We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beach hotel, worth paying for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amata Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Amata Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amata Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corner of West Horse Race Course Street | Mya Pyin Village Ngapali Beach, Ngapali, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Ngapali
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach hotel, worth paying for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is great: really good service, lovely rooms (ours right by the beach), great food and drink. Well worth spending the extra cash to stay here: lovely! It's right by the beach and the hotel picks you up from the airport. Breakfast is particularly good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    53
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
102
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our visit was lovely. The hotel is pretty slick but really, the jewel is the beach that it fronts! Overall I don't know if I'd rush back to this resort but at the same time, I can think of little negative about it. There is not much accommodation that actually sits on the beach where you look out on the water. Most is hidden behind in immaculately kept garden settings. The beach view cabins are very stylish and comfortable. The breakfasts served overlooking the beach were extraordinary for the range and quality of food. Really wonderful. We had our lunches and dinners at local restaurants on the sand up and down the beach which were basic but lovely with lovely ambiance and of course views of the sun setting as we sipped our Gin and Tonics. The resort restaurant is reasonably priced (for resorts) but much more expensive than local restaurants. The bicycles for hire are old and badly maintained.

Room Tip: Check what and where your room is. eg, not all 'ocean view' cabins are created equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a lovely resort this is - and in such a beautiful setting. From arrival we had no complaints whatsoever. From the staff at reception to the housekeeping team - every single member of staff were truly delightful. We enjoyed meals at the restaurant every night of our week stay and breakfast was excellent with so many food options and your choice of eggs made to order just as you liked. Nice pool if you wanted it and stunning viewsa with amazing sunsets. The building is amazing and our room on the first floor of the unit which had a lovely ocean view - lovely to wake up to. Very spacious accommodation that included all the essentials. Our shower was over a bath tub located next to a glazed window panel which wasn't the best of installations as it soaked the frame but we mopped up as best we could. In the heat it wouldn't have taken long to dry out anyway. The beach is pristine and the memory of our sunrise strolls along much of its length will remain with me for a long long time. Visit Amata - a lovely lovely perfect stay at beautiful Ngapali.

Room Tip: Ocean views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our cabana cabin was wonderful and HUGE! Many families would be happy to live in such spacious accomodation which was also clean and well maintained. The bedroom is on a mezzanine floor which did mean a nightly downstairs trip to the loo, which I can assure a previous reviewer did not bother this " elderly" couple at all. In fact our only slightly negative comment on our accomodation was, that our front garden hammock, was too low which made it nearly impossible for me to get out ! Still it heartily entertained my husband as I tried! The whole place is well maintained ( we simply could not find the problems of poor maintenance mentioned in comments of some months ago! and the setting on the wonderful Ngapoli beach only enhanced our stay. It was like staying in many other tropical paradises 50 years ago! Absolutely 100% recommended with excellent restaurants close by and those gorgeous myanmar people I can fully understand why some people stay here on a very refgular basis. Bliss

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a terrific stay at Amata. I spent quite a bit of time prior to our trip to Burma looking at all the various options in Ngapali and was torn between 3-4 places. When we got there, I visited my other choices in a moment of second guessing. I made the absolute right choice with Amata.
We had a great two story cabana that was very nicely appointed. We basically just slept there, but should you choose to spend time in your room, it was extemely comfortable. The bed upstairs has mosquito netting but we never needed it. I liked the open shower in the bathroom with the window so you could look out. We had a fridge to keep my beers cold. (there is a store that sells beer directly across from the front gate at less than half of what the hotel charges) The grounds are just beautiful, with so many different blooming flowers everywhere.
The breakfast was excellent, with a ton of options-both Burmese and western. . You could also get eggs made to order and pancakes. The pastry selections were very good. Lots of seasonal fresh fruit and juices. Sitting outside by the pool with this massive buffet was a great way to start the day. Note...get there early if possible. It was packed every morning the week we were there.
The food in the restaraunt is very good, if not somewhat pricey. Be warned that the portions are huge. My wife and I split an entree after watching several other tables struggle with all the food and it was still more than enough. Do yourself (and the locals) a favor and head out the front gate for dinner at least once. There are several restaraunts within a 2 minute walk, all of which have unbelievably good food at less than half of what the resorts charge. Most of them feature whatever came off of the boat that morning. Local ladies selling fresh fruit every day down by the beach chairs They have whatever is fresh and will cut it up for you in seconds. Nice break in the heat of the day. Look for Aye Aye Soe and her little daughter Phyo Phyo. She would bring us homemade treats each day.
Very nice bar. I was a bit siuprised that the waiters did not work the beach chair area. They could have tripled their business if they had staff down there taking drink orders.
The pool is awkard. Nice enough pool, but it is set in the middle of the dining area and no real area to lay out. If you jumped in, you worried about getting the folks dining wet.
The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful and never crowded. Turn left and head down to the PVI restaraunt out on the rock jetty. There are also several little beach restaraunts down there that do a very good job and have sunset Happy Hours. Turn right and stroll down to the mermaid stature on the rocks. Early in the morning there are lots of seashells to find.
If you book a snorkel trip with one of the locals, ask for Chip. He wears a green army hat. Hands down does the best job, cooks you an amazing fresh seafood lunch on a deserted beach and is 5,000 kyats cheaper than the rest of the crowd..
We had an outstanding stay at Amata. I could not have been happier with my choice.
The staff was all exceptionally friendly. The airport transfers were flawless and they send a staff member back to the airport with you and she handles all the immigration and check in procedures while you have one last cold beer in Ngapali.

Room Tip: Slip back to your room around noon to turn your a/c back on and lower your shades. The maids turn i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a fantastic few nights at Amata. The staff was very helpful and John, the GM was super personable. Our bungalow was super clean and comfortable. The beach is pristine and lovely. Wifi was slow, but worked. Our fave restaurant, 2 Brothers is practically across the street, making Amata's location perfect. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Comfortable villa units with some faults. The bedroom is upstairs and the bathroom and toilet downstairs.This is difficult for elderly people especially at night. The area to hang clothes is too high and out of reach for most people.
Coffee making facilities in each room
On the plus side the service is excellent and the restuarant good.
Situated on a beautiful beach and close to many restuarants. The beach attendants could be more pro active in handing out towels and keeping the lounges in the shade as the weather is very warm most of the time.

Room Tip: away from reception and restuarants
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amata Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amata Resort and Spa

Address: Corner of West Horse Race Course Street | Mya Pyin Village Ngapali Beach, Ngapali, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ngapali
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ngapali
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amata Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amata resort & spa, Myanmar's most exclusive international beach resort, stretches along the beautiful shoreline of Ngapali, Myanmar's premier beach. The resort covers more than five acres of tropical wonderland and guests are luxuriously accommodated in eighty teak, bamboo, cane and rattan cabana, bungalows and suites. The resort is flanked by a 400 meter seaside boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Amata Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amata Hotel Ngapali
Amata Resort Ngapali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amata Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.