We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weligama Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Weligama Bay Resort to your Saves list
Weligama Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Weligama
Certificate of Excellence 2014
tel-aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a great hotel, it is located at the best beach in Sri-Lanka, food was excellent and the rooms’ standard is very high.
The Hotel was fully booked but you could not feel it.
All of these thing can be seen in other hotel what make this one special is the staff. They were very helpful (which is not typical to Sri-Lanka), our driver ran away leaving us in the middle of nowhere and the staff helped us in finding a new driver and shown a real desire to make us feel at home.
So my verdict is: don’t miss it!!! it has the best location, really nice staff, food and rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    43
    21
    15
    5
See reviews for
49
76
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

To be fair, this hotel is fine for a three star and if they charged a quarter of the prices.
Where do I start...? The staff:
I found the staff to be little too friendly and unprofessional, constantly asking the guests questions about where they are from what they do etc...

The food was poor for the prices charged. I ordered a salad nicoise and was surprised that is was the same price as Paris. The portion was too small(more like an entree) and they did not put any bread on the table.
Breakfast consisted of a good selection of the traditional curries but there were no nice breads just white sliced cheap bread found on the market. At over €200 per room they could have went to he local bakery and bought some croissants....

The rooms were fine but no means luxurious.

The hotel grounds are very small. There is not much more to it that what you see in the photos. The path to the pool. This has blue lights at night time -Wow!
The pool is beside the bar and restaurant, it is very small and can get over crowded.

Overall it was not good value for money.

PS it is very noisy as there is a construction site next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far as possible from the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

After a long trip around the Sri Lanka we came to Weligama Bay Resort. We had very pleasant time in the Hotel thanks to the General Manager Katerina and the kindness of whole staff. The Hotel and the whole resort were very clean, the food was good, especially fresh fish and sea food on grill. It is a wonderful place for the quiet holidays, complete relax, long hours on the almost empty beach and long walks along the ocean. Excellent place for families with small children. I certainly recommend this resort.
Eva U.B.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the weligama bay resort to unwind after a hectic and stressful business trip, to say I unwound was an understatement Katerina and all her staff made me feel so welcome the food was fantastic and the spa was great value for money, the pool was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. This was just what I needed to relax after 2 stressful weeks. I enjoyed my time so much that I wish I could of stayed longer as I couldn't I booked for two weeks in July to come here with my wife and 3 young children as having witnessed how the staff were with the other kids here I am pretty sure my kids would love it here. To be asked if I would recommend this hotel to other people I would have to say I most certainly would once again thank you Katerina and all of your staff see you all in July.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Judging by the previous reviews on tripadvisor we expected a nice boutique property or at least a 5***** hotel considering the price they had quoted. We were quite disappointed to find this is a run of the mill 4* property. There is not much wrong in the hotel, meaning the rooms were large by European standards, the toilets were alright, the staff were nice, the food is decent, the spa was the usual, the DVD player worked etc. However, this alone does not make it boutique. We expected a far more intimate place and just concrete and furniture.

In Sri Lanka the boutique hotels and the genuine 5* properties offer much more. The personalized service. Customized food made to your taste and convenience. Feather pillows and large sink in mattresses. Individual bath tubs with jaccuzi or plunge pools with jets. Large gardens and hideouts. These were all missing in this hotel. It would not be fair to mention other places within this review but if you see places in Hatton, Galle, Yala, Sigiriya, Habarana, Bentota, Nuwaraeliya or Kandy, I am sure you will find them.

Therefore although there was nothing really wrong with this hotel I would rate it an ordinary 4* which then means there was no real value for money.

Room Tip: Do not take any rooms within the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We travelled 3 weeks through Sri Lanka as a family. We stayed 2 nights at Weligama and looked for the best hotel in internet. We choose the Bay Resort.

The hotel is relatively new and the quality of the bungalows is great. We booked 2 bungalows, each for 250$/night. The rooms and bathrooms are big, and everything was perfect. The only problem is the price. When we compare with prices of the Cinamond in Colombo, we get much less quality for 30% more price. If we compare with the hotel Safary at Tessa, we get a bit less or same quality for 130% more price.

The setting along the beach is great. The sea in Weligama is good for surfing, with nice regular waves and not dangerous. Weligama itself is nothing special, as a village. The main road runs with all the trafic just behind the hotels, but there is enough distance to the bungalows so that you do not hear the trafic. But it is not practical to walk around, as the trafic makes any walk pretty dangerous.... I could not imagine walking with small childs along the road...

Also what we did not like at this hotel is:

a) the restaurant: Food is not tasty with poor service. Actually when we looked at the poor self serving menu and waited for too long to get drinks, and after I looked in the kitchen and have seen the mess (dirty plates piled up on the ground in many places, dirty..) we just walked out and went with a tuk-tuk to a nearby restaurant 1 km away along the road (was cheap and good, with an open kitchen, but do not remember the name). Also the breakfast was nothing special. Also what is annoying is that the terrace of the restaurant is on one side beautiful, with nice view on the sea, but it is too small, and far from enough tables for all guests...also it is the same restaurant during the day for people on the beach or swimming pool, so the wooden chairs and tables are all "greecy" from hundreds of sun creams....a "turn off" if you come in evening well dressed and want to eat ...

The service was poor, just because it was understaffed...

b) When we were on the beach, we got beaten by sun-flies, we took refuge at pool...but they were also there...and had to go back to terrace of bungalow for reading without getting "eaten up". Sun-flies bites are in my view 3x worse than moskitos...there were some in Bentota too, but a lot in Weligama.

We would not go to this hotel again, mainly due to restaurant and if they can not kill the sun-flies, would not stop at all in Weligama, unless just to surf and get away after taking a few pictures..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed here for four nights as part of a tour as we couldn't get a guesthouse or hotel in Marissa. The hotel was clean and had good facilities although I would say over priced for what is on offer. Watch for additional taxes not included in the price quoted.

Location is good with views of the sea and the hotel leads straight on to the beach. Cleverly the restaurant and bar are at the bottom of the path right by the beach, pool and views. Only problem with this is there are lots of savaging crows and flies. The beach was great for surfing and cleaner than some might lead you to believe. This meant it was great for swimming and sun bathing.

Staff are very friendly and food quality is good. Unfortunately limited choice for vegetarians. A little pricey.

Room was very clean and great shower. A few things to address as they use two single duvets which is a bit odd and frustrating for a double bed. The sockets are not the asme as those used in the rest of the country although when asked a converter was provided. Really nice balcony areas for the rooms in the main hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weligama Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weligama Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.