We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful safari experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala to your Saves list
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
Yala National Park,, Yala National Park 90714, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Wonderful safari experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first time on safari and we were unsure what to expect. We booked the Mahoora Classic Plus for 2 nights through TripAdvisor / Agoda and I was a bit concerned as the packages on Agoda do not match with those on the Mahoora website. This was quite expensive but was all inclusive including all accommodation, food and drink, personal jeep, driver and guide. We were met just outside Kataragama by the jeep and our guide Saranga and taken to the camp site. The camp site itself is located just outside the Katagawuma Sanctuary. It takes about 20 minutes to drive to the Park entrance. The campsite is set up around a man made watering hole and each tent is secluded within its own area. The tents were quite comfortable with a fan, ensuite toilet and shower facility so you could freshen up after each trip. We shared our tent with a squirrel, a mouse and a family of frogs.
There are numerous dining tents which are used for breakfast and lunch. The dinners were grand affairs under the stars with flaming torches and a camp fire, seated at individual tables with linen table clothes, napkins and personal waiters. The dinners consisted of four or five courses and all the food was excellently cooked. The staff were very attentive and the camp manager was always on hand with ice cold towels and cool drinks when we returned from safaris and a member of staff was on hand to guide us back to our tents after each outing or meal.
We had four safaris starting after lunch on the first day. Saranga was a very informative guide and stopped the jeep to point out animals and birds throughout the park. We saw a huge amount of wildlife on each of our four drives – elephants, monkeys, wild boar, mongoose, deer, crocodiles, huge variety of birds (eagles, herons, hornbills, peacocks, bee eaters to name a few). We even managed to see a leopard (at some distance) and a very rare (nocturnal) mouse deer.
We started our morning drives at 515am in order to get to the park (we saw a lot of wildlife on the track to the park entrance too) as soon as it opened (6am) and hopefully see a leopard at close quarters. Unfortunately, we did not see a leopard at close quarters but it didn’t matter. The experience was still unique and highly recommended.
On both of our morning drives we took a packed breakfast in order to stay in the park for longer. We stopped at the river on the first day and the beach on the second. The beach area is very beautiful and the remains of the bungalow devastated by the tsunami are still visible. Our guide also seemed to instinctively know when we needed a break and carried a coolbox of drinks and snacks to keep us going.
Whilst we were at the park there were only a handful of leopard sightings – the jeeps from the various operators communicated with each other on the sightings and we had several close encounters (fresh tracks, animal alarm calls) and this reinforced that even though we were in one of the world's densest leopard populations, the leopard is exceedingly elusive. This only added to the experience however and we still had a fantastic time.
For people considering the safaris, you should be aware that the tracks are pretty rough. If you suffer from travel sickness or have a bad back, you will struggle. Our morning safaris would last from 5.15am to 10.30 or 11am so you will be in the jeep for at least 4 or 5 hours. Aside from the two stops mentioned above, there is nowhere in the park to get out of the jeep and no toilet stops.
For most people, one day (or half day) will probably be enough. However, if you are a nature lover or enjoy the outdoors, wildlife or bird watching, this is a great way to see the National Park and some great wildlife close up. We would highly recommend Mahoora for a unique safari experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review, 1 week ago
we are indeed delighted to see such a descriptive and a lengthy review. We have taken note of all aspects that you have mentioned and truly believe that the details will certainly help future travelers. Your appreciation for our naturalist and the Manager and the services are noted .
Thank you very much for spending your valuable time to provide this informative review. Do visit us again in your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    33
    6
    9
    7
See reviews for
61
98
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Mahoora for 2 nights and had a fantastic time! From the moment you arrive (to cool towels and welcome drinks!) the timetable is pretty full on! We were offered 4 safaris over 3 days - one when we arrived, two the following day and an early safari before we left - but we loved the sounds and sights of the camp so much that we decided to opt out of the afternoon safari. Instead, the manager invited us on a nature walk and we learnt so much! Plus it was a great opportunity to get to know a bit more about the area and the animals. The food is outstanding and the setting for dinner is idyllic; candlelit dining under the stars. The staff are friendly and will do anything for you, although that being said, the guide we had on each safari could have been a bit more informative. He answered all our questions but we felt there was much more to learn from our expert. Also, you probably wouldn't want to go on the safari if you suffer from a bad back; 5 hours on a bumpy track can leave you a little uncomfortable. However, we did not let that ruin our experience and, on the whole, we would recommend this trip to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the slightly larger room for no other reason but to keep our bags off the floor - there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are delighted to see your review and taken note of all the details. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed almost all aspects of your stay . Thank you for taking time to write the review. We hope you would be back in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights in mid March at the camp and it was absolutely stunning!

The team is very polite, friendly and very well organized! They surprise you very minute with some small delights and are willing to help in every situation! Food was fantastic and served with excellent manners!

A big THANK YOU to our fantastic Naturalist Saranga which created with so much passion a memorable wildlife experience for us! He is brilliant and knows really everything about the animals!

All in all it is a once in a lifetime experience nobody should miss out!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are delighted to see your review and mostly to know that you and a great stay with us at Mahoora Yala. Your appreciation for our service and naturalists is valuable and we will certainly pass the same down to our staff, Thank you once again, we hope to see you back at Mahoora in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I went for 1 night in early March as a solo traveller having booked directly. I arrived early at the meeting point and a jeep was immediately sent to pick me up.
The tent had everything one could want. The food was substantial and the evening meal around a fire a delight.
The team there are brilliant -with great management and the right amount of interaction.
The safaris were a wonderful experience and definitely worth doing 2 rather than 1 and I saw everything I hoped I would and learnt a lot about Sri Lankan wildlife.
It's not a cheap option but definitely at least a once in a lifetime experience and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Thank you very much for the detailed review. We are glad that you had a great stay. Your comments are well worthy as we understand that our service has met your expectations.
We hope you will patronize Mahoora if and when you travel back to Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

My first time to Sri Lanka and what can i say "what a lovely country" ! And Mahoora was a dream setting in the wilderness of YALA. Three of us were picked up on time from Colombo international airport by Daral. Reached the camp at 7Am .
Nanda and Udaya received us at the camp with a smile and a warm welcome. The next four days we were treated to excellent service and behaviour from all the staff. The safaris were well organised and we had Udaya the Naturalist accompany us on all safaris.
The food was at all times fresh and tasty. On our last meal we were treated to some awesome seafood on our request.
The only little hitch were the tents , Needed a little upkeep or a better design.
Other wise a wonderful four days at Mahoora Yala.

Room Tip: Tents away from the dinning area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Thank you very much for the detailed review and taking time to write and post, We noted all the positive comments you have given on staff, foofd and service. Your comments on accommodation is taken as feedback for improvement and we thank you for the same. At present we are in the process of upgrading and very soon we will have newer tented accommodation units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

Initially booked through trip advisor which set up the wrong link to wilipatu national park rather than the Yala national park. Had already paid. Called up and was put onto Yala safari with no problems! Had a great time on safari saw 3 leopards, 2 elephants and many other animals. The camp site was very comfortable and the staff were more than willing to help with anything. Food was delicious and all in all had a great time. Many thanks to such lovely staff!

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
We are delighted to see your review and to know that you had an awesome experience. Your special comments on staff is noted and much appreciated.
Thank you once again, we hope you will revist us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Our experience didn't start as smoothly as we hoped. Our meeting place was by the side of the road in a place which is not well known. We had asked several local people and they didn't know where we meant. Then the team were very late to meet us. If we'd been in a coffee shop then it would've been fine but waiting by the side of the road in the midday sun with our bags, having to make phonecalls to the company was not the best way to start.
The rest of the experience was fantastic. The staff took excellent care of us, the food was fantastic, the drives were great and our driver was very knowledgeable. We were lucky enough to see leopards but we were quite far away which couldn't be helped as there were so many jeeps with people trying to get a view!
We saw an abundance of wildlife and had a lovely experience too - I recommend this if you're in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Thank you for the review. We are happy to see that your stay has been great. We sincerely apologize for the delay in pick up , however glad we managed to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala

Address: Yala National Park,, Yala National Park 90714, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Yala National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahoora is a holistic experience from your arrival to the departure focused on living in the wild and wildlife viewing and not just an accommodation option only.All the Safaris are included in the price. Mahoora safaris include high quality Safari Jeep / all the entrance and permit fees, sumptuous picnic basket and an unlimited supply of chilled beverages and a Mahoora Naturalist to ensure the best animal sightings and interpretations. All of Mahoora elite tents are set-up just prior to your arrival, and are moved out after your departure, thereby minimizing impact on the environment. This "Pack in and Pack out" aspect combined with all other green initiatives; guarantee to make your stay with Mahoora the one of the most environmentally friendly accommodation in Sri Lanka.Mahoora is an all inclusive stay and Tea / coffee, Tropical Fresh Fruit Juices, Beer & Spirits, Wine, and Snacks all are included in to the price. Mahoora's Fine Dining Executive Chefs will prepare tantalizing meals to suit your personal tastes, whilst adding in a few culinary surprises. This is just one aspect of the unique Mahoora adventure which keeps clients returning to the wild, time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahoora Luxury Tented Safari Camp Yala Hotel Yala National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.