We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views, bars were fun, tubing guys have serious attitude.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Tubing

River Tubing
Vang Vieng, Laos
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Attractions in Vang Vieng
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Incredible views, bars were fun, tubing guys have serious attitude.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The most incredible views. Truely gorgeous granite cliffs, just breath taking.

We went in low season so there was no more than 20 people in the 3 bars. Beer pong, basket ball, bochi, free whiskey shots, lots of beers and braclets. Great fun overall. It was fun being fished in by bar tenders.

We made the rookie error of being the last to leave the last bar and by then my tube had been stolen - annoying cos there went my deposit. We didn't see the signs because it was pitch black and the current was very strong but we managed to get ourselves out of the river through someones backyard. The gentlemen who run the place didnt care that my tube had been returned by someone else and were quite aggressive upon our return. Other than that hostile reception, we had a great day!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    17
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful place but!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

nice to do tubing but I don't like bars and pubs along the river, foreiners drink beer or maybe take drugs make party and so noisy, I'm from Laos visit my country it's sad to see that in Vang Vieng

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Even us oldies enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I are probably twice the age of the average Vang Vieng tourist (45 & 55 ). Having spent 10 thoroughly enjoyable days in Vang Vieng we decided it was time to participate in the main activity of tubing. It had rained constantly for 5 days and the river had swallen considerably, the current was strong and if you do not stop at the 3 bars the ride down the river would all be over in less than an hour. Even though it rained from start to finish we thoroughly enjoyed stopping at each bar along the way and some how managed to make the trip last for 5 hours. Fantastic value for money and not dangerous at all as long as you can swim and still walk when you leave the bars.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancora, Peru
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A good day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We did this twice as it was so much fun. There were 3 bars open when we were there a week ago. The first bar has seen better days, when you leave the first bar if you want to get to the second bar then you need to get to the other side of the river but not too quickly as there are submerged rocks just before.

Wear a life jacket i would recommend as the current is strong at parts. It is pretty safe if you are. Keep to the left hand side after you leave the second bar as the final stop is on this side.

Also if stuck in the current kick with your legs. Leave the second bar at 5.30 if you want to get your full deposit back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“July 2013 - 4 bars along river!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Even though it was nothing like the YouTube videos show in it's past glory days, I still really enjoyed this experience. For such a cheap price, 60000kip to rent the tube and some down payment you get back, it was still well worth it. We only stopped in Vang Vieng for 1 day, just for the tubing.. so glad we did!

I could have gone up and down the river a few times. DEFINITELY stop at the 2nd bar on the right hand side. It's the best one currently!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Tubing also viewed

 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to River Tubing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Tubing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.