We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slowly degrenerating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Olenka Sunside Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marawila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olenka Sunside Beach Hotel
Save
You added Olenka Sunside Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Morderwella, Marawila, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Marawila B&B and Inns
Nieuwegein
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Slowly degrenerating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for three days, as our tour started here.
The location on the beach is nice and quiet and therefore the best of the hotel.
It's fairly isolated from de next town.
The rooms are reasonably clean, but for instance the airco was completely rusted away.
Like other parts of the hotel, like beach chairs, erverything is slowly degenerating.
Food was avarage to Srilankan standards.
For a next time we would choose an other hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

we stayed here as part as part of a tour , lovely place to stay , i love the beach and the great atmosphere of this hotel ,
we will go back , the staff as in all the hotels we stayed . were great so friendly . we couldnt have ask for anything they were always happy to help. the tour giude was very helpful. slimline tours, we heard about this tour guide from trip advisor he had fantastic review so we gave him a call when we arraved in calumbio, i would rec0mmend him to anyone one that wants a stress free holiday . we love to travel around , see all the places , i love sri lanka .its a beauiful country. so many places to see . so we will be going back next yaer hopeful with slimline tours we can see some , more .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javorník, Olomoucky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Hello to all of you... I and my girlfriend spent this April 2012 some time in Sri Lanka in Olenka hotel... The Hotel is fain and practical but to be honest, its most benefit is not an accommodation itself but the nearby situated SLIM LINE TOURS travel agency which provided us the opprotunity to to know better and closer the real Sri Lanka and the experinces which we still keep in memory... There is no better argument than own exprience...
Peter and Kate

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at the Olenka in April 2012. The hotel needs a lick of paint but because the location is so fantastic it really didn't matter. The staff were first class and very helpful nothing was too much trouble for them. The owner was a lovely man who evacuated all the guests to his house when a tsunami alert was raised on the island. Fortunately the tsunami was just a scare and after tea and home made cakes at the owners house we were all took back to the hotel by "tut tut". I have stayed at hotels all over the world and i can highly recommend this hotel for the cleanliness, location and friendly staff, it really was magical.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Olenka hotel has a lot in its favour, the perfect location, eager and willing junior staff but sadly lacks any kind of managerial direction. It is in need of a major injection of cash to refurbish the public areas. The rooms are fine, large and spotlessly clean thanks to the excellent room boys,plenty of hot running water, the A/C units are old but they do work! ! A mini fridge can be hired for US$5 per day and is recommended. However the public areas leave a lot to be desired. The dining room was infested with flies and the decor was dirty. The staircases and hall need redecorating urgently. The pool is excellent but the sunbeds are dilapidated and many need repair or replacement, the pool towels were disgusting, torn dirty and not washed once in 3 weeks. The food was repetative and of mediocre quality. Drinks were very overpriced, 200-500% more than outside prices plus taxes! It is a shame because this hotel has one of the best locations we have seen for a number of years, the staff are cheerful, willing and with some good training could make this location a little paradise. Management please take note!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olenka Sunside Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olenka Sunside Beach Hotel

Address: Morderwella, Marawila, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Marawila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Marawila
Number of rooms: 42

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olenka Sunside Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.