We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Mount Cinnamon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirissa Hills - Unique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mirissa Hills - Unique Resort to your Saves list
Mirissa Hills - Unique Resort
Henwella Road | Henwalle, Mirissa, Weligama, Matara 0094, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Weligama
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent Mount Cinnamon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you are craving solitude, away from the madding crowd, with breathtaking scenery, 360deg views, cool ocean breezes, attentive staff to cater to your every whim, then this modern, architecturally-designed and stylish resort will tick all the boxes. Perched atop Mount Cinnamon, you will feel completely isolated from the world but, to ensure that you don’t get too lonely, the gentle sounds of the villages below waft up the hillside to remind you that the outside world is not too far away. The wonderful staff will effortlessly ensure your tummy is always full of mouth-watering local delicacies and that you need for nothing, whilst the resident family dog and monkeys will greet you warmly each morning. Enjoy the swimming pool, laze around the lovely gardens or go for an energetic walk down the hill to the museum and villages below.
Thank you to the wonderful Mirissa Hills staff for their hospitality and kindness.

Room Tip: All rooms on Mount Cinnamon are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    0
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently stayed at Mirissa Hills with a group of friends.

On the positive side the rooms were clean, the location was stunning, the service and the food were amazing.

Unfortunately there were a few issues that soured my stay; my shower did not work, the rooms air condition was not working and I had a 6" centipede crawl up my leg in my room (can be dangerous).

Obviously there is limited control regarding the centipede, however there is simply no excuse for the shower and the air conditioner not functioning. Particularly given that it is not the cheapest place! My party, nor I were informed about the issues with the room and we were not even offered a discount to mitigate the issue.

The problems in the rooms were not limited to me. While my shower and AC were the worst, my friends had similar problems with their showers (just a stream of drops).

Thankfully we had the option to use other friends rooms, not sure how I would have handled it otherwise.

I'm sorry for the poor rating, but these are basic things that should have been addressed - a shower is a very basic necessity and if you advertise/charge for air-conditioning, please make sure it works (all pictures attached).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Mirissa Hills is 5-10 mins off the coastal road and entails a short drive over a train crossing, alongside paddy fields, up a bumpy road and through a tea plantation to where the hotel is nestled on a cool sea breeze hill, with views out over the Indian Ocean and surrounding countryside.

The location is exactly where you would have expected the former Portugese colonialists to have settled and definitely presents itself with old world charm in keeping with other coastal boutique hotles in the South East Asia region like Macau's Poussada de Sao Taigo. The reality is that the hotel was built around 2005 and has therefore been beatifully appointed and designed with no expense spared with even well established frangipani trees and banyans planted on the grounds.

We did not stay at the hotel but went for lunch and the manager kindly showed us 2 of the rooms that they had vacant - the first being a suite with a grand master room, study and en suite bathroom, the second room was a bit smaller but as equally well appointed.

We had visited Mirissa Hills the year before with family friends for lunch and once again recieved the same friendly welcome and were served a fantastic curry lunch. The staff make the curries from scratch so be prepared to sit back with a cold Lion Beer, G&T or glass of wine and relax before lunch is served. The kids in the meantime were happy to explore the grounds, art gallery and splash by the pool.

We will be back again soon and next time to definitely stay over for a night or two as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If staying atop of a working cinnamon plantation with fabulous views of Mirissa Beach, service so warm and slick that you forget you ever had to make your own breakfast and where the only decision you have to make is what to have for lunch and whether or not to take a swim in the deep blue pool, then Mirissa Hills is like the home you've always dreamed of having but better.

The house itself is quietly amazing. Designed so that you look out of it, it changes with the light throughout the day and makes you question why you'd ever want to leave or go anywhere else. From the art to the sofas and the soap dispensers, everything has been designed and chosen with the most impeccable yet understated taste. It feels like home minus any mess or clutter.

Thilak and his staff fall over themselves to look after you without being in your face. The food is the best we had in Sri Lanka and the chef will teach you how to make anything you like on his menu. The pumpkin curry, Sri Lankan breakfast and cinnamon ice cream were all highlights.

Rooms are just as lush so rest assured, you will sleep sound and comfy every night.

Thilak's tour of the cinnamon plantation is brilliant. Self taught, what eh does not know about this spice is not worth knowing. He was also great at sorting out whale watching, taxis to town and anything else we needed.

We went down to Mirissa one evening for dinner but to be honest, I couldn't wait to get back to Mirissa Hills. The food, the quiet and the effortless luxury is hard to beat. We had the place to ourselves and it was wonderful.

So leave behind the noisy roads, the busy beaches and follow the rocky track up to the top of Mount Cinnamon for some truly exceptional Sri Lankan hospitality.

Room Tip: The annexe is gorgeous so if your budget can't stretch to the main house, ask for a room here an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

There's something special about this place. Yes, it's a ride away from the beach, and yes it's up a very bumpy mountain road. But once you get to the top it's well worth it. The design, the quality of the fittings, the furniture, even the crockery is all top stuff. It breathes quality. It has an air and an atmosphere about it as you look out from the top of the hill to the sea on the horizon, and the farmers going about their business in the surrounding fields. A couple of purple face monkeys thump their way across the corrugated roof but that all adds to it. It's peaceful and relaxing, and the whale watching place is just a short ride away.

The food is GREAT, particularly the vegetarian dishes, and the service is efficient and courteous - not too OTT. The owner has a unique taste in art - and if you like quirky stuff (and I do) then there's a lot to look at with some great sculptures around the place. There's a lovely dog called Lou Lou too. It's very open plan, really like something you would see in a magazine.

There are two levels to it - the top house is more expensive but if you stay there you are guaranteed the use of the pool and the top garden - and to have dinner on the veranda with the ocean in the distance. If you stay in the cheaper museum rooms (like we did) - literally 90 seconds down the hill from the house - then you are not guaranteed use of the upper pool and gardens. It all depends if the upper house has been booked out by one party exclusively - so there is a little bit of a gamble. You can ask at the time you book but if the upper house has no reservations, and so could still be booked by one party as opposed to several separate guests, then there are no guarantees.

We were lucky - we did book the cheaper museum rooms (which were very nice anyway, just not as nice as the upper house) AND there were only a couple of single room bookings at the main house so we could freely use the pool and upper area. But if, like some other reviews on here, we had booked the museum rooms and not had access to the upper house and pool - then it wouldn't have been nearly as good and we would have had to take a tuk tuk to the beach. I'm sure it would have been okay but it would have changed the nature of our experience. Generally this place is quiet - which is what makes it so special. The second night we were the only guests there.

Some other reviews have commented that the museum section on the lower bit isn't finished - and it isn't. But there aren't cement mixers and builders around - and from the outside you would never know. The only time you would notice it is if you were to use the upstairs seated/restaurant area - in which case yes, you walk briefly through au unfinished room with first fix electrical wiring. But hey, it's no great hardship and it doesn't spoil anything.

The big thing thing is access to the upper house. Also worth noting that if you are travelling with a driver (and we were) then they have no driver accommodation so that needs to be sorted separately.

Room Tip: Try and get an assurance about use of the pool and upper house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Mirissa Hills provides a unique ambience and a great view from the villa and upper restaurant, especially at sunset. The vegetable curries were by far the best local food we had in Sri Lanka and the service is really amazing!
It is certainly the wrong place if you want to be close to the beach and village, but it is a paradise if you search for a silent relaxed place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Mirissa Hills is placed on top of a hill and away from the beach just past Weligama town.

If you are trying to go here for the beach you will not be happy. Its more a quiet relaxing location. The road to get to it is not easy as you go through a cinnamon estate and you have to climb up a steel hill. The road is only about a KM or two but its a tough drive up and down the hill. This adds to the atmosphere though and it was nice being on a 65 acre cinnamon estate.

The location is stunning though and the view is incredible.

The bungalow has 4 room and is very comfortable.

The food was alright but nothing special in my opinion. (Bit overpriced and could have tasted better).

I would recommend this place though to anyone and will certainly revisit.

Staff are great as well.

Room Tip: ask for the second room on the right. its the biggest room there and has its own living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirissa Hills - Unique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirissa Hills - Unique Resort

Address: Henwella Road | Henwalle, Mirissa, Weligama, Matara 0094, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MIRISSA HILLS - Sunset is magnificent. Order a cocktail, sit back and let the drama unfold. As you climb the winding road up the hill through the blushing cinnamon plants, caching glimpses of the verdant tapestry of the region as you go, you can only anticipate the panorama that will unfold at its summit. Boasting 360-degree views out to the sea over Weligama Bay and inland to the Denipitiya Hills, capturing the changing lights and moods of the breathtaking landscape, the Estate comprises of 3 magnificently built Villas, which makes it the ideal venue to celebrate outdoor weddings & parties. MOUNT CINNAMON holds the crown among all, which is designed to perfection, it is a pure and elegant essay in the island’s vernacular; majestic, but both celebratory and respectful of its surroundings. THE CINNAMON MUSEUM is also immaculately presented and enhanced by vibrant paintings, sculptures and collections especially commissioned Sri Lankan art. THE BUNGALOW reflects airy traditional architecture with a refined modern touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mirissa Hills - Unique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirissa Hills - Unique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.