We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go to Sri Lanka, this is a must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Save Saved
You added Ceylon Tea Trails to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   46/38 Nawam Mawatha | PO Box 5, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Luxury Honeymoon Escape
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hatton
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you go to Sri Lanka, this is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Tea Country is absolutely spectacular and was the prettiest place I've ever been. And if you're going to go all the way there, then staying at Tea Trails is an absolute must. We spent four night at Tientsin and enjoyed every second of it. After the long and crazy roads to get there we liked being able to really unwind there. Breakfast tea (tea in bed!) was a highlight for sure. We did one day trip to Kandy from here (not really recommended), hiked Adam's Peak (very cool), spent a day at the house lounging and hiking the stunning trails (**MUST DO**) and one day one the very worth it factory tour. Although the all inclusive cost is not cheap, this is the best value you will find the world over for the level of service and the all-inclusive (all you can eat and drink) nature of the place. The staff is worth their weight in gold. The chef is extremely talented--his food Western and Sri Lankan was amazing. I blogged about our trip more extensively at www.hkhousewife.com and included LOTS of pictures there!!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    539
    37
    8
    9
    0
See reviews for
96
398
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have recently had three nights at the Summerville Bungalow and had a wonderful time. We travelled by train from Kandy to Hatton and must recommend, the scenery and view of Sri Lankan life is a worthwhile and fun experience. We arrived at Summerville to be greeted by Sanath and members of the team. Throughout our stay all of the staff were incredibly attentive without in our opinion being obtrusive. Sharma the chef delighted us everyday with very tasty and freshly prepared meals. We enjoyed his Sri Lankan curry so much we requested it again for another evening. We dined on the terrace over looking the lake for every meal and what a wonderful view, most memorable. We did a couple of the mapped walks and although we got lost, the scenery was quite amazing. An absolute must is taking a tea factory tour with Andrew Taylor, he is so informative and interesting he made us all tea experts. Staying at the Tea Trails is expensive but with no hidden costs we had no complaints. We were made to feel like the bungalow was our home, our rooms were lovely, the service was first class and the food excellent. Our stay at Tea Trails was most definitely the high light of our trip and the best experience we had in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perwez, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

It's so difficult to find the right words to describe Tea Trails and its Castlereagh bungalow... Everything was so excellent and exceptional. It belongs to the Relais & Chateaux circuit, and to the world Top Ten of the all-inclusive resorts (indeed, everything is included, even laundry!), but the service is so different than any other all-inclusive hotel: personalized, attentive, reserved. There are few locations in the world where the cooker comes every day to explain you what he plans to prepare and ask you if you like it. And indeed, the food was delicious. We will never forget our meals taken on the terrace, with the view over the beautiful surroundings (lake, mountains, gardens). We also enjoyed walking along the C2 trail, which allowed us discovering the tea fields, the workers, and the villages around. We were sad to leave this exceptional place and the high quality staff who give it a "soul".

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fran
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

[Note that there a few different bungalows here and this review is about a stay at Tientsin]

TeaTrails combines a fantastic property and a gorgeous area with extraordinary service. I stayed with my wife and we agreed that this was one of the nicest, most relaxing, and enjoyable stays we've had anywhere. The bungalow is only 4 rooms which allows the staff to be attentive. They are incredibly friendly and happy.

What we loved:
-the property feels very colonial. It's a beautiful throwback, surrounded by lush tea bushes.
-the staff is incredible. Cannot emphasize that enough.
-the food is great. They offer both sri lankan and western cuisine, both very tasty.
-day trips you can do from this property (Adam's peak, Kandy, hiking the tea trails, etc.)
-the tea factory tour offered to all the properties is entertaining and informative. Andrew does a great job.

Slight drawbacks:
-Our room only had a bath, no shower
-Tientsin is a bit hard to get to...the other properties might be a bit more accessible
-That's it....nothing else to complain about

Room Tip: Ask if it has a shower when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Congratulations to all previous posters who have capture the essence of these beautiful properties. I need not add any further comments to help you choose this beautiful area and Ceylon Tea Trails, except to tell you how we arrived and departed the area.... Our group of 7 caught a train from Kandy to Hatton, changed to our road transport which had our bags, then motored to Tientsin.( motoring is the gentile word for 'your life is in your driver's hands') One night Tientsin,then walked to walked to Norwood for one night and experienced the wonderful Andrew Taylor's factory tour that day , walked to Castlereagh the next day and stayed one night there. We also were rowed over to Summerville for high tea in the afternoon we arrived at Castlereagh. So lovely to experience all bungalows and 3 nights was perfect especially for being able to walk off the glorious food! We were planning to get a sea plane to Galle however due to the resevoir being so low at the time that was a no go. Hmm... great disappointment with an arduous 7 hour drive to be faced, however our guide extrodinaire, Nathan Wedding of Seven Skies Travel organized a helicopter from Colombo for the trip!

Yes - a total splurge AND pricey but a life time memory of being whisked over the jungles and surrounding mountains, doing a loop over the old Forte and harbour and landing within. It was a relatively day before decision and probably not what we would have pre-booked due to the cost but I can't recommend it enough - the extra time in Galle and less bone shattering time on accident prone roads made our decision easy. (we didnt dwell on the dangers of choppers but the company was as professional as I've seen anywhere in the world)
Janice

Room Tip: All rooms are as gorgeous as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

It has all been said before that this is a fabulous place to stay. We stayed in Castlereagh at the beginning of our trip to Sri Lanka and it was the most fantastic start. Just as previous reviews say, you cannot fault this place and if you do then I am sure they would rectify it immediately!! Only negative is that nothingelse in Sri Lanka came anywhere near our stay in Tea Trails!
I also think it is an absolute bargain and hope no one is put off by all inclusive as this is the top end of luxury.
Thanks again to all the staff who make everyone feel that they are so special.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jamison but am sure all are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Norwood Bungalows, which was absulutely lovely. The bungalow was built in 1939 overlooking the wonderful tea lands and is a very remote and peaceful place. The staff was excellent, the food an absolute delight. The rooms are beautifully decorated and seem nearly unchanged in decor since they were built- yet added some 21st century comfort. We especially enjoyed the wide paths through the tea lands which you can wander along peacefully, as well as the visit in the tea factory which made us some nearly-experts in tea culture! The stay is costly, no question, but it is all included, 4 meals a day, wine, spirits, soft drinks, visit to the tea factory... It was an excellent experience, to be repeated!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Address: 46/38 Nawam Mawatha | PO Box 5, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails comprises four luxurious colonial era tea planters bungalows connected by walking trails through stunningly beautiful Ceylon tea gardens. Each villa, built between 1890 and 1939, offers a taste of gracious living thanks to butler service & period furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. 20 exquisite rooms and suites in all. Tea Trails is Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including top shelf spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceylon Tea Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.