We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value - excellent view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Ban Vang Vieng, Vang Vieng, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 81 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Value - excellent view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Our triple room (25$/night) had an excellent view on the river and since there's no party island anymore you don't have any noise issues. The room was clean, staff friendly and the shower water pressure ok. Make sure you get a room on the top floor or on the 3rd floor (you can check the "top floor" box in Agoda e.g.). The blankets didn't have any extra sheet around, which I find a bit grows. But else the place it excellent and absolutely worth its money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here because of the fantastic price! The hotel is in a brilliant location with amazing views of the surrounding mountains. There is also a sitting area on the top floor.
Pro's: The room was clean and large with a TV. Tea and coffee is available in the reception area. Shower was ok in strength but could be hotter.
Con's: Blanket provided on bed is too small and the pillows rock hard! no remote for the tv (not a big deal to me), my room was on the ground floor so my view was of a brick wall and roof tops (that's just unfortunate, I know, but you can walk up to the other floors and use the communal balconies to look). The hotel is not good at disguising noises, you can hear everything! Internet connection can be a bit tempermental.
I really liked it here though, worth the money and would recommend it!

Room Tip: high room floors to benefit from the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is close to the center of town. The town noise wasn't an issue in my 4th floor room on the side away from the river. Room with three beds and air con was 100,000 kip per night. My hot water was hot, plumbing worked well. TV had HBO. Internet worked well most of the time and was quick when it was working.
If there were loud people here (there weren't during my stay) it could be noisy due to the tile hallway.
The room would have felt small with three people but doable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a great view from the room on the top floor facing the mountain. There is a balcony where we can sit and admire the sunset. The hotel and room was clean and quiet at night. Walking distance to the nearby restaurant and bars. Coffee and water provided at the lobby. Bicycle rental service available. The owner and the family running this place is friendly as well.

Room Tip: Top floor room have the full screen sliding windows with better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse

Address: Ban Vang Vieng, Vang Vieng, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.