We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboozle! Restaurant & Bar

Bamboozle! Restaurant & Bar
Number 73 Unit 5, Phonsavan 735, Laos (Formerly Bamboozle!)
+856 309523913
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Phonsavan
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Hamburgers, International, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Catering for both travellers and locals in Phonsavan, 'Bamboozle!' Is a bamboo-themed restaurant and bar, with a range of both international and asian dishes, as well as a wide selection of drinks. Specialties at Bamboozle! Include goat cheese dishes, cream of pumpkin soup, vegetable tempura, tofu laab, homemade 12-inch pizzas and "The Best Burger around". Drinks include a range of ice cold beers, spirits, cocktails and house wines. In mulberry season, we have our popular mulberry shakes, mojitos, teas and wines. We have free and fast wifi, local gifts for sale, local info and occasional live acoustic music. Open daily for breakfast (7am-10.30Am) and dinner/bar (3.30Pm-11pm).
UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A welcome surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We ate here at least twice a day when we were in Phonsavan. Pricey but totally worth it for truly excellent food and decor. The mulberry pancakes went down a treat, and the packed lunches were awesome. Good wi-fi too.
Staff seemed a little overwhelmed when it got busy but no big deal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    40
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Place in Phonsavan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Having tried other places in Phonsavan I found this to be the best. Great food, good prices, friendly staff, great decor (all bamboo). The owner is from Scotland and can provide you with loads of local information and trip ideas. He will even provide you with packed lunches to take on your trips.

Maybe not the most well known place in Phonsavan, but definitely the best!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“outstanding welcoming place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

So logic to use bamboo in this country but so unexpected to find this charming stylish place an this otherwise uninspiring town. Good food and drinks, good athmosphere as everybody seems to enjoy the place. Friendly, knowledgable staff.
Very interesting concept to support the young disadvantaged from the area.
Wish them good luck!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muara, Brunei Darussalam
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great hangout place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

was here on chirstmas day with a few friends. we had the most interesting experience - there was a man who sat muttering to himself. at first we didnt really think much of it but then he started to bang the tables and shouted to the ceiling. i got scared. the people around us were a little nervous but then the Scottish owner handled it very professionally and threw him out. i calmed down a bit after he played good music on his guitar. The staffs there are really lovely. They have good take away food in the morning if you have an early trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this place whilst staying in Phonsavan and were glad we did. All the staff, including the Scottish owner were lovely and friendly. They even made us up a packed lunch to take with us for our bus ride on request. The food was great, with a nice choice of Western and Asian dishes. It was a great place to relax after a busy day, and they even had live music some nights.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboozle! Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
 
Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
Phonsavan, Xiangkhouang Province
 

Been to Bamboozle! Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboozle! Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.