We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst pensionne house I stayed at” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Balay da Blas Pensionne House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balay da Blas Pensionne House to your Saves list
Balay da Blas Pensionne House
#10 Giron St | Barangay 7-B, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Laoag B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pasig
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“worst pensionne house I stayed at”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

poor customer service, i regret of staying in this pensionne house. I did not know how they got a good reviews from customers. I booked a junior suite room but to my surprise, the room is not good. I don't even know why they describe it as a suite room. I even paid for extra bed but until late evening, they did not set-up the bed for me. This is really the worst pensionne house i have stayed. I really regret of staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    52
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was a nice surprise.
The price is excellent for the service you get. All are very friendly, including Sam, the owner. Nice Filipino breakfast. Rooms and toilets are cleaned everyday. You get free WIFI and cable in your room. Worth recommending.

Room Tip: Do not take a room in the same building as the reception because it's all in a big hall and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I originally booked at Balay da Blas last September 2011. Due to typhoon, my flight got cancelled and re-booked with them on February 2012.

Our room is located on the 2nd floor. The room is big and spacious for 2 persons. Their bathroom is clean and neat.

Staffs are warm, nice and friendly. The owner is very professional and understanding.

Our complimentary breakfast is good and tasty.

All in all, It’s true that this Pension House is a home away from home. It's perfect and highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked the Junior Executive Suite, where 3 people can comfortably stay. There's TV, living/dining room and kitchenette. We love the ambiance. The place is rustic and it feels like you are in Spanish era. Staff are very warm, accommodating and helpful. Even the owner, Mr. Sammy is truly wonderful. He patiently answers all my queries and even suggests things to do and where to go in Ilocos. Food is superb! We love the food. Especially chicken pesto pizza. You may choose to have breakfast in your room, they will deliver them to you just tell them what time you want your breakfast to be delivered. You may also choose to eat al fresco, where you feel close to nature. Mr. Sammy is also the owner of Saramsam Restaurant, do drop by and eat there. Food is delicious. If you want to buy Ilocos vinegar, do buy there because it's cheaper and authentic. Only 40pesos for a 750ml bottle. If you have itinerary and do not know how to go from one place to another, you can ask the staff at Balay da Blas and they will gladly help you on how to commute and get there. Much cheaper I say than rent their van. Best time to go to Ilocos is December. The weather is a little chilly at night and early morning but just right in the afternoon. It was such a lovely stay for us. Thanks Mr. Sammy and staff!

Room Tip: We got the room on the 2nd floor-Junior Executive Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

we enjoyed our stay in this pensionne house. staff very accommodating.the rooms are big enough with plenty of space to accomodate us. thanks to Mr Sammy Blas for the upgrade.We enjoyed the food, we'll give you thumbs up for your hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Most review here recommends this inn probably they did not end up staying at room #1.
The room we got was very stinky. The smell coming from the drainage of the bathroom is smelly all over the room which made us dizzy and barely slept that night. We complained about it and the staff cleaned the bathroom again and sprayed it to remove to odor. When we got back at night the same smell is all over the room again. I was able to talk to the owner and told him about our concern and he was very apologetic however they are fully booked at that time that is why they cannot transfer us to another room. I suggested that they should convert the room 1 to a stock room. However our friends room is okay at room 3. Our breakfast is delicious, I had tapa ilocano and an extra order of longganisa. Ambiance at the dining area is nice as there are lots of plants around us. The inn also offers free wifi.

Room Tip: Request the room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed in balay da blas for 3 days and 2 nights and I wish it was longer. The staff were very accomodating and the rooms were better than what we expected. Plus, they have a great restaurant a few blocks away and the food was superb. We are definitely booking here the next time we visit ilocos.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balay da Blas Pensionne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balay da Blas Pensionne House

Address: #10 Giron St | Barangay 7-B, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Laoag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balay da Blas Pensionne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balay Da Blas Pensionne House Hotel Laoag
Balay Da Blas Pensionne House Laoag, Ilocos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balay da Blas Pensionne House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.