We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, if you are prepared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moonstone Mines

Moonstone Mines
Mitiyagoda, Ambalangoda, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Attraction details
Vilnius
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“OK, if you are prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Being a moonstone fan (though not a connoisseur), I found it a nice and quite informative stop. It was very interesting to see the uncut stones washed from the mine diggings also to examine the minerals coming along with the moonstones. I even got myself a small blue moonstone pendant (overpriced, of, course, but the money were not so big) with complimentary “silver” chain, which did not look silver even to my amateurish eye, but what the hell – this is just small souvenir from a pleasant trip. Short trip through the garden to the mine was also nice.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    13
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“moonstone meetiyagoda Sri Lanka”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Interesting to read all the experiences various tourists had while visiting the meetiyagoda mines and while I have a been a huge fan of Sri Lankan moonstones for more than 20 years of collection, I can say the meetiyagoda mines are not producing the same high quality sort after blue sheen stones ones its boast to have been famous for since inception of the mines.. The ones being dug out currently are the mostly run-of-the-mill stones that resemble water with milk of magnesia stirred in. Mostly these crystals are desaturated yellow, brownish or cloudy or milky and very very rarely you will discover eye visibly clean stones with good blue sheen.

Since the meetiyagoda mines reproduction of the finest quality blue sheen stones ceased operations somewhere in the late 1980s I am pretty sure it will take many years to see same quality to resurface to the market from the same mines.

Cheers!
Gemologist/collector

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague - overpriced sharks.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The review from the Czech guy below is accurate.

My wife and I visited here last Thursday (10th April), allegedly with a 50% discount day!

The quality appears good but I'm afraid the true value is nowhere near what they say. If you're interested I would not pay more than 25% of the original price quoted. You will get better elsewhere - real hard sell rip off merchants and the owner is ignorant.

Go to Galle - barter there and get better.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A tourist trap but interesting visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Taking you to a moon stone mining is on every drivers radar for he earns if you shop. Having said that its not a bad idea to see how the moon stone is mined. A 10 minuted guided tour is then followed by visit to the gem shop. Not bad but make sure you don't buy anything. Its just a cousin of the spice garden in other parts of Sri Lanka and Gem shop in Bangkok.

So buyers beware but worth a visit..

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, UK
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A dull experience - you could spend your time better elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

'Visit to the Moonstone mines' - it sounded magical!

It turned out to be a very dull experience followed by a high pressure sales spiel.

The 'mine' was a hole in the ground and a puddle at the bottom with an old guy squatting in the water. Were those shiny wet moonstones between his toes? Really? I wonder who put them there?

I suppose they do really dig up moonstones here, but it is absurd to describe it as a 'mine'. And it is not so much about visiting a moonstone mine as about being persuaded to buy over-priced jewellery.

You can buy the same moonstone jewellery (with certificates of authenticity etc etc) at many other tourist traps on the island, but at a fraction of the price.

I tried to persuade myself that I found something about this visit interesting, because I hate to think that I wasted my time. Well, there was a nice walk through a patch of forest to get there.....

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Mines also viewed

Bentota, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 
Kosgoda, Southern Province
Hikkaduwa, Southern Province
 

Been to Moonstone Mines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonstone Mines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.