We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Skiing trip to Holiday Inn Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite to your Saves list
Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225-3 Yongsan-ri, Daegwallyeong-myeon, Pyeongchang-gun, Gangwon-do 232-952, South Korea   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
4.5 of 5 stars 106 Reviews
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Skiing trip to Holiday Inn Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife, 12 yr old son and I have just spent a great 4 days skiing at Alpensia staying at the Holiday Inn Resort Hotel. I am an intermediate skier, wife and son beginners. I have written a long review to include as much useful information as possible on logistics as Koreans generally don’t speak English and most signs are in Korean.
Hotel
We had a Deluxe Room which was spacious and with one queen bed and a large single bed was enough without the cost of an extra bed ($40 a day).
I booked the Winter Ski package which was good value including breakfast for two (otherwise its $26 per adult, $14 per child under 12) and 2 half day lift passes per day as well as 50% of ski rentals. In any case the Hotel Card itself gives you 30% discount on lifts and rentals.
The staff were very helpful and courteous. They booked the shuttle bus both ways and sent info by email before our holiday.
Skiing
The resort has 1 easy run (Alpha), 2 intermediate runs (Bravo, Charlie) and 3 advanced runs (Delta –Foxtrot). All are short taking about 10-15 mins up and down. The hotel is next to the lifts and Ski House so extremely convenient. At no time did we have to queue for a lift.
The sessions are 8.30 - 12.30, 12.30 – 16.30, then closed for 2 hours whilst the runs are groomed, then 18.30 – 22.00 floodlit skiing. We took a late breakfast and skied each afternoon and some evenings although its cold at night. The hotels half day lift pass cannot be upgraded to a Daytime (am+pm) pass unfortunately. A half day (am or pm) lift pass is $50 before discount, a Daytime pass is $65, Full Day (daytime +evening) is $80. Evenings are just $25. All are about 25% cheaper for kids.
Ski rentals. Daytime $26, half day $22, evening $22, pm+evening $27.
Ski lessons. The Group lessons are only for Koreans. Individual lessons in English start at $200 for 2 hours one-one, not cheap! My wife and son teamed up with 2 other beginners at a total cost of $240 for 2 hours. After that they skied both the easy run and later the “Bravo” intermediate run. The “Charlie” run is steep and difficult.
Jackets and pants can be rented ($10 per half day/evening, no discounts) and goggles, hats and ski gloves bought cheaply in the resort.
Eating
Several choices including Domino Pizza. The Korean restaurant on the corner opposite the Ski House is popular, well priced and the food is good.
Transport
You can fork out $300+ for a taxi from the airport (its over 300km) or Seoul. We stayed in Seoul the first night (at the excellent Metro Hotel reached by airport bus 5015) then took the purple ski shuttle bus to the resort from Jamsil station (100m up the road from exit 4 of the subway station). 3-4 buses leave at 9am and take 2 and a half hours. Be there by 8.45 as it’s a popular service. Cost $16 pp. Buses also go from the airport to Alpensia. The shuttle stops at the Holiday Inn Welcome Centre a short walk from the Hotel.
The main problem for us was from Alpensia to the airport. We had an 8pm flight so had to be sure of our transport. The only bus we could book left at 9.30 reaching the airport at 12.30. The next bus at 14.30 could not be booked so there was a risk it could be full as it originates from Gangneum, 30 mins away. The hotel suggested we taxi to Gangneum ($45) to ensure a seat on the bus. In the end the hotel booked us on the 12.30 shuttle bus to Seoul (there are 3 a day at 9.30, 12.30 and 16.30) and we then used the 6006 bus to the airport. The 6006 bus stop is just 50m from the Jamsil arrival stop and runs every 15-20 mins. We arrived at Incheon airport at 17.30. Note that a ticket must be bought at a desk inside the Holiday Inn Welcome Centre before boarding the shuttle bus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    53
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia is a good place to stay, but readers should realize that it is not so much a Holiday Inn as it is a standard Korean condominium hotel with a "Holiday Inn" badge, for better or worse. On the positive side, it is located right next to the slopes and comprises most of what is the entire Alpensia resort. The rooms are clean, well-appointed, and spacious.

If, however, you expect it to look like a Holiday Inn hotel, you'll be surprised. As with most condo hotels in Korea such as this, expect ondol floor heating (which can be hard to turn down), showers with no curtains, noisy hallways, no breakfast, and mediocre service.

If you're really keen to stay at Alpensia itself, then this is a fine place to stay. But if you plan to spend most of your time at nearby Yongpyeong, and are only leaning toward the place because you recognize the Holiday Inn name compared to other places in the area, you're better off booking elsewhere, particularly if you can find a good rate at a place in Yongpyeong. You'll find accommodation there is nearly identical, a little cheaper, and right on the slopes that matter (Alpensia, the ski hill, isn't much to keep a skier/boarder occupied for more than a couple hours, while Yongpyeong is a proper ski area).

One other note, if you're confused as to why Expedia and other sites tell you that the hotel is "non-smoking" only to offer you "smoking" rooms at the time of booking, you're not alone. I called the hotel directly to clarify this discrepancy but my calls went unanswered. Holiday Inn reservations were no help either, as their agents were looking at the same confusing information online as I was and they too failed to reach the hotel directly. In the end, I discovered the truth only by staying there. The hotel is indeed non-smoking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear rbjmnn,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you liked the fine location of our hotel and found your room to be clean and well-appointed. Please allow us to apologize for the over-all issues you had that fell below your expectations. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

my family of 5 (3 young children) recently had a great 5-day getaway at the holiday inn resort. warning – this review is long as i personally had a tough time finding information about the hotel. overall, alpensia reminded us of seoul 10-15 years ago. we have no doubt that it will eventually attain world-class standards of service, retail, restaurants, etc in time for the 2018 olympics, but it has a ways to go.

first, my thoughts on the hotel. note, the holiday inn RESORT (where we stayed) and the holiday inn & suites are 2 completely different, separate complexes at alpensia (the other being the intercontinental). the RESORT is a traditional full-service hotel, slope side with restaurant and casino for foreigners. the inn & suites complex is NOT slope side (though a short walk away) and every unit has a kitchen. although having a kitchen is usually a plus, a friend told me their unit smelled so strongly of fish and korean food that she had to switch to a different hotel (they couldn’t switch rooms because the inn was sold out). the resort has its own front desk for check-in/check-out; do NOT go to the welcome center.

the pros:
- location. can’t be beat. ski-in/ski-out from the restaurant. directly next to the ski house where you buy lift tickets, rent skis, meet for ski school, etc.
- rooms. well executed modern design. decent sized rooms. clean carpets and bathrooms. excellent water pressure in the rain shower head. high quality sheets and down pillows. we are big fans of the family suite which is designed for 2 adults and 2 kids with an additional (small) bedroom including kid-sized bunk beds, desk and roomy separate closet. nice slope side view and little balcony too!
- service. friendly and mostly efficient (other than some problems with english). competent housekeeping every day (we didn’t experience any of the problems mentioned in other reviews – beds were made every day, towels refreshed, etc).

the cons:
- english competency. during our stay, i figured out that english competency is basically binary: either the person speaks english quite well or pretty poorly. the best way to navigate this is to immediately ask for a better English speaker if the person you are working with does not communicate well (this is true when you call the hotel as well). housekeeping staff generally do not speak english
- transportation. it is incredibly difficult to arrange transportation from seoul to the resort. I called over 5 times prior to my visit, and the english communication was abominable. i never did figure out how to deal with transportation as i hired a private car and driver through a friend. i *think* most of the locals use bus service but have heard it is very confusing, especially if you don’t speak/read korean
- breakfast at the restaurant. food quality isn’t great, variety is limited and, the worst part is that it is very expensive (krw40,000 per person). western food was limited to eggs, 2 types of meat, hash browns, yogurt, fruit (mostly canned), 1 or 2 types of bread and a limited assortment of pastries. no pancakes, eggs benedict, carving stations, etc. they only offered tomato, grape and pineapple juice (no apple or orange!) the asian food was along the same lines – little variety, not very high quality. bottom line: either lower the price or improve quality.

next, my review of the alpensia resort, which will serve as the olympic village in 2018 (most of the alpine events will take place at yongpyong, about 10 minutes away.) all-in-all, a good resort for families with young children but this is not the place for serious skiers. transportation between alpensia and yongpyong was not obvious. i think most people take taxis though there might be shuttle buses between the resorts. there were no instructions or schedules immediately available and it did not appear that the shuttles dropped off or picked up in front of the resort (maybe at the welcome center?)

the pros:
- we had powder-y snow and very good to excellent conditions for skiing (not too cold)
- ski school instructors were very very good with young children, though call in advance to reserve english speakers
- lots of good options for non-skiers. there is sledding and i have heard very good things about the ocean700 water park

the cons:
- alpensia is, at best, a hill rather than a mountain. there were only 5-6 runs open and they were short and not too challenging. it is fine if you have small children (like we do)
- there is no non-ski retail
- there is no après ski other than the coffee shop. we went to the lone bar around 430 pm and it was closed! we had our own après ski by picking up yummy fried chicken and beers and taking it back to our hotel room
- some of the restaurants are a step above fast food (fast casual) but nothing high-end. for lunch, the restaurant in the ski house only serves korean but there are burgers, pizza, fried chicken, etc available in the alpensia complex
- ski rental (at the ski house) is very basic though decent quality. there are no options to rent high performance skis, etc. there are no multi-day rentals (or ski passes, for that matter) so skis have to be returned and re-rented every day
- no gondolas or covered ski lifts; not necessary when we were there but I imagine it can get very cold

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottenlund, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent 4 days at Alpensia during Chinese New Year with 3 kids (8, 9 and 2) in a 3 room apartment. We had chosen Alpensia as it is a small resort and we figured our bigger children could ski by themselves and the hotel is also on the slopes. The apartment is very nice, clean, spacious and with all the amenities you would expect, except knives which another reviewer also noticed... The floor heating is great, especially with smaller children who for some odd reason cannot wear anything else than socks or bare feet. Kitchen was also good, with nice fridge and cooking facilities. The front desk was helpfull at arranging transportation to/from the resort at a reasonable price. However, the level of English is rather poor (as almost everywhere) and suggest this is improved prior to the tourist coming for the Olympics! The value was really good, especially compared to resorts in Japan.

However, there are some things to be aware of, and this is actually not to the fault of the hotel. There are NO reasonable restaurants in the area except for the buffet at the Intercontinental, and at USD 250,- for a family, perhaps not the place to go every night. There is Domino's, Lotte hamburger place and some local eateries, but the quality was not great and for someone who wants lots of vegetables, there is no choice. So we tried making food in the apartment, but again, the supermarkets (well hardly a supermarket by Western standards) were not catering for Western tourists. Lots of drinks and noodles, but that is almost it. No meat or vegetables, pasta or anything close to what we wanted to eat, so don't expect anything else than rice and noodle dishes at home. Good choice of beer, soda etc.

And finally to the skiing. There are 6 slopes which is ok for a couple of days if you are with small kids. But some things are very strange, but apparently the wayit is in Korea. You can e.g. not buy a lift pass nor rent your skis for more than 1 day at a time. This is a bit frustrating, as we had to equip 3 children every morning. However, the positive side of this, is that when the weather is not good, you can do something else and the waterpark is fantastic!

So all in all, if you don't mind the place being small and just want to practice with the kids, it is fine. And there is great sleigh riding facilities at night time, so this is a plus, especially being so close to the slopes.

But if you want more, then go to Yongpyong resort instead, as it is much bigger, the skiiing great and hardly any people, even during CNY!! We did not stay there, but went for 1 day of skiing and were very happy with it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the slopes. We did not get one, despite asking for it.... But looks really pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent about 9 days here attending the World Winter Games Special Olympics 2013. The suite was spacious and comfy and had a wonderful view of the slopes, especially pretty during night skiing. There is efficient transport to neighbouring slopes, nordic skiing, ski jumps and ice skating areas. The Holiday Inn is in a small village with several small supermarkets, eateries...mostly Korean, ski rentals and a casino all within a stroll of the apartment. The wifi was relatively cheap and reliable. The kitchen was well equipped although some dinner knives would be useful for those not used to metal chopsticks! The service was excellent and large towels were delivered when we discovered we were without them. The front desk staff were fairly fluent in English. There was plenty of room for three of us staying in the apartment, a couple in the bedroom and me on a large sofa...I couldn't quite manage the light mattress provided for the floor and didnt want the extra bed that could have been booked. All in all I would thoroughly recommend the Holiday Inn, Alpensia....especially if you're thinking of going to the Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang in 2018!!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the ski slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark DE
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice place at ski resort and conference center. Clean rooms, good breakfast and helpful and responsive staff. Regular shuttle service to Seoul and lots of small shops and restaurants nearby. Would like to go here in the summer. Lots of activities and hiking trails.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

we spent about 3 days here, and loved the rooms and ambience of the place. Rooms were super comfortable and the artificial fire place added to it's charm. The kitchen was sufficient...
The eating places around varied from pizza place, to korean, cutlet place, chinese place and of course well stocked super market to help you through with instant food and little cooking you might like to do.
The rooms are located very close to the slopes where you can enjoy sking and general playing with snow. We went in Jan so there was sufficient snow all around to play with. The view from the room was amazing... and we really enjoyed our stay!

NEGATIVE
The thing I did not like was the list of "Do-s and Don'ts"... like... if you don't wash the dishes you will be charged!!! and the lady who came to clean didn't change linen or make beds... given the fact that we were being charged $300+ a night... I found that to be ridiculous!!!!

It had snowed a lot the day we reached...the approach to resort was not cleared off snow.. and so was really difficult getting there... and there was no one to help with parking... as to where to park etc... and even the day we left... there was no one helping with cleaning the snow off the car... I mean... incase there is no help.. the resort should at least consider providing covered parking.

The stay was lovely... but these things would make me think twice before going their again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite

Address: 225-3 Yongsan-ri, Daegwallyeong-myeon, Pyeongchang-gun, Gangwon-do 232-952, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Pyeongchang-gun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Pyeongchang-gun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Hotel Pyeongchang-Gun
Holiday Inn And Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite South Korea/Pyeongchang-Gun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn and Suites Alpensia Pyeongchang Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.