We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great church architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. William's Cathedral

St. William's Cathedral
Laoag, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Laoag
Attraction details
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great church architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The altar was soo nice... very rustic church.. the architecture was untouched by modern concepts and it is still holding up unlike some of the other churches..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    20
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Re-Visiting After 42 Years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It has been so many years since I was in the Cathedral and this visit is very memorable because it is the first glance of my family. The church maintained is strong and massive appearance and with the passage of time, its nearby areas has became so commercialized. Call it progress or poor urban planning......Inside, looks like time has stood still.....its interior decor has been maintained and so is the altar. Still the best place to meditate and commune with God whenever one is in the city.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“St. William's Cathedral”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This Cathedral is very near in Hotel del Norte where we stayed. It is just walking distance and also near at Sinking Bell Tower.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Worth walking into”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The church is small but lovely. It's centrally located. If you're in Laoag, it's worth going into. It is in walking distance of the museum, the bell tower, the market, and several restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
361 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
“ST. WILLIAM'S CATHEDRAL - KNOCKED 3 TIMES & PRAYED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Similar to what I did at the St. Paul Metropolitan Cathedral or the Vigan Cathedral, I knocked at the front door of the St. William's Cathedral of Laoag when I first visited it on 12.21.2012. A friend told me that my prayers would be answered if I did these knocks before entering the church for the first time.

This beautiful cathedral was constructed in 1580 per the plaque posted at its front area. It has historical significance. The American Forces used it during the 1898 Revolutionary War and by the Diocesan Congress.

Both the inside and outside areas of the cathedral are beautiful. There were beautiful gladiolas starting near the entrance doors and ending near the altar areas during my visit. The ceiling, lights, seats, carpeted aisles, altar and other areas of the Cathedral are all well-maintained and are beautiful. The high columns are embellished with gold-color paint.

The decorations of its facade resemble those of spindles or the king/queen of the chess board.The flowery decorations are additional enhancements.

Located near the Cathedral are the sinking bell tower and other attractions of Laoag . Be sure you visit this Cathedral when you're in Laoag.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. William's Cathedral also viewed

Laoag, Ilocos Norte Province
Laoag, Ilocos Norte Province
 
Laoag, Ilocos Norte Province
Laoag, Ilocos Norte Province
 

Been to St. William's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. William's Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.