We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jagabay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jagabay Resort to your Saves list
Jagabay Resort
Pelena, Weligama, Matara, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Boating Specials!!!
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Weligama
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A place to recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed two nights in this quiet resort, beautiful beach not crowded, delicious food, very kind staff, pleasant garden, good price value, no problem to reach Weligama centre by tuk-tuk. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This resort was a real discovery for us! It is located on a peaceful corner of a beautiful sandy beach, a little apart from the crowds of the center! The food was exquisite (esp. fish and curries!!) and the owner (who speaks also English and German fluently) is one of the kindest persons we ever met and has been always extremely friendly and very helpful. We organized a couple of trips with him and we were more than satisfied! Thank you Jagath for making our stay memorable!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

A large hotel located on a part of the bay that is virtually deserted. It was like having a private beach. The rooms are very clean and have good standard but the whole place seems like it has seen better days. The garden is very nice and they have a small pool. The restaurant is very good and it is good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stay here 11 nights in february. Jagabay resort is in the middle from Weligama and Mirissa beach. In any way its take 5 minutes withTUK-TUK and cost 1$. Beach is wide and quite lonely. You can walk long distance. You have good hotel sundecks in any time. There you can fully relax in sun and sounds of ocean waves, take shower after swimming right in the beach. Wery important! Bottom of ocean is flat and hard sandy. You can go easy to swim, also for kids is possible to swim. Waves in Mirissa are really bigger and its nots very comfy. Waves throw you like chip. Hotel is OK! Breakfast all days the same, but in days when hotel is book full, we have buffet breakfast with good choise. Wery close ( 200m) are local cheap fruits shop with really big and good choise. You can eat dinner in hotel, but if you want
more small beach restaurants you can go to Mirissa. Many tourists live in Mirissa. There is busy beach and rooms are moore expensive. I recommend to stay in Jagabay. You have better hotel for the same money, calmness good clean beach and if you want society you can take taxi and have it in minutes and even have good save. We ask in hotel and have to rent cheap motobike to go around. Also we buy in local market kilos of prawns, and chef is cooking its for us in dinner. We make own just prawns partys much cheaper then in rastaurants.
Yes, we spent good time here!

Room Tip: Better take room in 2 or 3 stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Jagabay is a lovely little hotel on a great stretch of beach at Weligama. We had a great holiday there. Not at all touristy and very homey. Jagath and his staff do a wonderful job of running the place. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jagabay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagabay Resort

Address: Pelena, Weligama, Matara, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Weligama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Jagabay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jagabay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.