We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tourist Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Tea Restaurant

Green Tea Restaurant
Shwe Oo Min Cave Road | Singaung quarter, Pindaya, Myanmar
081-66344
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Pindaya
Cuisines: Burmese
Restaurant details
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A Tourist Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stopped here after visiting a cave filled with images of Buddha. The restaurant is one of the tourist stops in town and the prices are tourist prices but are still very cheap compared to North American standards. The view from the dining area is a nice lake surrounded by the town, very pleasant and relaxing.
The menu had a wider selection than the standard Chinese and tourist Myanmar food of most of the restaurants. The food was very good and I would eat there again if I were to be in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Nice setting. So so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had lunch here on the way back from Pindaya. The setting is absolutely lovely, and we were lucky to get a table by the lake. Unfortunately the curries we ordered were quite bland. The restaurant was more expensive than others, but it offered good value considering the location.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Nice Burmese food in a delightful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We found a tendency for tour operators in Myanmar to go preferentially to European type restaurants (e.g. Italian) which is extremely peculiar as one usually wants to eat the local types of food, which we found generally very good indeed. This is a restaurant with a marvellous setting overlooking a lake and serving Burmese food. The food is typically a kind of mild curry but with decent-sized chunks of meat (or fish or whatever). I can only agree with other high-rated reviews - all scrupulously clean, including lavatories. Certainly recommended and if on a tour in the area I'd push your guide to go there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norddeutschland
Top Contributor
647 reviews 647 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
538 helpful votes 538 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a good setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The loaction is very nice, directy at an artificial lake so if you have one of the tables at the water it makes for y very relaxing meal. The place is very clean (incl the lavatories), well kept and the trees give a nice shade.

The menu is big but not too big with all kinds of food, vegetarian, fish, meat and has some interesting combinations. They do offer that you place your order before you go up to the cave so while you are there it is then freshly made.

It turned out to be tasty, fresh, not too oily, spicy and well decorated and if you look ta the prices, just 4-5 € will feed you there.

All in all one of the nicest meals we had in Myanmar.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Although it is one of the few places you can eat in Pindaya, the quality of the food here is great, with a wide variety on the menu. Our meals were fresh and very tasty. Service was excellent with lots of smiles. The view over the little man made lake is very pleasant. Prices were very good. Pity it doesn't open for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Tea Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Green Tea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Tea Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.