We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking Process.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanmali Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sanmali Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sanmali Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Marawila 0000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marawila
Colombo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Booking Process.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Contacting process is very easy. The reception is very active. If Bookings can be done via online payments rather than depositing to banks, would have been much fast and better.
Waiting to see the location, rooms and Hotel in general.

Room Tip: Will comment more soon as i go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marawila, Owner at Sanmali Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your very positive response regarding your stay at Sanmali. We really value the comments, and we will definitely make changes to improve and upgrade our services

We appreciate your time and effort to post a comment. Hope to see you again soon.

Sanmali Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
11
24
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed for one night as part of an Exodus tour and this was the worst accommodation in the whole two weeks. I don't know the relative price of the places so cannot judge on value for money . Firstly for the positives - the room was a reasonably good size, clean and there was aircon, a kettle and bottled water in the room.

However, the hotel felt very run down, both the room and the communal areas. The service was very slow to get a drink and the food at the buffet was poor quality and very expensive - going to a local place would be much cheaper and better food. The outdoor area by the pool also looked shabby with plastic furniture. The air con was so noisy that I couldn't sleep with it on.

I wouldn't chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
948 reviews 948 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 279 cities Reviews in 279 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent one night here as joining hotel prior to an Exodus trip. Other members were on group flight and came together in van. As we had spent several days in Colombo prior to the start of our tour, we made our own way to Marawila via taxi (6,500 rupees).

Received a warm welcome with cool towel and welcome drink and given room #22 on the second floor with small balcony and ocean view. Rooms are basic and clean. No wash cloths or bath amenities (bar of soap only). Room safe, free wifi in lobby, nice small pool, fridge in room wasn't turned on. Rooms show their wear, but are basic and budget.

Restaurant has all items priced in US $ (odd for a hotel where most guests are not Americans) and there aren't really any options for other dining (unless you go to one of the other hotels). You can take a tuk-tuk to town for more dining options if you're interested.

Breakfast was brought to our table and was tasty, especially the fruit plate. Borrowed a hair dryer from reception.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are nice; mozzie net helpful if you want to sleep with door open and hear the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

we stayed at a few hotels . as we were traveling around the area.
my husband and i enjoyed this hotel . we love the beach ,and this was a great hotel for the beach , we
love the friendliness of the staff . very interesting people . happy always . glad to help. as you can see by the photo , excerellent views , while we were there we meet a local tour guide that we had read about on trip advisor , he had great reviews . so we introduced ourselfs to him , and told him about the trip advisor reviews , we were not disaponted, slimline tours , lived up to his name exerllen treviews. , he alos speaks about 6 different languges , which we found very impressive , i would stay at this hotel again when we revisit. thank you to trip advisor reading the reviews , gave us great information before we went ,

Room Tip: loved the rooms that looked out on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night prior to starting an Exodus tour.

Hotel is in the middle of nowhere so there is just the beach to visit, the hotel pool area was still being finished.

Room was quite dark but beds were comfortable. Bathroom looked tired and in need of paint and freshen up!
Overall The hotel is basic but staff are friendly and food selection we had (buffet) was reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked in for a week of a hopefully relaxing break during an extended birding trip covering all of the Indian subcontinent. The room was clean and comfortable with a great view out over the beach and ocean. The staff were friendly and helpful particularly at reception. The spa was excellent and good value for money. The restaurant was however a nightmare with a poor vegetarian choice. Sometimes there was not enough waiters. They would bring one persons meal which was eaten before the others arrived. They brought the main course before the starters. We ordered one dish and something else arrived - we stressed the 2nd night what dish we actually wanted but still got something else. Either the waiter did not understand or the chef just cooked what he felt like giving you. We gave up on eating in the hotel but it was a bit of a distance to walk to another restaurant. The hotel is good if you want a quiet holiday and don't intend leaving its grounds. The beach was clean but it dropped away quickly so you were in deep water before you realised - something to watch if you take children. Lots of sand flies amongst the trees at the beach and we got some bad bites that took time to heal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night prior to meeting up with a larger tour group. Other than the beach there is little else around to do. When we went to our room we were greeted by a dark, poorly lit room with old, dirty-looking linen on the bed. A trail of ants greeted us at the bathroom door - beyond the door was a grim bathroom which made our skin crawl. The hotel is very basic but the staff are friendly if a little on the slow side - you could happily wait 30 minutes for a drinks order to come. The beach area was small but relatively pretty with a steep shelf down into the water - I'm not sure if it was safe to go swimming - I didn't want to risk it! The hotel swimming pool is small and basic - could have done with a little more regular cleaning. A basic, budget not hugely pleasant hotel - I couldn't recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanmali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanmali Beach Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Marawila 0000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Marawila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marawila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanmali Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanmali Beach Hotel is a quaint 20 room hotel with a boutique- like atmosphere. All rooms have private balconies and full ocean views. The hotel is on a stretch of natural, palm-lined sandy beach.It has a well manicured spacious garden and a swimmng pool with a rocky water fall. An open restaurant overlooking the ocean, beach pavilion and a beach-hut are present.Relax and rejuvenate at our full service Ayurveda Spa. Our staff is very friendly and attentive. Enjoy beach volleyball, fishing and boating. Fresh seafood and spirits always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanmali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanmali Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.