We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - excellent holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aureum Palace Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aureum Palace Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Aureum Palace Spa & Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mya Pyin Village, Ngapali, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Ngapali
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - excellent holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

We (a family of 4 with 2 young children) had a wonderful holiday at Aureum. The rooms are huge with a separate living room, bedroom, dressing room, shower and toilet. Plus a jacuzzi outside. We had an oceanfront room, which was beautiful. The food was excellent and very good value. The service was impeccable, everyone was very friendly and very accomodating. They were so loving to our children! The pool is nice although I only swam once. We were at the beautiful beach and in the sea. I highly recommend this hotel. We got a very good price with Santa Maria Travels in Yangon. Ngapali is a beautiful place.

We didn't only relax on the beach, we did a few trips. They were organized by Mr. Kar Kar, who has a stand on the beach just outside the hotel. He's excellent. We went snorkeling near the islands close to Ngapali (although not many fish there), on a elephant trip and best of all: we took a tuktuk to Gor village, a beautiful fishing village and then went snorkeling with the fishermen. We experienced so much, it was remarkable. Mr. Kar Kar also took us to local eateries and nearby stupas. We loved the trips, with a lovely insight into local life.

We ate a few times in the hotel, but we also went to a restaurant called Min Thu, a 5 min walk away from the hotel (turn right when you leave the hotel). Excellent seafood, a must-try is the house specialty: prawns in coconut curry. And soooo cheap!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We spent 5 nights at the Aureum, including New Year's eve, and we loved every minute of our stay. Please refer to the long review just before this one, as I agree with everything that person said, with one exception: he or she said that the Sandoway Hotel was nicer in terms of architecture. I couldn't disagree more. The Aureum Palace was designed by a Thai architect who really understands the "contemporary Asian serene" style. I think the Aureum is one of the most attractive hotels in Southeast Asia, and I have sampled many.

In sum, the beach is beautiful; the room (actually a villa) is large, comfortable and well appointed; the food is high quality and plentiful; the service is courteous and attentive; everything is good value for the money.

The GM, Bruno, pays attention to each guest. One morning he asked if all was well. Just to have one thing to criticize, I said that the breakfast coffee was not hot enough for me, as it was being served in pretty porcelain teapots that did not retain heat well. The next morning, there were proper stainless steel thermos containers for coffee in the dining room that kept the coffee perfectly hot. I don't know how Bruno accomplished it, but he did!

While walking down the beach, we checked out the 3 or 4 "competing" hotels and consider that the Aureum is beyond doubt, the best hotel in Ngapali.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks.England
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
877 helpful votes 877 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

This report is quite comprehensive as there have been few comments on this new hotel.
POSITION
The Aureum Resort has possibly the best position on the South Ngapali Beach, some 20 minutes from the airport. There are four hotels to the north -Thande Beach, Lintha Oo Lodge, Bay View and Silver Beach. There are five to the south -Ngapali Beach Resort, Sandoway Resort, Amata Resort, Royal Beach Motel and Pleasant View Resort. Having viewed/visited them all, in our opinion Aureum has the best position as it has a rock free, slightly shelving beach which is wide at high tide and does not suffer from the erosion that occurs in front of Sandoway and others .Some of the hotels to the south, especially Sandoway and Amata have beach side high mature trees which means that some of the area is in deep shade till midday meaning sun loungers are dragged down the beach for morning sunbathing.
The sand quality all along the beach is very good - fine grained silver sand and water quality is good and the sea is always warm.
FACILITIES
The accommodation is in individual single storey link detached bungalows in three categories -garden/pool view cottage (35), ocean view cottage (6) and one executive cottage with private plunge pool. All have air-con, satTV, safe, coffee making facilities, large fully fitted bathrooms and an outside area with chairs. Big hotel generator provides constant electricity and each room has its own hot water supply giving instant hot water. The large, well maintained, gardens are quickly filling up with exotic growth and unlike other hotels the areas are grassed – very cool.
There is a large freeform pool
There is a delightful reception lobby with great views, a shop, business centre, Spa, and you can eat either on the boat deck ,the main restaurant or on the Pirate ship or in the Sushi bar. Golf, boat trips, market visits are all available.
OUR VISIT AND OPINIONS
This was our fourth visit to the area and our first impressions were very good as the transport from the airport to Aureum was in modern air conditioned cars rather than the coaches and ancient (although authentic and atmospheric) buses used by other hotels. We overtook them all as ours had suspension! Arrival is breathtaking with a short walk along a teak walkway with ocean views beyond. Check in was quick and we were welcomed by the resident GM , Bruno Chagnon and were soon in our cottage. The quality of decor is very high as our pictures show and the bonus was the large dressing/storage area. The bathroom mirror lighting was like a theatre make up room! The beds are large and comfortable with a nightly turndown.
The beach area is swept every day and the loungers are also comfortable with palm shades.
As we arrived after New Year the occupation levels dropped from 75% to 50% but even if the hotel had been full there were sufficient sun loungers and shades on the beach. Good quality and plentiful beach towels and also snorkels, fins, masks and children’s beach toys were available.
Guests were predominately an upmarket mix of Russian and German speakers with Italians, French and expats making up the balance – all very cosmopolitan and a nice mix with all capable of using good English to converse with the Burmese staff.
The GM confessed that they are heavily marketing the Resort in Germany, Ukraine, Russia and Italy as there are so few visitors from the UK ,the US and Australasia due to the pressure on Travel Agents in those countries by the Pro Burma Democracy groups.
Shame - the locals need our tourist $’s.
Breakfast was a very good buffet with an egg station and as comprehensive as it comes.
The food options for lunch and dinner were excellent and the flexibility of menus a great benefit. You could chose from daily specials, a la carte, snack menu, room service menu and a tapas menu and mix and match and the chef would amend dishes/sauces/vegetable choice on request. Prices were competitive bearing in mind that many items have to flown in and the daily fresh fish was wonderful. The service was very good with most serving staff, although recruited locally, having decent English and always delighted if you practice your few words of Burmese on them. Wine was $15-25++, bottle of beer or large glass wine $5, club sandwich (excellent) $7 and seafood specials circa $15. Happy hour on the Pirate Bar was $8 for two strong large cocktails.
There is also the flexibility of eating out at other Hotels or at one of the many sea food restaurants on the back road-whole fresh grilled fish $6 – we also enjoyed two large sunset cocktails at Silver Beach for $4.
Thought the Spa was a bit expensive – twice the price of the Savoy, Yangon and no way near as good.
If one thing could be improved it would be the beach drinks service – you had to wander to the restaurant to get a drink. Maybe if it was full the Pirate Bar and Beach Smoothie Bar would have been manned. Also, for what it would cost why not a cold towel and iced water service for the beach as would happen at a similar hotel in the UAE - costs little but means a lot? That is our only gripe.
CONCLUSION
I think this is the best of the top hotels on Ngapali beach. Whilst Sandoway is architecturally superior with many style features the Aureum has an open feel and the service is very efficient and friendly and not so reserved –what you really want for a beach resort.
The menu options are also superior and the sun loungers, with deep mattresses, are far more comfortable than the ones on the beach at Sandoway.
This is as good as many top hotels in the South of Thailand with the advantage of a better beach, no jellyfish and priced much cheaper and with the real Burma on your doorstep.
Hope to return.........

Web site http://www.aureumpalacehotel.com/index-ngapali.htm

  • Liked — Location,gardens,accomodation, great food and efficient and friendly service.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

What can I say - this new hotel resort is in the prime position on Ngapali beach. The accommodation is in stylish single storey cottages with air con/flat screen TV,coffee/tea facilities and a great bathroom with indoor/outdoor shower.
Each has its own sundeck surrounded by tropical gardens and either garden,pool or sea view.
Large inviting freeform pool and popular Spa (do book)
Lovely loungers under palm shades on fine silver sand.
The staff are very friendly and give a very efficient but relaxed service and the food ,from a variety of 5 menus is beautifully prepared and presented. Good value too, as are the drinks.
Highly recommend the amuse bouche/tapas menu.
Nice mix of clientel of many nations.
The French GM is very hands on and friendly and supported by his Burmese,Indian,Thai and Japanese chefs.
Visited most of the other hotels on the beach and whilst Sandoway is very stylish we would prefer the Aureum for its' position,dining options,pricing and friendly efficient staff.

  • Liked — Best position on the beach,lovely pool and really tasty food and cocktails.
  • Disliked — Nothing at all.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aureum Palace Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureum Palace Spa & Resort

Address: Mya Pyin Village, Ngapali, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ngapali
#5 Spa Hotel in Ngapali
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aureum Palace Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Aureum Palace Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureum Palace Spa And Resort
Aureum Palace Hotel Ngapali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aureum Palace Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.