We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the location!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel to your Saves list
Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ban Phonesavanh, Phonsavan, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not bad for the location!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is what would normally be classed as a very average hotel but given its localtion in Phonsavanh, Laos it is one of the better hotels in town.

The Hotels reception is somewhat dated to say the least however the staff are frienndly and helpful and the rooms, while basic, are large and clean. As other reviews have suggested the beds are very hard but this has appeared to be the norm in most of the hotels stayed in in Laos during our trip.

The restaurant at the hotel served a basic but nice dinner, however, the breaskfast would have to rate down there with the worst encountered. Breakfast consisted of a few pieces of fruit, no cerial, a few fried cold eggs and cold scrambled egges in a bay marie and some warmed baguettes. The best part was the coffee!!!

The hotel is located a little way out of town but provided a shuttle bus service which was readily available and good.

Overall, given the location it was not a bad hotel and probably better than many others there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    51
    59
    21
    7
See reviews for
13
73
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Au, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had one of the larger cabins with living room, bedroom, and bath. All of the cabins are surrounded by beautiful flowering trees and the setting is pleasant. The food is basic but good. I did not see another hotel in the area that I would have wanted to stay in.

The dining room is being enlarged and the number of cabins is being increased. It seems that a large increase is visitors is expected soon. The Plain of Jars is scheduled to become a World Heritage Site in the near future.

We engaged a taxi driver at the airport to take us to the hotel, Name: Mr. Noud Phetrasy , E-mail: rasapet_lao@yahoo.com. Mobil : 020 22967213. He spoke excellent English and when I asked where he learned it, he told me his Daddy taught him. Where did his Daddy learn English? From the American POW's in Laos. after we arrived and arrange our trip to Site 1 the same afternoon and we spend about two hour, he explain us how the jars was made, how they transport them how old they’re, and we feel like we can see the pass, it’s amazing what we have learn about the jars culture and the war history , Mr. Noud father is the man who open up the plain of jars to the public and cleared the U.X.O from the site, next day he took us to jars site 2 ,site 3, only the way make unusual stop and explain you know? our area has the most bombing in Laos, more than 90 millions clusters bomb it's drops on Laos, Now there'r two team that's helps clearing and the U.X.O and they exploded 200 bombs a day, by the time one man just walk out with uniform of U.X.O Lao, said sabaidee, and took us to the field and show us the 5 bombs explored , it’s amazing we never seen something like this for our travel in Laos, we’re highly recommend Mr. Noud phetrasy if you go to phonsavan and want to have good experience go to visit him.
two night is all the time needed for this area. You will never see a more basic airport than the one at Vansana.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Although the weather was cool, the view from the room at the top of the hill was enjoyable. The food for breakfast was just OK, but the dinners were tasty. Try the mashed potatos- as good you can get anywhere.

Room Tip: Got to get the room on second floor for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Aust
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We found the suite reasonable well appointed, but the bed was SO hard... and to shower, we needed to almost kneel. It is set too low on the wall. The staff kindly loaned us a heater as the nights get extremely cold. The wifi, only available in reception, seems to go 'down' for much of the day. We could not say we would recommend the dining room, having eaten one dinner and two breakfasts here. The driver kindly ran around after us as it is a difficult road to negotiate i. The dark, altogether a country dirt track. With the growth in tourism here, there is room for a new player to lift the standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phonsavan hotels

Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A pleasant hotel consisting of sets of four one storey units set in attractive landscaping. It is situated on a knoll overlooking the town and the countryside. The rooms are of an adequate size with modest bathroom facilities. The breakfast and dinner offerings are quite good but the restaurant dinner service was pretty slow one evening because of the tour groups staying there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Phonsavan is located at an average elevation of 1100m and this hotel is located on a hill about 1300m.
I find the hotel rather charming. A small terrace with table & chairs outside my room with great views. Also, great views at the breakfast restaurant.
The hotel is rather basic but there is water heater for the shower and hair dryer provided. TV in room. Wifi available only at the lobby. No electric kettle to boil water.
It can be dark at night with not much lighting, so do bring a torchlight.
Also, the temperature really dipped at night (think 10 Deg Celsius), so do bring warm clothing! There is no heating provided in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We enjoyed our experience here. Beds were a bit hard but got used to it by the second night! Staff were friendly and helpful. Great views and location , short and interesting walk to town, not a problem. Torch at night. We were met at airport, which was not booked, so that was very nice. The driver/guide, Tong, spoke excellent English. We hired Tong (856)02055875589 (Saibadee Travel) for two days of sightseeing . This experience was unique and unbelievable as Tong took us to major attractions but also off the beaten track and we learnt so much about culture, history, and daily life which was the highlight of our time in Laos. Due to travel sickness history, we also hired Tong to drive us to Luang Prabang. If in Phonsovan, RING TONG!!

Room Tip: **no swimming pool or fitness centre - just couldn't get rid of dots!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel

Address: Ban Phonesavanh, Phonsavan, Laos
Location: Laos > Xiangkhouang Province > Phonsavan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Phonsavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vansana Plain Of Jars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.