We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to fix their air conditioning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay 37 Calayab, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs to fix their air conditioning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel's staff was very accommodating unfortunately they had only so much to work with. They tried their best but was unable to fix the problem. I actually asked for an electric fan but they didn't even pay attention to that request. Even the neighboring rooms had the same problem.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get stuck in room 575. The lobby was much cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    58
    48
    15
    12
See reviews for
61
39
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Balanga City, Philippines
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

It was a picturesque scene outside the hotel. There were lots of attractions like the mini zoo, 3 different pools and the beach. There are also recreational activities (but with a price). However the rooms are old and the corridors are dark with no air conditioners. The breakfast was not so good with only few selections of food. If you ask for extra towel or toiletries or even pillows there are added charges. Considering that the hotel was pricey and supposedly rated with 5stars I got disappointed with the service.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Don't be seduced by the Marketing of Fort Ilocandia.
A friend and I (with our families) booked a 4 night stay with Fort Ilocandia from 15-19 April 2014
The architecture and superficial external maintenance of the Resort is Outstanding. Sadly that is where it ends. Internally the building is shabby and in places dirty and neglected.
We were tempted to Fort Ilocandia with promises of 5 Star Facilities & Services. We got neither.
Having transported our Golf Clubs from Manila we were told that we must return to Reception in the morning to book our Tee time.On enquiring about Tee times again the next morning we were informed that the Golf Course was closed for renovation. We later found out it had been closed since the end of last year. (Seduction No.1 No mention of the Course closure in their Marketing).
The Tennis Courts have cracked, uneven and dangerous playing surface and the net is very lose and sagging. (Cannot be tightened). We went to a Special Taste of Asia Buffet. Thai, Mongolian, Japanese, Filipino cuisine advertised. We had a very limited selection of Sushi and the rest were local dishes. No Thai or Mongolian to be seen anywhere. (Seduction No.2) The promise of live entertainment in the Palm Bar amounted to a keyboard and a Male/Female Duo. The Female Singer would just about pass in a Karaoke Bar. The Male singer mumbled his way through songs and the keyboard play assisted him by playing loud out of tune backing for him. Most guessed opted for self entertainment in the Karaoke. (Seduction No.3) and it goes on. Service in the Palm Bar was slow and the strength of drinks questionable. The Buffet Breakfast can only be described as a bun fight. If there was a saving grace it was the Red 8 Chinese Restaurant. Good Menu, good food, good service. The room was cleaned on the first morning then not cleaned again we had to ask for clean towels. The quality of the airport transferred bracketed the overall experience by being overcrowded when we arrived. I sat with a case on my lap and a bag between my feet. leaving we booked and paid for a separate van, and got the oldest bone shaker in the fleet. I wouldn't stay here again and I certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Rooms were old and dirty, food was terrible - we skipped the free breakfast the second day and headed for MacD instead. The place was like deserted and very dark, and the facilities closed earlier than listed. Cannot recommend this place, it is mainly ment to cater for Chinese tourists.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My cousin took me here to tour the grounds of the hotel. But we were not allowed to go around the grounds. We were only able to go as far as the water fountain in the back.
The hotel lobby is not air conditioned. But thee was air conditioning at the few shops that they have. The staff seemed friendly.
We had dinner at Red 8. The staff there was very helpful and friendly. And the food was quite good. I didn't like that they had a smoking section in the restaurant--you could smell the smoke even from the back.
Bit overall, I think I would eat here again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laoag, Philippines
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I've been going to Fort Ilocandia since I was little, especially when Duty Free was still there. But it was my first time to check in at Fort Ilocandia when we stayed for 2 nights for my sister's wedding back in December 2012.

First, the staffs were very friendly and accommodating. Upon arrival and even when we checked out, they were there to help us with our baggage.

Second, The room we were checked in was very clean, spacious, orderly and elegant looking. We got a very big bed wherein there was still space to roll even with 3 occupants, it was super comfortable. We got all we need inside the room no wonder why the price is higher than the other hotels.

Third, the hotel's architecture is very classy. It is where most wedding receptions in Ilocos Norte are held. Everywhere you look at is very clean and shiny. It is actually quite hard to walk fast with your heels on since the design of the flooring is like small humps which is also a bit slippery so watch out.

Fourth, there are quite a lot of variations in food and entertainment there in comparison to other hotels in the province. Although the beach is not white sand, it is still relaxing to walk or bathe in the beach since it is clean and the sunset is charming. There are also karaokes offered in the cottages along the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our group booked through a Travel Agency for 6 rooms from Feb. 4 to 6, 2014. On Feb. 5, one of the rooms we occupied was robbed of cash (US$2,100 and Ph42,000 pesos), 2 cellular phones and a bag full of maintenance medicines. In the investigation, it was identified through digital entry records that a hotel staff entered the room. However, despite promises by the hotel management, no follow-up or update to us was provided after 3 weeks since the robbery took place, not even any apology or any act of sympathy. It's our conclusion that the robbery is not random, as it was committed with strong possibility that more than one person is involved to monitor movements of their hotel guests. Adding insult to injury, the hotel management is tolerating these criminal acts by sweeping the incident under the rug. We have followed-up twice with the Fort Ilocandia Manila Headquarter on the results of their investigation - but no reply was ever returned to us. Therefore, please be forewarned not to stay at Fort Ilocandia, unless you want to try your luck or you have lots of money to burn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino

Address: Barangay 37 Calayab, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Laoag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ilocandia Hotel Laoag
Fort Ilocandia Resort And Casino Laoag, Ilocos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Ilocandia Resort and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.