We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE VANGVIENG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
100 / 1 Main St, Vang Vieng 10030, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Laos
1 review
“I LOVE VANGVIENG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

staying at chilao hotel now, I pay 40,000 kip for my room and have had no problems. I can't believe that in 2013 there is a place in the world where you can still get a private hotel room for under 4 quid! I want to recomend this hotel to anyone who visits Laos and I also want to thank terry for helping us with the kayaking tour. Seee you next time. Khob jai lai lai der ! ( means thank you)

Room Tip: Room 308 has a "cloud" bed for those of you who want bouncy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    10
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here a year ago and spent christmas with the chilllao family. It is the BEST (budget hotel) that I have seen in my 4 years of travelling. My room was clean and had wifi 3/4 bars on the second floor. out of Indonesia, Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam and Laos I would say that CHILLLAO IS the best "bang for the buck" as they say.... Meat stand Fruit Shake and Fruit stands are all right across the street along with Joint Development bank and a western union... as for the tubing, you can even have them pick you up here any time before 15:00... They also sorted out my bus ticket to the 4000 island which was an AMAZING place to see.

Room Tip: I checked a few before I chose mine..... they are allll basically the same but some beds are harder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great place to stay, very inexpensive and is very close to everything. only a couple hundred meters to QBAR as well as the tubing rental place. We stayed here for a week even though we only planned on 3 days, I guess we got stuck you could say. Rented bicycles across the street for only a dollar a day yippeeeeee

Room Tip: Just bring a few quid and a smile and you should be "good to go"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korat
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've been staying for 4 days at the Chilllllllao. The stay was really nice and so are the staff, in the end I was almost sorry to leave.
Upon arriving I found myself in a valley of smiles from the very first person I met Laura. She explained everything I had available and gave me a cable for internet access and the password to use the service very quickly.
Entering the room, it was clean and quiet (couldn't hear a noise). The bathroom is also spacious and very clean. The shower seems to be bigger than my house. ( I have small house)
The bed was one thing that if I could take home, I would have done. Hard in the right places and comfortable....
Very rich and tasty breakfast next door, I love scrambled eggs,and I found the best around. Chocolate Brioche also were fantastic. With each breakfast I became more spoiled.

On the Wednesday of the week, when I was at Chilllao was ASEM summit ceremony. I saw it at the stadium, Vientiane this was

These are the things that made me enjoy my stay at this hotel, but my warmest congratulations to the hotel for their choice of personnel. They know how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Congratulations from the heart, you were fantastic.

Room Tip: Checkout any time but let them know first. I leave at 16:00 but put bag in special room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siem reap
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Friendly, family run hostel, and great value for money too. The staff are really helpful if you need any assistance or information about anything, and I met a lot of great people just by staying in the dorm. It's also not right next to the main nightlife area, but easily withing walking distance (Vang Vieng is a very small town), that you won't be disturbed by the noise at night. Free wifi, and free coffee in the morning too. What more could you want. Definitely going to stay there again the next time I'm in Vang Vieng! One last thing, the balcony at the back has great views of the sunrise if you're up early..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed there for almost 3 weeks in september. Cheap (especially if you stay for longer), central, clean, very friendly staff and good internet. The owner Terry gives good advice on dos and donts in Vang Vieng and invited me to have fish bbq with his family. Definitely gonna stay there again next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

What more do you want? This place had everything a backpacker needs. It was close to some good restaurants and drinking spots, but well enough away for a good nights sleep. The rooms were tidy and the staff friendly and helpful. I would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse

Address: 100 / 1 Main St, Vang Vieng 10030, Laos
Location: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty lodging in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the center of town, close to all that Vang Vieng has to offer. English speaking staff, Wi-Fi, Air Conditioning (optional), Dorms, triple rooms, etc. Just tell the tuk-tuk driver "chill Lao" and you will be on your way. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse to your Saves list