We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but...noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow

Save Saved
You added Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow
Sisavang Street | ban viengkeo, Vangvieng District, Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Vang Vieng
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice, but...noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Nice location and good price. a big building is on construction at 2 meters from my room and it was not so good during the day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

We try to keep a good value for money and i am glad that you agreed to that. Thank you.
As for the construction next door, we ask them to start after 9am and finish at 4pm.
The noise is usually acceptable.

Tai,
General Manager
Ban Sabai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    116
    43
    16
    13
See reviews for
24
136
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We are currently staying in the bungalows and while the rooms are nice, they are in a good location and the views are beautiful. There is major construction going on next door. The drilling is going on non stop and really wrecks the experience of this hotel. We were first put in a room right next to the construction which we immediately asked if we could move, which we could only if we paid more. So we paid extra but we didn't really escape the noise.
It is a shame because everything else about this place is great.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review. We have asked the neighbors not to build before 9am and to stop at 4pm so the guests can have a pleasant sunset on the river and get some sleep in the morning.
As per the noise during the day, it really varies from day to day.

Regards,

Tai, General Manager,
Ban Sabai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Pleasant location, walkable to eateries and bars. Very friendly staff throughout. Reception staff helped us arrange tuc-tuc for very fair rates.
Bungalows so much nicer than the usual hotel rooms.
Good breakfasts with attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment about your recent experience at Ban Sabai. We are always delighted to see new faces and hear about new experiences. Ban Sabai has always been an oasis away from the chaos of downtown Vang Vieng!
I have read your comments to the reception team and you made their day !!!

Tai,

General Manager
Ban Sabai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

There are a few different room types at this place. Where we stayed, the walls seemed to be wafer thin. The young ladies in the next room were not being particularly noisy, but we could here every word they said.
Every other mid-range property we had stayed at in Laos had cable TV. But not this place. Which meant I was unable to watch the news and follow the disastrous floods happening back home. The staff will say that they removed the TV's so guests could better relax. but the real reason is the aforementioned wafer thin walls.
They make a big deal out of having free wireless internet in all the rooms. But the signal was very weak and mostly I couldn't connect with my smart phone.
The staff are very friendly and accommodating and make a big effort to please the guests. The location is perfect, right on the river, but close to the town centre. The beds are clean and comfortable. But with all the noise coming from adjacent rooms at all hours, I did not sleep well and would not go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InthiraMD, General Manager at Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to read that you had a bad sleep with us at Ban Sabai.
Our bungalows are made of traditional bamboo and we tried to integrate them in the lush garden without ruining it. Not having TV has been a deliberate choice from the beginning (12 years ago) as we want you to get away from the world and enjoy your experience with us.
Right now, the WIFI is only good at the reception but thanks to your comment i will look into having it in the rooms as well. This will not help you relax but i understand it is more and more requested.

In case you decide to come back to Vang Vieng, please do contact me.

With regards,


Tai
General Manager
bookingbb@inthira.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

The location directly on the river and within easy walking distance of town make Ban Sabai a great location for a visit to Vang Vieng.

The staff responded instantly to any of our requests including arranging boats for a tour on the river.

The included breakfast was excellent. Being cooked to order and served HOT makes a lot of difference.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I was there during New Year 2010. It was not crowded as expected. The room is nice but not large space especially in bathroom. The service is good though as well as the breakfast. I love ข้าวต้มหมูส้ม. It really decicious even though it is not in the menu but you can ask them to trade with the normal one.

Rating service 4 out of 5 points
Rating accomodation & view 4.5 out of 5 point

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011 via mobile

This place was fantastic. The rooms were neat and nice, the people at Reception arranged heaps of stuff for us like Hot Air Ballooning etc so they were really helpful. The free breakfast was delicious too.

The shower in my room wasn't fantastic (hot but no pressure) but people in the rooms around me had good showers.

Other than that; the hotel was great and I'd go again

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow

Address: Sisavang Street | ban viengkeo, Vangvieng District, Vang Vieng, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow Hotel Vang Vieng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban Sabai Riverside Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.