ajith the butler of Castlereagh arranged for a guide to accompany me so I would not be alone for the long trail . Also A small mix up in our bookings of the bungalow was handled very well ...I can say that the entire team at The Tea trails certainly have the pulse on the place.
The trip to the tea factory is a must-do as Andrew Taylor is most entertaining ....I will never look at a cup of tea the same way again. I thoroughly enjoyed the trails..the verdant rolling hills were serene and there were many lush trees in bloom ( I brought sweets for the children as many wanted their photo taken and also as little gifts for the tea pickers whose photos I took). One can also canoe to Summerville and have a meal there . One of our favorite places was the Warleigh Church (1800s) where the caretaker allowed us inside. We also lunched at Tientsin another beautiful bungalow. Each bungalow truly has its own character. In the evenings the chants of Buddhist monks reverbrate in the hills . I have so much to say about this place!. Yes the price was great ...in fact my husband and I normally are not indulgent on holiday trips.... but we had absolutely no regrets. It succeeded in being greater than the sum of its lovely parts . There is something magical about this place and it will stay in our hearts !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Address: 46/38 Nawam Mawatha | PO Box 5, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails comprises four luxurious colonial era tea planters bungalows connected by walking trails through stunningly beautiful Ceylon tea gardens. Each villa, built between 1890 and 1939, offers a taste of gracious living thanks to butler service & period furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. 20 exquisite rooms and suites in all. Tea Trails is Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including top shelf spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceylon Tea Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.