We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience in a good Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sanmali Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sanmali Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanmali Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Marawila 0000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Marawila
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad experience in a good Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

First the good thinghs: quite position, new building in clean enviroment and good food.
The bad part: the tiny slice glass door of our room was just in front the lobby entrance and parking (are all in one).
means no sleep during the night because there's a continuos check in and check out for the night flights or because somebody decide it is time for chat or eat.
We fixed in advance our pick up at airport for 3500 RS. After arrive in hotel the price increase at 4000 Rs. without any reason, not a big deal but not so nice for a welcome.
So altough the potential of this hotel not a positive experience for the 2 nights spent here

Room Tip: Ask the room face the garden suppose more quite than the one we stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
23
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Positive: Nice setting by the beach, good size room with the balcony overlooking the beach.
Negative: where to start? The room is old and needs updating. All furniture is covered in thick layer of dust, and the floor is covered in dead bugs. Bathroom is basic and DIRTTY. The toiletries provided: shower cap x 2 and tiny soap bar x 1 (for two people staying). We have asked reception for shampoo and after 2 hours and numerous reminders were given a tiny sachet and were told to go to the shop if needed more. The towels that started white at some point were ash grey and of questionable cleanliness.
The staff at the hotel grumpy. The staff at reception included young cheerful gentlemen, who did try to help and smiled and a bossy women who would talk to you without looking at you. Dinner as part of our half board included set menu that started with lukewarm vegetable soup (not nice) followed by fried chicken with French fries and coleslaw (not bad), and for desert choice of ice cream or fruits.
The best thing about this hotel was that we only had to stay for 13 hours, we have not risked breakfast and have left as soon as our car arrived. The one night horror experience with the half board was 110 USD.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanmali, Owner at Sanmali Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
The hotel room referred to, was pending to be cleaned. It was mistakenly given to the reviewer as a cleaned room.

There has never been a harsher criticism about our rooms prior to this. This is the very first time we received a one star rating. The pictures accompanying the review were very damaging, offensive and unfair.

I request the review to be deleted, at least in part. I especially request the pictures to be deleted.

Thank you,
Dr. Neville Fernando (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

cosy, clean and comfortable hotel on the beach of Indian ocean, all rooms have sea view and it really takes just a minute to reach ocean. i had a wonderful peaceful vacation, exactly what i wanted, im gratefull to staff so much, they all are helpfull, polite and i never face a problem during my stay. perfect relaxation without noisy bars and discos, so beautiful nature, i already miss

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 as the first night of an Exodus tour of Sri Lanka. The room was clean, the air conditioning fierce! The evening meal was the first buffet of many in Sri Lanka and was fine. There was a cricket match on the tv in the lounge and we enjoyed discussing the state of play with the staff as they passed by. It was just a few steps to the beach.

As we didn't choose the hotel ourselves, and therefore did no research as to the best place to stay, I can't comment on the alternatives in this area. If we were to visit the area again we would certainly consider staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice stay. Decent size hotel with airy feel. All rooms face the sea. Some rooms have TV. Rooms a bit rundown - some refurbishing would be good.
Note the hotel is in Marawila and not in Negombo.
There are few hotels in Marawila along the beach front. Many residents have start claiming the land and beach.
The restaurants in Marawila are rather pricey. CAWA is good.

Room Tip: Some rooms have TV. Check out the AC is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family transferred to Marawilla because of the lack of accommodation in Trincomallee. We found a very decent hotel with willing and friendly stuff, nice and reasonably clean rooms and surrounding.
We could use the swimming pool / be carefull, some tiles are broken and have sharp edge ! / but prefered to swimm in the ocean which was right behind the garden. The waves were quite huge but fortunatelly all survived.
We can definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel Type: This is a single storey beach resort (ground +1). It is in the small to mid sized category.

Location: Quite place in the small town of Marawila, right on the beach. You need to just step 25 odd meters from your room and you enter the beach.

Rooms: Spacious, clean, bright, airy, good quality beds, air conditioned and nice wash room.

Food: Food is quite good. We took the stay plus food package, so it worked out pretty economical also for us. Not so many options for vegetarians though.

Service: Now this was a dicey one. Right as we entered the hotel and were negotiating for the rooms, the guy at the reception got very irritable and we ended up having an almost heated argument. He later apologized and turned out to be very sweet. Most of the staff were very nice, but they seemed very burdened with work (especially the restaurant serving staff), hence they did seem very stressed out. So, at times they needed to be reminded about what we were looking for. But we would like to believe that the service levels at this place are generally decent and ours was a one-off experience.

Despite some service related issues, we had a very pleasant time. Those looking to just chill and bum around the beach or swim at the pool or just read book sunbathing around can definitely look at this place. A word of caution though, the sea is extremely rough, so exercise restraint and caution.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms on the first floor are good. Insist on getting those, because the staff at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanmali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanmali Beach Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Marawila 0000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Marawila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Marawila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanmali Beach Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanmali Beach Hotel is a quaint 20 room hotel with a boutique- like atmosphere. All rooms have private balconies and full ocean views. The hotel is on a stretch of natural, palm-lined sandy beach.It has a well manicured spacious garden and a swimmng pool with a rocky water fall. An open restaurant overlooking the ocean, beach pavilion and a beach-hut are present.Relax and rejuvenate at our full service Ayurveda Spa. Our staff is very friendly and attentive. Enjoy beach volleyball, fishing and boating. Fresh seafood and spirits always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sanmali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanmali Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.