We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thande Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Thande Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Thande Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   on Ngapali Beach | Myapyin Village, Thandwe, Ngapali 9543, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Ngapali
Surrey, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We've just returned from our second stay at this hotel, each time after a tour of Myanmar and looking forward to a relaxing beach break. This hotel certainly provides this! We had a front row beach view villa which was spacious, clean and well equipped with air-conditioning, tv, large bathroom/wet room, tea and coffee making facilities, safety deposit box, etc. There were also 2 very comfortable loungers on the verandah with views directly over the beach. Lovely gardens, staff, breakfast, location. Such a quiet beach with a few friendly vendors, and a few seafood beach bars which all had local cold beers, cocktails and freshly cooked seafood which couldn't be faulted. And SO CHEAP! Fab! The hotel beachfront restaurant served excellent food from breakfast to lunches and evening meals. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Beach front villas are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    51
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
108
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Thande Beach hotel website is rubbish and doesn’t fairly reflect the hotel so I was pleased to find it to be a lot better than I’d seen online. The hotel Is quite a big area with nice gardens that spread from the road to the beach. The restaurant/breakfast area is pleasant and overlooks the beach.

The standard rooms are in a block at the front of the hotel and next to the road so the rooms at the back get all the noise from the road which was what I experienced. The room is small and a bit dated but the bathroom has been renovated recently (it seems) including a good rain shower. Unfortunately the shower is open in the bathroom (i.e. no cubicle) so the floor gets wet and is quite dangerous.

The rest of the room is old but functional. I found it very dark, dingy and smelled of damp/mildew. The small balcony is not especially useful because of the road noise so close. But there are quite a lot of loungers on the beach area with umbrellas and plenty of small restaurants on the beach nearby to sit at.

The staff were also helpful (if not particularly friendly) and gave sensible travel information rather than trying to sell the (overpriced) hotel facilities such as the hotel car.

Do note there is also free pick up and drop-off to the airport (in an antique bus) although this isn’t made clear on the booking.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 06 and 11 as they back on to the noisy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to relax after 2 weeks touring Myanmar. Located right on Ngapali Beach, the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the restaurant, on a deck overlooking the beach, serves a great breakfast buffet and the great seafood dinners are competitive with the many alternate options along the beach. The deck is also a great place to enjoy the sunset during happy hour. Local beers are cheap and good and the cocktails appealed to my wife.
We hired bikes and rode all along the strip from the fishing village to the airport checking out the other hotels and believe Thande Beach Hotel is in the best location even if it is not the newest resort. An added bonus is the friendly and professional staff. The single level bungalows are spaced so that everyone has a view of the beach which we think is preferable.
Highly recommended. We will be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan da Cunha
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Thande Beach Hotel is the best quality/price ratio you’ll find in Ngapali. The location is ideal, the room aren’t perfect but pretty nice, spacious and clean. The staff is doing a great work and is very helpful. The food is not what they do best but there are several good restaurants around (don’t forget to book) so it’s not a problem. Some friends were staying in a hotel nearby, more luxurious and much more expensive: they had a nice room (better decoration and furniture) but they paid more than us and were behind other buildings (with no view) when our room had a beautiful view, facing the beach and the Bay of Bengal.

If you want a very good hotel and don’t want to feel you're throwing your money out of the window, there is no other place where to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and it was close to perfect.

Ngapali is a beautiful area of the world and this hotel is positioned perfectly. The staff are fantastic and attentive, the breakfast is divine, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean, cocktails and happy hour were all delicious (although I'd ask them to leave out the sugar syrup if you don't have a sweet tooth).

Our only issue was the Internet not working but that was a problem at all hotels while we were visiting as they were building a new road (we walked to another one and checked)!

I hope to come back one day.

Room Tip: The beach front bungalow was worth the extra money. What a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed for 6 wonderful nights. Hotel room was on the 2nd floor (room 3007) looking out over the garden and thru the trees we could see the beach. The room had a huge terrace with a drying rack, coffee table and 2 wicker loungers. Inside the room was a comfortable bed, tv, desk, wardrobe , safe and mini bar. The bathroom had an "open" shower and a tub. Toiletries were replaced daily. Staff came in at dusk to do a turn down service, spray for mosquitos (if you wished) and replace the beach towels. The only thing missing was a bureau to put your clothes in. The room was very large, a/c worked well and the linens were clean.
Breakfast was buffet style and very good with lots of Western dishes. We did eat at the restaurant for several lunches and while we did not have an issue, on 2 occasions we noticed people complaining as they only received part of their orders.
The beach…what can I say…spectacular. Loungers with pads under a bamboo thatched umbrella. The only beach vendors were the lovely ladies who provided fruit (coconuts, melons, bananas, pineapples etc all cut up fresh while you watched). A short walk down the beach will bring you to several beachside eateries, a few vendors selling local souvenirs, and massage shops (cheap and good). The water was clean, no seaweed or trash and sand as far out as you could go. This beach does have rocky areas however they are easy to see and at low tide provide and interesting location to walk around. The area in front of Thande is clear of rocks.
Wifi service, as with most of Myanmar was not good.
Having walked the considerable length of the beach, I would say that the Thande is one of the best in terms of value, and location. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We can recommend room 3007 which is located on 2nd floor bungalow in the centre of the garden. Excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a really wonderful hotel. The location is gorgeous, the rooms excellent, the staff warm, capable, and friendly. The included breakfast is superb and the restaurant serves very good local food at good prices. Also it's close to great beachside eating and cheap good massages.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thande Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thande Beach Hotel

Address: on Ngapali Beach | Myapyin Village, Thandwe, Ngapali 9543, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Ngapali
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Ngapali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thande Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching along white sand and blue sea of alluring Ngapali Beach, Thande Beach Hotel sits on lush landscaped tropical garden with modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Booking.com so you can book your Thande Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thande Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.