We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just simply relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow to your Saves list
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sisavang Street | ban viengkeo, Vangvieng District, Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just simply relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

What can I say, bungalows, no tv and the river just outside what more could you ask for. We were greeted with a welcome drink and shown to our bungalow. The rooms were extremely clean and all had a balcony which was great to relax with a beer. The breakfast was good and you could sit at the restaurant and enjoy food or a drink and watch the boats and kayakers go by. There was a mosquito net but to be honest did not see many mosquitos during my stay. The town Centre is just a short walk away and the hotel can arrange a bus or mini van to Luang Prabang or Vietianne at a price of course. If you are Vang Vieng and just want to relax then this is the place and reasonably priced. So glad we found this place and if you like a bit of peace and quiet after a hard day you can’t go past this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    123
    45
    17
    16
See reviews for
28
143
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed in one of the bungalows in Nov 2103, the location and views are amazing which is why I’ve given a very good rating. The bungalow its self like other reviewers have pointed out needs upgrading, the room is very basic but it adds to the authenticity of the place. Might not be to everyone’s taste but for a couple traveling through Laos it was perfect for us! The welcome drink on arrival was an added bonus on a hot day - thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The bungalows are basic but quaint and all you need. Although small you don't spend much time in there anyway so the location makes up for the size! Right on the river with the beautiful mountains surrounding we couldn't be happier waking up to such a beautiful sight every day! The restaurant has delicious food and a 10% discount for those staying in a bungalow... Our favourite dish that we had at the restaurant was the steamed fish in a banana leaf - yum! The free breakfast is also great and the service is quick. Would definitely come back

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Ban Sabai is by far the nicest place we stayed at during our 3 week holiday in Laos.
The staff is very friendly and speaks very good English.
The bungalows are very cosy and the location of the restaurant alongside the river is also very charming plus the food is really good.
I can really recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We took 2 nights stay in the only twin-bed bungalow at the premise. We love the beautiful river view. You could just dine by the side of the river and enjoy watching the local folks doing their daily activities. Occasionally, your mental bliss is interrupted by a noisy passing motor boat.

The manager and staff at the reception and guesthouse were very nice. They were friendly and tried hard to make your stay there enjoyable.

Lighting in the room is intentionally low, so all light readings should be done at the balcony on the deck chair. Free wifi is available, however the signal is weak on several occasions. There is no TV or fridge in the room. There is a house rule on food consumption which is for a good cause. The Manager requested that all foods should be stored at the Front Desk area and not in the room. This is to prevent pests infestation in all the rooms. Daily room cleaning is done upon request. ( Booking was done via Agoda and reception process was fast and easy.)

Overall, the price and good service level at the property deserved a "VERY GOOD" rating from us. Well done and Thank-you Ban Sabai staff for making us stay memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went to Vang Vieng for a couple days out of Vientiane. Ban Sabai offers a great relaxing location in Vang Vieng with friendly staff and a great view on the river. We enjoyed drinks in the hotel's restaurant from where you can locals (as well as tourists!) on and around the river. The rooms are charming. Also the surrounding area is beatifull, with, next to tubing, great possibilities for mountain biking and hiking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

After a couple of days of travel to and from Phonsavan we chose Ban Sabai for a few days of relaxation. Upon hearing that the whole backpacker-tubing-drinking-thing was not the big party it once was anymore we decided to book three nights and we were glad we did. The surroundings of Vang Vieng are great and there are enough activities to spend a few days. Vang Vieng however seems to be a place in transition: the backpackerplaces are running empty, and there are not yet very many places that offer good quality for tourists with more to spend.
Ban Sabai is really our kind of place. We had a nice bungalow (I don't think it was upgraded yet, but it was charming and clean) with a terrace. The restaurant serves good quality meals, snacks and drinks all day and the views are stunning. The staff at the reception is friendly, but it took the guys serving in the restaurant until the last day to make contact and give us a smile, they always understood us well however.
In the last year a big hotel was build directly behind the poolbungalows. The big groups staying there are sometimes noisy in the morning and so are the boats in the river. We weren't bothered, but perhaps the bungalows a little further from the river offer better sleep quality.
The pool is small, but seems bigger in real live than in the pictures. It's nice for cooling down after a day of mountain biking or walking.
Recommended for a few days of r&r!

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 14, but probably bungalows 10 and 11 are a bit more quiet since they are furth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow

Address: Sisavang Street | ban viengkeo, Vangvieng District, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.