We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Umbrella

The Green Umbrella
Ngapali Beach, Ngapali, Myanmar
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Ngapali
Cuisines: Burmese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Keerbergen, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Heaven on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Right on the beach, plain good food, perfect service, a big smile and a free desert on top makes The Green Umbrella our best restaurant on our 2 week Myanmar trip. Go, go, go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    26
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscany, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“our favorite restaurant on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We just loved the food there, the service and the whole atmosphere. It s family run place, they even offer desserts (banana flambé)If you cannot finish your bottle of wine, they pack it up for you. Try to be there early as it is not so big, you can book a table in advance.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Friendly staff,fresh fish and cold beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The title says it all. Our family party ate at four of the beach shacks,all very good in their own way, and we returned here twice so that is a recommendation in its self.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Really lovely seafood on the beach. Well deserving of the many great reviews it already has on TripAdvisor!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the most romantic and pleasant restaurants ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Afrer being dissapointed with the Burmese oily cuisine in general I was very pleasantly surprised of how the Burmese cuisine can be delicious presented by the Green Umbrella. I spent 3 days in Ngapali and after tasting prawn red curry I couldn't go anywhere else. It was not only the food but surprisingly coctails were delicious equally.
The most appreciated was the service. The very nice owner who comes to check himself if everything is allright. And nothing could beat the steamed banana in a coconut sauce. I recommend this place to everybody.
Yummie, yumiee!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Umbrella also viewed

 

Been to The Green Umbrella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Umbrella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.