We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic views, reasonable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Elephant Crossing Hotel to your Saves list
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
161 hotel reviews
Reviews in 210 cities Reviews in 210 cities
667 helpful votes 667 helpful votes
“Idyllic views, reasonable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

We spent two nights here travelling between Luang Prabang an Vientienne, Viang Vieng being an ideal place for a day or so.
The view of the river and sourounding countryside is fantastic from the hotel. Having a riverside position and a waterside patio for serving food etc it is hard to overstate the location. Cannot remember eating breakfast somewhere as gorgeous as this !
The hotel it's self is ok - nothing spectacular but certainly nothing wrong with it. Staff are very attentive happy and helpfull. There is a reliable reasonable speed free wifi as well. Insulated by a few hundred yards from the noise and what have you of the backpacker set if you fancy a quiter stay in Vang Vieng this is certainly worth concidering.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    105
    75
    26
    12
See reviews for
30
128
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Vang Vieng is a crude place. It has developed rapidly into a backpacker's haven. The Elephant Crossing is an oasis in the midst of chaos. It is a quiet location and has fantastic sunset views. If you want to see what Vang Vieng is about then try to stay at The Elephant Crossing. It will be worth your while.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I heartily endorse The Elephant Crossing Hotel. My friends from Taiwan and I had a wonderful, relaxing time here. Vang Vieng has a lurid party reputation, but thankfully the Elephant Crossing offers a tranquil sanctuary.

My room was clean, had a superb view and was quite comfortable. Loved the hardwood floors. The TV reception was faulty, but that was a minor issue, as I was either on the balcony enjoying the panorama, or off with my friends hiking the lovely countryside.

I found the staff very gracious and helpful, and Rachel and her husband (the owners) were friendly and welcoming. The restaurant has a delicious buffet breakfast included in the room tariff, and dinner was nice as well. I live in Vientiane, and plan on visiting Vang Vieng quite often, as it is quite close and convenient. I will certainly stay here at every opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

we arrived here for a two night stay without checking on tripadvisor or booking in advance. When we saw the rooms, and met the manager (Rachel) we were certain we wanted to stay. The owners were always around the hotel and supervising things from around 7am until 10pm, so I am not sure how anyone could think they had sold up.
We stayed in a standard room on the 4th floor which cost 350,000 Kip including breakfast. The view and overal experience was amazing.
After reading some of these reviews I was surprised by comments made. The hotel is around five years old, and very good condition. We had to wait for our room (2nd last one available in low season)as no one had booked it so they were taking the opportunity to wash the curtains. When we mentioned we were impressed with the maintenance, they were humble enough to point out there was lots of things they wanted to do but there is such a heavy demand for rooms that it is difficult.
They employed and trained local kids (not much call for career hotel staff in a village like vang vieng) and everything followed principles of sustainability and social responsibility, from the rice grown in local fields, to the unlimited (twice filtered) free drinking water which you were encouraged to use, to the locally sourced shampoo, shower gel, and conditioner (admittedly there was no soap to be half used and thrown away). Some of the staff did not speak excellent english, but they really tried. Good information was given on local walks. Service with dinner, and breakfast was great. We were offered extra bread and the turn around time was minutes not hours. Admittedly, we did stay for hours but that was mainly due to view!
Yes, the hotel was not perfect. The rooms were slighly small, the TV did not have 1,000 of channels, and it is a family run place that kids would be safe in. So, it you are coming to vang vieng to run around half naked, get drunk or high from happy pizza's after tubing and are looking for a place to shout and listen to loud music and generally make western people ashamed to be western then this might not be the place for you. If you want to avoid all that and take an opportunity to see what vang vieng can offer, it is great. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

After a hot long bus ride from Vientian this was a nice place to shower relax have a beer Lao and enjoying the amazing view from the balacony.
This is a mid-range hotel and prices are quite good.
The rooms are not new but clean and generaly maintained, room sizes are not huge but big enough.
Good A/C, TV toliet shower fine,but basic.
Breakfast is served on the deck and has a fair selection.
All the shower soaps are local and organic!
The sun does wake you up through the curtains!
Tours can be arranged downstairs.
Overall a fair mid-range hotel away from the racket that happens in town and across the road from the hospital!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We were really disappointed by this hotel - the location is great - with a wonderful view from the terrace. The hotel itself is degenerated, scruffy and dirty. The facilities are old and rot.

It seems that there has nothing been done for the past 100 years... we have heard that the owners have sold the hotel and are going back to their homeland. They haven´t been interested in the hotel and the service anymore. And that you can see and feel.

The service was not very friendly and overwhelming like in other hotels in Laos and Cambodia. No friendly welcome service and helpful information.

The location directly on the riverside is perfect - but they are building a lot of new resorts and hotels at the riverside - I would recommend to have a look to the new resorts....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We have been at the Elephant Crossing for 3 nights in Nov 2009.
The hotel is centrally located, directly at the river and opposite of Vang Vieng Hospital. If you walk a few minutes you will find many restaurants, bars and shops.
The rooms have not been a good value for money as the Deluxe rooms have been USD 40 per night, which is quite high for Laos in this Hotelcategorie.
We had a Deluxe Twin room on the 4th floor. The room itself was very small but clean, had 2 single beds, a TV, big windows and a balcony. The room had no shelf or closet, only 4 hooks on the wall, so we literally had to live out of the suitcase. Bathroom was clean but humid until we discovered the ventilation in the bathroom.
What was outstanding was the view from our balcony on the 4th floor. We sat there everyday for sunset or after dinner.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elephant Crossing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.