We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn´t have been better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Max Wadiya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ambalangoda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Max Wadiya
Save
You added Max Wadiya to your Saves list
147, Galle road | Madampe, Ambalangoda 0351, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Monsoon Specials
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Couldn´t have been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Two fantastic weeks at beautiful and cosy Maxwadiya. We felt at home from the first day. Friendly and helpful staff, always with a smile for you. Delicious food at every meal, and Ranjan showed us how to cook and what to buy at the local market. My husband´s birthday dinner was a real treat, the table beautifully set on the beach, a firework, birthday cake and Happy Birthday singing. During the second week there were only the two of us, with super service and more time to ask a thousand questions about life in Sri Lanka. The most relaxing vacation we´ve ever had and we´ll be back, sooner or later. This is a perfect place to stay, especially for one or two families, or a group of friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay in Max Wadiya this October . It was booked for us by our travel agent so we didn't really know what to expect . On arrival it looks quite modest ( and very close to the main Galle road ) so we were slightly worried but it turned out to be one of the highlights of our Sri Lankan / India trip . Ranjan and his staff are incredibly good - always there if you need something but never annoyingly attentive and the food is excellent . Every meal was a treat and we would all recommend the 90 minute Ayurvedic massage .

We were only there for 3 days but that was too short - next time will be longer!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We chose Max Wadiya as the place to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We were just the two of us, enjoying a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Sri Lanka.

Our stay at Max Wadiya was undoubtedly the grand finale of our journey from Israel. We spent five full days and didn't stop admiring the burning sunsets, white sandy beach, blue ocean and salt-water pool shaded by coconut trees. We can’t find the suitable words to thank Ranjan and his staff for their unforgettable warm hospitality.

The food was so exquisite, original, surprising and beautifully served. The rooms are spacious, decorated in fine taste that reflect the owners’ love for art and nature. The picturesque town of Ambalangoda and the sea-turtle hatchery are a very brief tuk-tuk ride happily arranged by the staff, and were fun to explore. The relaxing massage, arranged also by the multi-talented Ranjan and his cooking lessons made it even harder for us to leave. Thanks to the thoughtful pedantic owner Ruth for her kind and giving spirit and for arranging our stay in her unique heaven.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went to mainly luxurious hotels during our stay in Sri Lanka and Max was our favorite. The staff do their very best to make you feel at home. The fact that the GM had a daughter the same age was great as they were playing together and the nannies were happy to take care of both kids. Overall we really felt at home, not in a hotel. The fact the food is included in the package makes you relax completely since you don t have to think about where and what to eat (a big part of the activity of anyone on holiday, right). The food was delicious and generous. You could always mention what you wanted to eat and the Chef would accommodate us. I asked for a couple of recipe including the best salad dressing i ever tasted! Don t think twice and spend a few nights at Max Wadiya.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were a family of four (with two teens) from Minnesota, enjoying a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Sri Lanka.

Our stay at Max Wadiya was a fantastic way to end our vacation. The place is well designed, meticulously maintained and so comfortable that we felt very much at home. We can’t say enough about Ranjan and his staff. They did a stunning job of being friendly and attentive, but never intrusive.

The food was some of the best we had on the trip. The portions were generous and the presentation impressive. We love spicy food, but Sri Lanka generally turns down the burn for tourists. The chef here definitely came the closest to offering us spicy local cuisine nicely matched with familiar dishes. We even had a hotdish that easily rivaled anything the Midwest has to offer.

Beach access is easy and yet we always felt like we had our privacy. It was too dangerous to swim in the ocean (August tides), but the salt-water pool was bath-water warm and an ideal place to relax. Ambalangoda, a short 2-kilometer walk or a very brief tuk-tuk ride happily arranged by Ranjan, was fun to explore and a nice slice of local flavor.

The place was so nice and inviting that we wished we’d spent more time there. We highly recommend Max Wadiya for a truly personal experience that is more than worth the price. Thanks to the owner Ruth for her kind help with the arrangements, and again to Ranjan and staff for making our stay an unforgettable highlight of our vacation.

Room Tip: Definitely let Ranjan know your food preferences, the chef is amazing and flexible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Sitting on the balcony just about to leave Max Wadiya and its wonderful sea front location. We will miss the crashing of the waves the beach we had all to our own and the lovely swimming pool which the children had so much fun in. An ideal location but only a short tuk tuk ride into the town. 

Above all what makes Max Wadiya so perfect is the staff, Ranjan and his team, who could not do enough to help. The service was not only wonderful but felt genuine, we and the children felt at home here. I have of course to mention the excellent food - meal times were a delight.

Rooms are comfortable, not luxurious but you are unlikely to spend much time in them anyway. Bathrooms are a bit dank and to be honest probably need to be refreshed but we found this a common issue across the hotels we stayed in in Sri Lanka and this would not put us off coming to Max Wadiya again.

All in all location and service makes Max Wadiya exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed at the Max feb 2012. I was travelling with my husband and 18mth old son.
Anyone with kids knows that travelling with them can be challenging and involves compromise. Staying at the max took all of the challenge out of it and there was no compromise.
We got to stay in this beautifully furnished, beachside residence, with a lovely salt water pool and tropical gardens, leading on to a deserted tropical beach. We had a private staff to look after our every need who were (particularly Ranjan) some of the most honest, hard working, job-proud individuals that I have ever had the pleasure to encounter.

The food is phenomenal. a breakfast of freshfuit, Sri lanakan specialities and cereals down by the beach, A special lunch would be served for our son, and then
1-2 hours later a feast of fresh fish, salads, grilled chicken would appear for us. Dinner was the same, carefully thought out childrens meals were prepared at 5pm for our son, and then once he was asleep, a banquet of food would be presented to us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Max Wadiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Wadiya

Address: 147, Galle road | Madampe, Ambalangoda 0351, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ambalangoda
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ambalangoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max Wadiya is a select boutique hotel that offers an authentic Sri Lankan experience beyond 5-star. With a verdant garden opening onto a sweeping unspoiled beach, it offers a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity, a kitchen that rivals the best on the island and a professional and caring staff who will attend to your every need. Two luxury suites provide intimacy and privacy. A connected 3-bedroom villa, rented as a single unit, is just right for a family or group of friends. The entire 10-bed property, which can be expanded with extra beds for children, is perfect for reunions or gatherings of far-flung families. All rooms are en-suite with terraces overlooking the Indian Ocean. A secluded 40-foot infinity pool is a watery alternative to the sea, and ayurvedic treatments and massages are available on request. Tariffs are inclusive of three full meals, taxes, service charge and extras like coffee or afternoon tea. The Wadiya does not serve alcohol but guests are welcome to bring their own, without a corkage fee. The concept: your temporary home on the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Max Wadiya Hotel Ambalangoda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max Wadiya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.