We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Weligama Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Weligama Bay Resort to your Saves list
Weligama Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“horrible management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Expensive, bad quality of food, unceremonious attitude from staff and manager. Service is awfull. We were robbed by staff when we slept after airplane. Manager is angry woman, which accused us , that we allow to stay our friends for evening drink in hotel restaurant. Also she imagined, that we allow to our friends to stay for the night. She is totally crazy! Sandy fly are everywere and bite very painfully and no one told us about it. You can't sit on the sand, because you will have 10-15 bites, which very itchy a week!! But for good, its near surf spot, very nice for surfing if you are begginer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina P, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and your stay in our property.
Regarding your comments, let me explain you following:
- you have informed our staff you lost 300 USD, which you did not put to the hotel safe, I have talked to you personally, asked my staff and offered you to call local police to solve the problem, which you did not agreed with and you did not wanted to solve this case.
Regarding your friends stay here in our property, as we are small property, we are looking after every client to avoid problems. After you informed us about the money robbery from your room and after I have seen your friends every day coming to your room and using all facilities, I have been kindly asking not to allow the people to enter your room, only in public area to prevent such a situation, again you did not agree with me and you were trying to argue with me.
Srilanka is a tropical country with a lot of insects, which for the European people is unfortunately unacceptable, but is it only nature.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    43
    21
    15
    5
See reviews for
49
76
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Poor first impressions. 2 mins prior to arriving we had seen 2 'superior' rooms were available online but decided to book at reception when we arrived. However the staff tried to convince us only the most expensive rooms were available. The wifi was so poor that we could not even go online to show them the price we had seen!! The wifi was very poor throughout our stay. After much perseverance they agreed to the rate we had seen online......providing us with a room at a 'discounted' rate with no fan, directly beside a construction sight!rooms were nice, dinner at the resturant was very nice, breakfast was very very poor. I can't review the spa as I booked a massage but the therapist went home before my appointment. I would not recommend this hotel, poor value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A good place to surf and have diner near the beach; The rooms are very nice and the staff at the lobby very friendly. a good restaurant with all types of food and just near the beach. A nice small swimming pool.
Just nearby, they build a Marriotts, so it can be noisy and we hope it wont affect this hotel. you can rent surf and boards, but the material is not in a good shape.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights there. The villa was perfect and the bathroom was huge. I would add that the reception and swimming pool staff were really kind. In the restaurant, sometimes you have to double check your bills. Nevertheless, I found the price for value really high for an hotel just closed to main road with quite a lot of traffic and the construction of the new hotel bring a lot of noise during the whole day. If you have to pay 250 $/ night in such kind of hotel, you would like to spend your time in a place where you could rest. Location was excellent and you have a beautiful beach in front of your hotel. Wifi worked only in the restaurant and at the reception. The restaurant was good but you don't have a large choice as in others and the asked 50 $ per person for the new year's dinner which was a robbery for rice and curry and some kind of fish and some shrimps. At a lower price you can eat rock lobster and a sea-food platter in a lot of restaurants not far from the hotel.

Room Tip: Chalet are excellent but quite expensive. You can find hotels in Mirissa for a better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina P, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear client,
thank you for your review about our property on Tripadvisor and thank you for your visit in our property.
Just a few words regarding your complaint towards the NYE menu - our hotel provided this year large variety of buffet incl. all kind of salads, soups, meat, fish, hot buffet, desserts corner etc., no rice and curry has been provided into the menu, so far I can remember, you have not participate our NYE evening incl. DJ s program and midnight firework. All our clients has been very happy and enjoyed the evening and food and drinks with us. The rate of 50 USD includes all facilities taken during the evening incl. welcome drink - champagne.
The construction close to our property is the Srilanka Government activity to improve the Srilankan Tourism, conc. they are building Marriott Hotel which our hotel has nothing to do with.
Hope this explain all your comments.
Thank you and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed at Weligama bay Resort for 5 nights at the beginning of our Sri Lanka holiday. Weligama is still untouched in many ways and this suits us fine. Great Beach for beginner and more experienced surfers as there are sand bottom all along the beach. The staff has been helpful in every way, even though the cook could do better. They have an arrangement with a regular tuk tuk driver who even acted as a guide with reasonable good english when we created our own tour including the tea plantation, Galle Fort and the sea turtle hatchery. All together a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent 5 nights here after our tour of the island and stayed in a Garden Villa. The room was massive with loads of storage space and had a large bathroom with a semi-outdoor shower which I loved! The bed was comfortable and each day was scattered in fresh flower petals.

The staff were fabulous and absolutely nothing was too much trouble - even bringing a dish of prepared aloe to soothe our sunburn (self-inflicted by sitting in the pool drinking beer for far too long!). The pool was one of the biggest we had experienced on our tour and would have been perfect for laps had we brought our goggles with us.

The hotel was excellently placed for whale watching from Mirissa, the town of Weligama just 5 minutes away by tuc tuc and the train station not far away for trips to Galle.

As the hotel was full to capacity for 4 of the 5 days, breakfast was a buffet and was very extensive with western food and some sri lankan goodies too - loved the banana cake. Even on our last morning, breakfast was a la carte and we had a choice of three or four different breakfasts to choose from.

Others have complained that the food was expensive. Yes, you can eat much cheaper in Sri Lanka but to have a great ocean view with good ambience, extensive selection of food and no plastic tablecloths, we found the price of the food very reasonable.

The beach is beautiful but the sea off Weligama is best for surfing or learning to surf, although it was very calm at times for swimming. There are little coves nearby or more sheltered areas of beach which are perfect for swimming.

Yes, there is a hotel being built next door and we did experience some disturbance from it but Katerina and her staff (and Dasha the Hotel Dog) were so wonderful that we were able to forgive this noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned from my 2-week vacation spent in this hotel. It was a great time and I am so glad we chose this place to stay. Before we went I read something about the construction going on just next door and was a bit worried, but it turned out to be OK - the noises never disturbed us, and the site is actually to the side of the hotel so it does not spoil the view by any means.
The hotel stands right on the ocean, so you can have breakfast enjoying the magnificent view and sea breaze. We were staying in a villa which was just perfect - huge bathroom with a hot water shower and a bathtube, nice clean room with lots of space, two separate wardrobes which we liked so much as we are two girls with lots of clothing :) The big advantage is that Wi-Fi internet is available all over the hotel territory - in the room, at the pool, at the restaurant, everywhere - so we could share the sea view with our frinds on Skype :)
The staff was so friendly, everybody welcoming you all the time! Special thanks to Katerina who was so helpful with just everything. We also enjoyed some massage spa treatments which were just amazing, you'd stay relaxed for another couple of days and at such a good price. Don't miss this opportunity. I will defenitely recommed this place to anyone for premium-class service and great ocean location. Would love to come again some time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weligama Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.