We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view at the Elephant Crossing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Elephant Crossing Hotel to your Saves list
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Vang Vieng
sydney
1 review
“What a view at the Elephant Crossing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

I have just returned from spending 10 days at the Elephant Crossing Hotel in Vang Vieng, Laos. I had planned on staying only 5 days but the tranquility of the Hotel and its environs was so inviting I cut short the time in Vientiane that I had planned.
Opening my curtains each morning to magnificent Karst mountains and sitting on the balcony watching the river traffic was amazing.
It was so nice to be in the quiet end of the town even though it was the wedding season and there is some noise from them.
the staff is very friendly and helpful and the owners, an Australian woman and her Lao husband are fonts of knowledge about both the area and Lao in general.
i would highly recommend this hotel to families, older people and young marrieds.

  • Liked — Bigger than normal beds and a bath tub
  • Disliked — Shower over the bath
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    94
    64
    24
    11
See reviews for
26
119
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

Strictly speaking not a review as will become apparent. I had booked a room at this hotel several months in advance and an exchange of emails confirmed my booking. We duly arrived on the day appointed, following a 5 hour drive down from Luang Prabang. Presenting ourselves at the reception desk we were told by the local staff that there was a "problem", they were full! I presented printoffs of our correspondence and confirmation but was told that the person I had booked with no longer worked there, as if that explained everything. The staff seemed to have little idea of what they were doing. I managed to track down a western woman who I took to be the boss and she was equally unhelpful and rude, denying all knowledge of the booking.

At no point was an apology offered. In all my travels never have I been treated in such an offhand and unpleasant manner in a hotel and this particularly contrasted with the charm and welcome we experienced elsewhere throughout Laos. As luck would have it we found a very pleasant bungalow next door for one night and then subsequently next door to that at the delightful Villa Nam Song.

I would not stay at the Elephant Droppings if they offered me a free room and I would advise others to be wary.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

A gorgeous hotel located on the edge of the Nam Song River with the spectacular mountain escarpments in the background. A four storey building with lovely garden and restaurant on the edge of the riverbank. Two year old hotel run by an Australian women and her Lao husband with their two young children. Very welcoming and relaxing retreat away from the backpacker element of Vang Vieng. Rooms have a balcony overlooking the River with simple bathroom and furnishings.

  • Liked — Location on the river
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs to climb with luggage
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

The Elephant Crossing could not do enough to help. We arrived quite late and were warmly welcomed and shown to our room without any problems or hassles. What's more, when we missed breakfast the following morning, the receptionist immediately offered to provide us with a freshly cooked chicken and salad baguette, as well as juice, coffee and fresh fruit.

The rooms are not flash, but very, very clean, comfortable and with stunning views and lovely balconies.

It was one of the nicest places we stayed on our trip and, above all, made us feel comfortable and relaxed.

  • Liked — Friendliness and location
  • Disliked — Not much really
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

The hotel is nice but a bit overpriced in my opinion. The rooms are ok, but quite old, the bath was mouldy and the sink was leaking (that was a superior room!). The views are great but then there are a lot of places in vang vieng which have great views.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

I stayed a couple of nights at the Elephant Crossing around Christmas. It's ok, but it has several problems.

One thing you should know, it is in Vang Vieng, not Vientiane which is around 3 hours away.

The first problem was check in. It appeared that only one of the staff knew what she was doing, as we, and other guests tried to get our room keys / find out if rooms were available. The owner / manager (western woman) stayed in the background and did not get involved. We finally got our room, but when we were taken up there we found that someone had already taken it. Further confusion before everything was finally resolved.

The excuse for this later was that the staff were new. My answer is that you should train your staff before inflicting them on your guests. However, I do understand that well trained staff are a problem in Laos. In many places I ate / stayed, there only seemed to be one staff member who was professional.

The room was ok, with good views from a balcony out over the river and hills. However, the seats on the balcony were uncomfortable - not something you could sit on for over half an hour. I'm not sure how old the hotel is, but our bathroom was in need of renovation. There was mould around the bath, and the toilet seat was broken. The water was hot - but the pressure was high enough to be able to stand under the shower.

Breakfast as others have noted was not great. I don't need much, but in a country that produces great coffee why have instant? We got down before nine but there was not much food left. Other guests complained and a couple of fried eggs were put into a greasy buffet container. There was also some hard bread - this in a country that produces fantastic fresh hot baguettes for around US cents 15.

The place is a great place for kids - there is a lawn and a sand pit for them. Those who want somewhere quieter should take note of this.

The Elephant Crossing styles itself as a boutique hotel, but it really needs to raise its standards. It should perhaps look at the Lao Orchid hotel in Vientiane and see what it gets right.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — value
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

As flashpackers on a 5 month trip we thought we would follow the reviews listed and treat ourselves to the Elephant Crossing. Yes its in a great location but there is serious building work infront of the property which we were not advised about. We paid the top price for a beautiful deluxe corner room. What looking at 8 Thai builders all day hammering and drilling and completely blocking the view. The room was ok but the bathroom was dirty with damp and exposed pipes. The owner then explained we had to move next day as she had sold our room to a long term guest sorry if you don't like it check out! Unbelivable. We moved to the other end of the hotel so we could then be disturbed by the more builders hammering and drilling on a new restaurant again to block the views which we all go there for! Breakfast was a random arrangement and each morning they ran out of food and juice which perhaps was restocked or perhaps never was. Even then the bread was stale.

We wanted to pay more, we realise the standards are not the same as Europe but the owner's attitude of if you don't like it move I have a queue of customers. Well thats what makes or breaks a hotel and its breaking this one bad. Don't pay the overinflated prices for staff who couldn't care less about you only your dollars...

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elephant Crossing Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.