We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A temple to Health” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barberyn Beach Ayurveda Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weligama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barberyn Beach Ayurveda Resort
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Kapparatota, Weligama, Matara MH81000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Weligama
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A temple to Health”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We spent two weeks at Barberyn Beach Resort with my 18 year old daughter who was recovering from Glandular fever. The service and kindness of the staff, the clever architecture of the place linking the rooms to the treatment area, the ayurveda treatments done in the most professional way, the restaurant overlooking the area, the swimming pool surrounded by trees, the yoga overlookng the sea, the day trips offered by the hotel were all just wonderful and the only way I can describe the place was 'Paradise'.
One tip: bring good quality insect repellent (I was fine with it but my daughter needed it!)
The place gave complete peace of mind and a real opportunity to relax and re-energise.
Located about 4 or 5 hours from the airport with narrow roads to reach the resort. Transport provided by the hotel. I had read previous reviews and knew what to expect. A challenge but I was fine with it.

We spent one additional week in Barberyn Reef - that is not the same quality and the main good point there is the closeness of the rooms to the sea. That is more a holiday resort. Good but cannot be compared with Barberyn Beach.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    15
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
16
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

As a frequent traveler all over the world I've seen many most beautiful places and accomodations. But coming back to Barberyn Beach in Weligama, is like coming back home to my own paradise where I can relax, get inspired and load my batteries. It's the mix on a high level of infrastructure, the detail-oriented decoration, the authentical beverage, the devine auyurvedic treatments, the huge tropical landscape with a impressing flora and fauna. And above all, the friendly, warm and professional staff which make you feel so sincere welcome as a friend. Doing Yoga overlooking the palm trees with the first sunlight in your eyes or just sitting on the cliffs, whatching the fisherman coming home before the sundown - unforgettable moments which make you to return - I can't wait.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

My friend and I stayed three weeks and this is the third time we have been. The staff are courteous, friendly and smile a lot. The Ayurvedic treatment is wonderful and adheres to the true principal of Ayurveda. One feels very nutured and looked after in what can only be desribed as beautiful grounds. It is quiet and peaceful. If you want trips there are lots included if not you can rent a car and go adventuring. Otherwise just lie back relax and be prepared to have a wonderful time for your body, mind and soul. The food I should say is also strict Ayurvedic and I lost over 8lbs as your body is totally cleansed.
This place can only be described as a piece of heaven on earth it is a place for people who seriously want to take a little time out and regroup and let the wholeness come back into their life.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Only good thing is the beach.very nice view of sea.But all other facilties Room.Pool,foods was not good.but staff good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minato, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I stayed at Barberyn Reef Ayurveda Resort for a week in February 2010
Have been passionate about Yoga and Ayurveda so it was a fantastic holiday!

Quite a few are solo travelers, mainly Europe especially from Germany at the time of my visit.

I stayed in superior room n ground floor and it was ok but next time, I would like to take beachfront cottage.
Beautifully maintained resort and I loved the architecture of the building.
No aircon but ceiling fan will do.

Yoga class is just so-so, but they sometimes have guest teacher so check it out.
Cooking class was demonstration and sampling but interesting.

Food is good, many to choose if it's buffet. Set menu is ok, but I loved buffet.
But be warned, STRICT food restriction apply after certain treatment!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

My husband and I visited the Barberyn Reef Ayurveda Resort in Beruwela and Weligama, Sri Lanka in September 2010 for our honeymoon. We had continuously heard great things about the two resorts and we weren’t disappointed to say the least; it was a fantastic holiday.

The hotels and surrounding backdrop were absolutely beautiful. At Berulwela there was the warm blue ocean and white sands. There is yoga on the rooftops which gives a spectacular view of the local area. In addition, Weligama boast a wonderfully created forest of trees within which the hotel is cleverly built. The rooms at both resorts were clean and authentic with a different feel.

Berulwela is about two hours south of Sri Lanka’s main airport and largest city, Colombo. Weligama is another hour and a half further south.

We were immediately impressed from the minute we landed and a very friendly driver welcomed us at the airport with a bag of goodies for our journey. The resort was exquisite, located right on the beach with lots of palm trees and wildlife. The ocean view from our room was magnificent.

The staff were not only friendly and polite but went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. They were passionate about making sure the guests had the best possible experience.

The ayurvedic team including the doctors, therapist and masseuse were welcoming, kind and willing to show us around their medical centre. The massage therapy was the best that we ever experienced. That is no understatement having been to Thailand, China, India and England for similar treatments. The 2-person synchronized massages were luxurious, and the herbal steam facials and herbal body packs were relaxing. The herbal bath, where a therapist repeatedly pours herbal water over your body was soothing.

The ayurvedic doctors were very professional and thorough, and they seemed to genuinely enjoy helping their guests. There were some guests that had come to the end of the line with Western treatments and had come searching for a more holistic approach to their illnesses and had found improvement in their quality of life.

All the food at Barberyn was vegetarian but we did not miss eating meat once during our stay here.
The food was delicious and healthy. The food was in abundance and all very appealing and tasty. The fruit and vegetable could be found in large quantities. We took advantage of eating all the exotic fruits on offer especially mangosteen and mangos.

All in all this was a fabulous holiday and could not have expected anymore. We had the most relaxing, healthy and happy holiday and we look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

For looking for an holiday experience with a difference this is the right address!!! My wife and I have been regular guests at the resort for past 5 years - 2 weeks every year joining us are an ever incresaing number of family and friends!! This year we were 11persons.
We are global travellers for busines and pleasure and fortunate to have the opportunity to frequently stay in all levels of accomodation from top end 6star Maldives resorts to camping on the beaches of Thailand..............BUT our favorite place in the world is Barberyn Welligama!!! WHY?? Many reasons but in a nutshell its relaxing - educational - healthy - fun - friendly - interesting and just wonderful!!! Check out their website
Its not 5star luxury......................its much much better!!!!..................and we are looking forward to another visit August 2011 with our friends and family sharing their holiday with the Barberyn family!!! Mily and her family who manage the resort are wonderful - Dr. Pushpa and her team are magnificent - Ajith head waiter and his merry men are great!!
A holiday you never forget and never regret!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barberyn Beach Ayurveda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberyn Beach Ayurveda Resort

Address: Kapparatota, Weligama, Matara MH81000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberyn Beach Ayurveda Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience authentic Ayurveda during a luxurious beach holiday. Gain strength through daily Yoga exercise and let yourself be pampered on a beach with a breathtaking view of the Indian ocean near Weligama. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barberyn Beach Ayurveda Hotel Weligama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barberyn Beach Ayurveda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barberyn Beach Ayurveda Resort to your Saves list